Not open for further replies.
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. 0
Hello there,
Huge fan of the forum. This is my first post. Im a big believer in combing the threads to try and find the solution, but this one is stumping me. :banghead:

I loaded 10.6.6 from a fresh install that I have never done before.
I used your Lnx2Mac's Realtek kext after the others didn't work
I see my NIC in system preferences, but it is just doing a self assigned IP
I know the cable is good. Plugged my laptop into it, and works like a charm.
I did static IP, and still no light on my switch or the back of the tower for the network jack.

I have tried
"Check the following (After each of these steps, check if it "revives" your NIC, if not, move on...):
- Enter SmartLAN in the BIOS,
When I enter this mode for the SmartLAN, It says "Start detecting at Port.
Then it flashes for 2 sec Link Detected -> 1Gbps
Cable Length less than 10M...
It just keeps flashing that over and over and over

- Power-off the system, and leave it a while without power (all cables unplugged, including Ethernet),

Tried this

- Clear CMOS, reconfigure BIOS settings,
How exactly do I do this? Do I just select "Fail-Safe Defaults"? When I do that, it changes the ICH SATA Controller Mode to IDE. I change it back to AHCI ever time I do the above before saving
- Reflash BIOS, reconfigure BIOS settings.
Is this the same procedure as CMOS? "Fail-Safe Defaults"?

"Fail Safe defaults" seem to make my mouse and keyboard stop working. ugghhh
Alright, update, I cant get my mouse and keyboard to work at all. Now I need help with that as well. I figured I would post here because above are all the steps that I followed. I plugged in every usb port. I am getting a light on my keyboard, but cant get back into bios (via DEL key), or anything from the bios mode or within OSX. :crazy:
I really enjoy the support that you guys give.