Contribute
Register

Can't dual screen with GIGABYTE Radeon HD 6850

Joined
Jan 11, 2012
Messages
10
Motherboard
GA-Z87X-UD5 TH
CPU
i7 4770k
Graphics
GTX 770 (x2)
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
So I'm new to this whole thing but i got my rig running the way i want it to except having the ability to use two monitors. One being a AOC Razor 21.5" and a Cintiq 21 UX.
I tried a few things from just reading the post in the forum but none of them really activate the other 3 ports.

I'm getting a little frustrated and thinking of just getting a screen splitter like this one: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16815158251
Or another graphics card: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814125353

But before i do anything drastic and stupid can anyone here help me?
Methods i tried are:
changing my original org.chameleon.boot.plist graphics setting

<key>GraphicsEnabler</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>Kernel Flags</key>
<string>npci=0x2000 darkwake=0</string>
to:
<key>GraphicsEnabler</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>Kernel Flags</key>
<string>npci=0x2000, AtiConfig=Bulrushes, AtiPorts=4</string>

Injecting Kext graphics enablers <--- ended badly

Anyways thanks for reading this post and any feedback except making fun of the noob would be appreciated. :rolleyes:
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2012
Messages
10
Motherboard
GA-Z87X-UD5 TH
CPU
i7 4770k
Graphics
GTX 770 (x2)
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Tried these:

<key>GraphicsEnabler</key>
<string>No</string>
<key>Kernel Flags</key>
<string>npci=0x2000 darkwake=0</string>

and

<key>GraphicsEnabler</key>
<string>No</string>
<key>Kernel Flags</key>
<string>npci=0x2000, AtiConfig=Bulrushes, AtiPorts=4</string>

but neither of them worked. Thanks for the suggestion though.
 
Joined
Aug 28, 2011
Messages
63
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Try installing the 10.7.2 combo update, then BEFORE restart install multi beast with the right choices for your system (make sure to use DSDT and NOT easybeast)
Then go into you boot.plist and apply GraphicsEnabler=No, Then restart.

This method will give you "Vanilla" kexts, in case you modified any of your drivers.

Also: does your card has "Reference" design?
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2012
Messages
10
Motherboard
GA-Z87X-UD5 TH
CPU
i7 4770k
Graphics
GTX 770 (x2)
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I already have lion 10.7.2 should i install it again?

and i am assuming that i have the reference design cause it says i can over clock the card.
do you know how i can check? and how is the reference design relevant?
 
Joined
Aug 28, 2011
Messages
63
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
riycemd said:
I already have lion 10.7.2 should i install it again?

and i am assuming that i have the reference design cause it says i can over clock the card.
do you know how i can check? and how is the reference design relevant?
I know you have 10.7.2 installed. I'm asking you to install the 10.7.2 Combo Update, which will result in replacing all your current display kext, and might resolve the problem.

For the reference design, I think it isn't related to OC, it's related to which ports your graphic card has. Usually Gigabyte makes reference design, but you can check it by searching "reference design 6850" in google or some similar expression. Just check if you have the same amount of each connector type (DVI, DP, HDMI etc.) as the reference design of this model,
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2012
Messages
10
Motherboard
GA-Z87X-UD5 TH
CPU
i7 4770k
Graphics
GTX 770 (x2)
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Well i did everything that you suggested but still no result the monitor will boot up only up to apple then have no signal when the lion galaxy wallpaper appears.

As for the graphics card i do have a reference design similar to other radeon 6850s.
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2011
Messages
845
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
riycemd said:
<key>GraphicsEnabler</key>
<string>No</string>
<key>Kernel Flags</key>
<string>npci=0x2000, AtiConfig=Bulrushes, AtiPorts=4</string>
You'll need to use GraphicsEnabler=Yes or AtiPorts and AtiConfig won't work!

<key>AtiPorts</key>
<string>4</string>
<key>Darkwake</key>
<string>0</string>
<key>GraphicsEnabler</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>Kernel Flags</key>
<string>npci=0x2000</string>
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2012
Messages
10
Motherboard
GA-Z87X-UD5 TH
CPU
i7 4770k
Graphics
GTX 770 (x2)
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
At the very top i did try that just in a different format
however I'm very desperate so i tried your format but it didn't work as well..

Thanks for the response though!
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2011
Messages
3
Motherboard
GA- P35-DS3 v2.0
CPU
C2D E4500
Graphics
Ati Radeon HD 6870
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Try boot with: PCIRootUID=0 , if work, add in boot.plist like that:

Code:
<key>Kernel Flags</key>
	<string>npci=0x2000</string>
	<key>GraphicsEnabler</key>
	<string>Yes</string>
	<key>AtiConfig</key>
	<string>Duckweed</string>
	<key>AtiPorts</key>
	<string>4</string>
	<key>Darkwake</key>
	<string>0</string>
	<key>PCIRootUID</key>
	<string>0</string>
I bought Sapphire HD 6850 today and not work dual screen, so i try with PCIRootUID=0 and work fine.
 
Top