Can't download full High Sierra Installer

Discussion in 'High Sierra Laptop Support' started by app, Nov 2, 2017.

  1. app

    app

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Motherboard:
    HP Probook 4540s(Clover)
    CPU:
    i5 3320m
    Graphics:
    1366x768
    Nov 2, 2017 at 8:20 PM #1
    app

    app

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Motherboard:
    HP Probook 4540s(Clover)
    CPU:
    i5 3320m
    Graphics:
    1366x768
    All I can get is the 19.9MB version

    Here's what I'm doing: Open app store, click on Hight Sierra banner at top, click open, I'm presented with a window that says "To set up the installation of macOS High Sierra, click continue", I click continue, agree to license, click install, it says wait about 11 minutes, I wait about 11 minutes, then it says it's gonna reboot in 30 seconds or something like that, I quit the install, check my app folder and see the install package is 19.9MB. I've done this twice now.

    If I then try to run the terminal command...

    /Applications/"Install macOS High Sierra.app"/Contents/Resources/startosinstall --converttoapfs NO --agreetolicense

    ...I get the helper tool crashed error. After some searching it appears that the command might need the full installer to work.
     
  2. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    177,677
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 2, 2017 at 11:23 PM #2
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    177,677
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Delete all copies of it, including those in the trash, external attached media, etc.
    Then redownload from the Mac App Store.
     
  3. app

    app

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Motherboard:
    HP Probook 4540s(Clover)
    CPU:
    i5 3320m
    Graphics:
    1366x768
    Nov 8, 2017 at 2:16 AM #3
    app

    app

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Motherboard:
    HP Probook 4540s(Clover)
    CPU:
    i5 3320m
    Graphics:
    1366x768
    I think this terminal command is what worked for me:

    sudo softwareupdate --clear-catalog

    Though I also just intuitively deleted the stub installer first, so can't really say if it was the terminal command or deleting the file that did the trick.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice