Can't download full High Sierra Installer

Discussion in 'High Sierra Laptop Support' started by app, Nov 2, 2017.

  1. app

    app

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Mobo:
    HP Probook 4540s(Clover)
    CPU:
    i5 3320m
    Graphics:
    1366x768
    Nov 2, 2017 at 8:20 PM #1
    app

    app

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Mobo:
    HP Probook 4540s(Clover)
    CPU:
    i5 3320m
    Graphics:
    1366x768
    All I can get is the 19.9MB version

    Here's what I'm doing: Open app store, click on Hight Sierra banner at top, click open, I'm presented with a window that says "To set up the installation of macOS High Sierra, click continue", I click continue, agree to license, click install, it says wait about 11 minutes, I wait about 11 minutes, then it says it's gonna reboot in 30 seconds or something like that, I quit the install, check my app folder and see the install package is 19.9MB. I've done this twice now.

    If I then try to run the terminal command...

    /Applications/"Install macOS High Sierra.app"/Contents/Resources/startosinstall --converttoapfs NO --agreetolicense

    ...I get the helper tool crashed error. After some searching it appears that the command might need the full installer to work.
     
  2. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    167,546
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 2, 2017 at 11:23 PM #2
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    167,546
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Delete all copies of it, including those in the trash, external attached media, etc.
    Then redownload from the Mac App Store.
     
  3. app

    app

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Mobo:
    HP Probook 4540s(Clover)
    CPU:
    i5 3320m
    Graphics:
    1366x768
    Nov 8, 2017 at 2:16 AM #3
    app

    app

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Mobo:
    HP Probook 4540s(Clover)
    CPU:
    i5 3320m
    Graphics:
    1366x768
    I think this terminal command is what worked for me:

    sudo softwareupdate --clear-catalog

    Though I also just intuitively deleted the stub installer first, so can't really say if it was the terminal command or deleting the file that did the trick.
     

Share This Page