Contribute
Register

Can't Boot

Joined
Apr 9, 2012
Messages
37
Motherboard
GA-Z97N-WIFI
CPU
i7-4770K
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce 760
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
iMac, Power Mac, SE
Mobile Phone
iOS
I'm unable to boot OS X with Chimera 3. It kicks me out and reboots when I run with any combination of -x -s -v. I made a new Unibeast installer, but when I choose that from my mother boards boot settings, it just sits with a blinking underscore on the top right of the screen. I do have access to Windows 8.1 and Ubuntu 14.04 on this computer though. I could also mount my boot driver externally on my mac to fix/downgrade Chimera.

Oops, my flash drive was formatted incorrectly, I have now been able to downgrade to Chimera 2.2.1
 

Obvious Answer Man

Super Moderator
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,461
I'm unable to boot OS X with Chimera 3. It kicks me out and reboots when I run with any combination of -x -s -v. I made a new Unibeast installer, but when I choose that from my mother boards boot settings, it just sits with a blinking underscore on the top right of the screen. I do have access to Windows 8.1 and Ubuntu 14.04 on this computer though. I could also mount my boot driver externally on my mac to fix/downgrade Chimera.
Why do you think it's Chimera when you are having issues booting from UniBeast?
 
Joined
Apr 9, 2012
Messages
37
Motherboard
GA-Z97N-WIFI
CPU
i7-4770K
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce 760
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
iMac, Power Mac, SE
Mobile Phone
iOS

tonymacx86

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2009
Messages
8,523
Motherboard
GA-Z270X-UD5
CPU
Core i3-7100
Graphics
HD 630
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Apple, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Joined
Apr 9, 2012
Messages
37
Motherboard
GA-Z97N-WIFI
CPU
i7-4770K
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce 760
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
iMac, Power Mac, SE
Mobile Phone
iOS
Deleting the /Extra folder, and doing a clean install with Chimera 3.0.1 works, however there is no GUI and no org.chameleon.Boot.plist. Copying back the Themes folder and the plist that I had from Chimera 2.2.1 resulted in the same issue as before. I am currently slowly adding things back in and seeing what breaks Chimera 3.0.1.
 
Joined
Apr 9, 2012
Messages
37
Motherboard
GA-Z97N-WIFI
CPU
i7-4770K
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce 760
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
iMac, Power Mac, SE
Mobile Phone
iOS
I figured out what was breaking it. I was hiding and renaming partitions from org.chameleon.Boot.plist, and apparently one or both of these features doesn't work.

This is what I had in my plist (worked through Chimera 2.2.1):
Code:
<key>Hide Partition</key>
<string>hd(1,2) hd(1,6)</string>
<key>Rename Partition</key>
<string>"SystemReserved" "Windows 8"; "Terra" "OS X"; hd(1,3) "Ubuntu"</string>
When I deleted these 4 lines from the plist, I can boot without and issue. The good news is that I can boot from Chimera 3.0.1, but I can no longer hide or rename partitions.
 

lexone

Moderator
Joined
Apr 13, 2012
Messages
507
Motherboard
GA-Z87X-OC
CPU
i7-4770K
Graphics
GTX 780
Mac
iMac, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I figured out what was breaking it. I was hiding and renaming partitions from org.chameleon.Boot.plist, and apparently one or both of these features doesn't work.

This is what I had in my plist (worked through Chimera 2.2.1):
Code:
<key>Hide Partition</key>
<string>hd(1,2) hd(1,6)</string>
<key>Rename Partition</key>
<string>"SystemReserved" "Windows 8"; "Terra" "OS X"; hd(1,3) "Ubuntu"</string>
When I deleted these 4 lines from the plist, I can boot without and issue. The good news is that I can boot from Chimera 3.0.1, but I can no longer hide or rename partitions.
Before seeing your post, I actually determined the same thing on my end and was commenting about it in the other thread. I hope there is still a way to rename the partitions. Hiding Partitions still works for me without issues just not the rename partitions...:banghead:
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2012
Messages
252
Motherboard
GA H97M-D3H
CPU
i5 4690K
Graphics
Gigabyte GTX 760 2GB DDR5
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Having the same issue, removing the hide partition argument didn't help (don't have a rename partition argument in mine.)

I tried and removed every argument, still could not get it to get past the blinking underscore. Going back to the previous version for now.
 
Top