Can't boot SL from Hdd?!?

Discussion in 'Snow Leopard Desktop Support' started by hove131, Sep 12, 2012.

  1. hove131

    hove131

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    51
    Mobo:
    MSI
    CPU:
    i5
    Graphics:
    ATI 5770
    Sep 12, 2012 at 7:33 PM #1
    hove131

    hove131

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    51
    Mobo:
    MSI
    CPU:
    i5
    Graphics:
    ATI 5770
    I figured this problem out once before but it took me along time. I remember going into some files and changing some things after the install was complete. For some reason I maybe remember changing a graphics enabler or something to a NO or a YES but whatever it was I changed allowed me to boot up from the HDD. I dont think I will ever find that page that helped me figure that out before as I searched for months. Any ideas? Thanks Eric
     
  2. totenkopf4

    totenkopf4

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4,173
    Mobo:
    GA-EX58-UD3R-SLI
    CPU:
    XEON x5570
    Graphics:
    NVidia 9600GT
    Mac:
    MacBook, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    SE
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Sep 13, 2012 at 4:22 AM #2
    totenkopf4

    totenkopf4

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4,173
    Mobo:
    GA-EX58-UD3R-SLI
    CPU:
    XEON x5570
    Graphics:
    NVidia 9600GT
    Mac:
    MacBook, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    SE
    Mobile Phone:
    Android

    hove131

    Not sure what to say - but it would be helpful to tell us what you have done - steps taken - documents followed etc.

    Also you should see if any start-up switches help you to get to the desktop.

    also take a picture of the screen and post it so we can see whats happening - you may need to use the iboot cd to boot from the HD

    Also some light reading - Below are some links that were important to me during my build:

    You Tube Videos on Multibeast iBoot Best Practice.
    His vid on Best Practice - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aZl1Gv3J7bg
    His vid on Basic Overview http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SIOJB3EVHaw
    His vid on Bootloader flags http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RDw3RhLWAjE

    TonyMacx86 links
    iBoot and Multibeast - TonyMacx86 guide
    http://tonymacx86.blogspot.com/2010/04/iboot-multibeast-install-mac-os-x-on.html

    Simplest Mac OS X Installation Guide - for 10.6.x
    http://www.tonymacx86.com/43-simplest-mac-os-x-installation-guide.html
    or
    http://www.tonymacx86.com/section/3-guides.html

    TonyMac listing of alternative sources for information you may find usefull
    http://legacy.tonymacx86.com/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=2130

    Installation Troubleshooting Tips & General Recommendations
    http://legacy.tonymacx86.com/viewto...-x-1068-supplemental-update/ic.php?f=3&t=9541
    http://legacy.tonymacx86.com/wiki/index.php/Troubleshooting

    This is from 2008 some of these have changed but it still a good read,
    http://news.metaparadigma.de/osx86-flags-and-parameters-for-darwin-bootloader-104/

    THis is a list of links on the various Apple 10.6.8 updates
    http://www.technologytell.com/apple/75574/apple-releases-os-x-1068-supplemental-update/

    ==================================================================
    For Noobs
    http://www.howtogeek.com/72417/the-how-to-geek-guide-to-hackintoshing-part-1-the-basics/
    http://www.howtogeek.com/72821/the-how-to-geek-guide-to-hackintoshing-part-2-the-installation/
    http://www.howtogeek.com/73113/the-...ng-part-3-upgrading-to-lion-and-dual-booting/
     
  3. hove131

    hove131

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    51
    Mobo:
    MSI
    CPU:
    i5
    Graphics:
    ATI 5770
    Sep 13, 2012 at 7:39 AM #3
    hove131

    hove131

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    51
    Mobo:
    MSI
    CPU:
    i5
    Graphics:
    ATI 5770
    Here is where i'm at right now. When I go to boot it restarts my computer..


    [​IMG]
     
  4. totenkopf4

    totenkopf4

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4,173
    Mobo:
    GA-EX58-UD3R-SLI
    CPU:
    XEON x5570
    Graphics:
    NVidia 9600GT
    Mac:
    MacBook, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    SE
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Sep 14, 2012 at 2:24 AM #4
    totenkopf4

    totenkopf4

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4,173
    Mobo:
    GA-EX58-UD3R-SLI
    CPU:
    XEON x5570
    Graphics:
    NVidia 9600GT
    Mac:
    MacBook, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    SE
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    hove131

    have you confirmed the BIOS settings that you need to have set AHCI HPET S3

    If so then try this to see if you get to the desktop

    Best Startup Switch for inital install from iBoot w Apple DVD
    -x -v -f acpi=off PCIRootUID=1 GraphicsEnabler=No (option) npci=0x2000

    -x -v -f apci=off cpus=1 PCIRootUID=1 busratio=20 GraphicsEnabler=No

    take pictures
     

Share This Page