Contribute
Register

Cant Boot installer [Newbie][Unibeast]

Status
Not open for further replies.

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
184,103
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
yep thanks, will do.

For the SMBIOS stuff, it looks straight forward. I can program VB.NET so i have coded before.

Is it just as simple as this :
http://www.osx86.net/topic/14668-guide-clover-efi-bootloader/#entry63145


and also, can i just be lazy and use this:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NSu5OTrZVZU
ofcourse then manually copying out of the file it makes and pasting into my own config.plist

Last and final question, i tried googling this but the results were a little outdated.
Is there a list anywhere of compatible wifi cards, I am wondering about buying a Atheros AR5B95, or Broadcom DW1510, but I dont really have anything to confirm they still work.

Use Clover configurator to customize your SMBIOS.

WiFi: Depends on having compatible hardware. Use DPCIManager->PCI List to find out what you have. Compatible chipsets and the procedures for making them work are covered here: http://www.tonymacx86.com/network/104850-guide-airport-pcie-half-mini-v2.html
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2013
Messages
40
Motherboard
Asus Vivobook S400CA-CA040H [Clover][Windows8.1][Yosemite]
CPU
Intel Core i7 3517U Ivy Bridge 22nm, HM76
Graphics
Intel HD4000, 1366x768
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I take it i am supposed to add SMBIOS details of a Mac thats not actually my computer, so i just pick a similar one, such as the macbook air Corei5/i7
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
184,103
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I take it i am supposed to add SMBIOS details of a Mac thats not actually my computer, so i just pick a similar one, such as the macbook air Corei5/i7

Please provide complete details in your profile/signature
(Profile/Settings link in upper right corner of this site)

System: manufacturer/model + bootloader(Clover/Chameleon/Chimera)
CPU: detailed CPU model + motherboard chipset
Graphics: all graphics devices + laptop internal screen resolution

For example, typical Ivy laptop:
System: HP ProBook 4540s (Clover)
CPU: i5-3320m/HM76
Graphics: HD4000, 1366x768

Use CPU-Z on Windows to find CPU (Core iX-xxx) and motherboard chipset (HMxx), and graphics capabilities. For a laptop, these details are important and affect critical installation procedures.
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2013
Messages
40
Motherboard
Asus Vivobook S400CA-CA040H [Clover][Windows8.1][Yosemite]
CPU
Intel Core i7 3517U Ivy Bridge 22nm, HM76
Graphics
Intel HD4000, 1366x768
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
184,103
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
So i have updated my profile, removed the old desktop that was on there and added the hackintosh details.

I have this text file and the text file linked in the original post if anything that is not on my profile is needed

Your profile does not contain all six (6) details requested in post #44.

Best SMBIOS match is MacBookAir5,x (your choice on x=1 or x=2).
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2013
Messages
40
Motherboard
Asus Vivobook S400CA-CA040H [Clover][Windows8.1][Yosemite]
CPU
Intel Core i7 3517U Ivy Bridge 22nm, HM76
Graphics
Intel HD4000, 1366x768
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
sorry about that, misread it.

It says my southbridge model of my motherboard is HM76, Im assuming thats the socket

So with the new edit, best match is still MacBookAir5?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
184,103
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
sorry about that, misread it.

It says my southbridge model of my motherboard is HM76, Im assuming thats the socket

HM76 is generally referred to as the chipset.

So with the new edit, best match is still MacBookAir5?

Yes, look at everymac.com for more info.
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2013
Messages
40
Motherboard
Asus Vivobook S400CA-CA040H [Clover][Windows8.1][Yosemite]
CPU
Intel Core i7 3517U Ivy Bridge 22nm, HM76
Graphics
Intel HD4000, 1366x768
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Joined
Nov 24, 2013
Messages
40
Motherboard
Asus Vivobook S400CA-CA040H [Clover][Windows8.1][Yosemite]
CPU
Intel Core i7 3517U Ivy Bridge 22nm, HM76
Graphics
Intel HD4000, 1366x768
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
So used clover configurator to add SMBIOS details to my config.plist and it looked fine. still booted and all.

As suggested in post #39 I renamed the /EFI/Microsoft/boot/bootmgfw.efi file to
/EFI/Microsoft/boot/bootmgfw-ORIG.efi and then installed windows
I then booted off the usb, changed the current one to
/EFI/Microsoft/boot/bootmgfw-WINDOWS.efi.

and then changed the orignal back to
/EFI/Microsoft/boot/bootmgfw.efi

It still boots clover fine,and from within clover I can boot yosemite fine. but whenever I select the boot windows8 option from within clover I get a classic blinking console cursor in the upper left.
Thoughts are welcome
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top