Contribute
Register

Cannot get HDMI output to work with Intel UHD 630 on i3-8100

Joined
Dec 7, 2018
Messages
4
Motherboard
Gigabyte H310M A
CPU
i3-8100
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
Mac mini
Hi Everyone.

Thank you in advance for helping me out on this. I've been racking my brain for days on this issue and I just can't figure it out. I am a newcomer to the Hackintosh world, so excuse me if I ask any stupid questions, or miss something obvious. I have read a bunch of forum posts on here and other boards with suggestions and similar issues, but I seem to not be able to figure it out. At the bottom of this post is a reference list of all the posts I have worked through.

The Problem: HDMI output for the iGPU does not work when using the Intel FrameBuffer patch.

Hardware:
Motherboard: Gigabyte H310M A
CPU: Intel Core i3-8100
iGPU: Intel UHD 630

Explanation: I am able to install OSX Mojave successfully when providing a graphics override. This means that my UHD 630 gets detected incorrectly and there is no graphics acceleration. This is fine as it allows me to connect to my computer using HDMI. Using Lilu + Whatevergreen with a patch generated by fb-patcher, I am able to get the graphics card to be detected correctly and Graphics acceleration is enabled. However, now it does not output my display to my external monitor over HDMI and instead I see a black screen. Only when I VNC into my machine, can I see that it booted successfully, and the Graphics card is now detected correctly.

I have attached my EFI folder with all my kexts and clover configs, as well as some screen shots I took using VNC of the computer booted using WEG + Lilu.

Referenced Posts:

https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/no-native-support-for-uhd-630-i3-8100-in-mojave-have-only-7mb-graphics-or-no-hdmi.264751/page-2
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/hd630-on-coffee-lake-8400-issue.262657/
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/fix-coffee-lake-intel-uhd-graphics-630-on-macos-mojave-kernel-panic-due-to-divide-by-zero.261687/
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/an-idiots-guide-to-lilu-and-its-plug-ins.260063/
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/guide-intel-framebuffer-patching-using-whatevergreen.256490/
 

Attachments

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
4,040
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
This is the dreaded Black Screen problem with UHD630. It’s an extremely widespread problem. Only VGA ports seem to work with AppleIntelframebuffer.

No solution for HDMI or DP as far as I know, but it may be due to Framebuffer Personality or bus ID issue. Maybe later version of WhateverGreen might provide a fix.

Meanwhile we recommend a discrete GPU such as AMD RX 570, 580, Vega.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2018
Messages
180
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Ultra Gaming - rev. 1.0
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
The only way I could get my UHD630 to work properly was with the -disablegfxfirmware boot switch.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
4,040
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
The only way I could get my UHD630 to work properly was with the -disablegfxfirmware boot switch.
I’ll have to try this.
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2015
Messages
16
Motherboard
Asus TUF H370-PRO GAMING (WI-FI)
CPU
i5-8400
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
I had the same problem for ages but with i5-8400 & H370 motherboard, I eventually got it working but never really understood how. I used FB patcher and played around with the connector settings for iGPU. I've attached my config incase it helps.
 

Attachments

Joined
Sep 11, 2010
Messages
23
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370N Wifi
CPU
i5 8400
Graphics
HD630
Mac
iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Joined
Dec 7, 2018
Messages
4
Motherboard
Gigabyte H310M A
CPU
i3-8100
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
Mac mini
Joined
Dec 7, 2018
Messages
4
Motherboard
Gigabyte H310M A
CPU
i3-8100
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
Mac mini
I had the same problem for ages but with i5-8400 & H370 motherboard, I eventually got it working but never really understood how. I used FB patcher and played around with the connector settings for iGPU. I've attached my config incase it helps.
Thanks a ton for sharing! I tried your config but it sadly didn't work for me. I'll be playing with the connector settings too as by your suggestion.

What kind of changes did you play with and fool around with?

Thanks again!
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
6,722
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
HD 4000+GT 710
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thanks a ton for sharing! I tried your config but it sadly didn't work for me. I'll be playing with the connector settings too as by your suggestion.

What kind of changes did you play with and fool around with?

Thanks again!
Thanks a ton for sharing! I tried your config but it sadly didn't work for me. I'll be playing with the connector settings too as by your suggestion.

What kind of changes did you play with and fool around with?

Thanks again!
  • I'll try and see if I can be of help.
  • I have already reviewed your EFI, unless you have changed anything from that since you had uploaded it at #1, no need to upload again.
  • But I'd like you to take Screen shots of the following and upload:

  • BIOS_Peripherals Initial Display Output
  • BIOS_ Chipset:
  • Clover Boot Manager >Options:
    • Boot Args:
    • Graphics Injector->
 
Joined
Dec 7, 2018
Messages
4
Motherboard
Gigabyte H310M A
CPU
i3-8100
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
Mac mini
  • I'll try and see if I can be of help.
  • I have already reviewed your EFI, unless you have changed anything from that since you had uploaded it at #1, no need to upload again.
  • But I'd like you to take Screen shots of the following and upload:
  • BIOS_Peripherals Initial Display Output
  • BIOS_ Chipset:
  • Clover Boot Manager >Options:
    • Boot Args:
    • Graphics Injector->
Really appreciate your help!
I have been making some changes to the WEG options, but no other changes to my config.plist

Please see attached the screenshots you requested. Let me know if there is anything else you need.

Thanks again!
 

Attachments

Top