Can you check my config.plist?

Discussion in 'High Sierra Desktop Support' started by seth125, Oct 7, 2017.

  1. seth125

    seth125

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    101
    Motherboard:
    GA Z77X UD5H
    CPU:
    i5-2500k
    Graphics:
    GTX 970
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    Oct 7, 2017 at 10:15 PM #1
    seth125

    seth125

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    101
    Motherboard:
    GA Z77X UD5H
    CPU:
    i5-2500k
    Graphics:
    GTX 970
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    I don't quite know what or how it happened but I believe my config.plist might be corrupted or something. When I open it with Clover Configurator it appears blank, and when I open it with Xcode it says

    "The data couldn’t be read because it isn’t in the correct format."


    Currently I have not been able to upgrade to High Sierra and I think my .plist might allegedly be the problem... sort of... just a guess...
     

    Attached Files:

  2. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    179,791
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 7, 2017 at 10:34 PM #2
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    179,791
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    It is corrupt:
    Code (Text):

    SPEEDY-NUC:Downloads rehabman$ plutil -lint /Users/rehabman/Downloads/config.plist
    /Users/rehabman/Downloads/config.plist: Found non-key inside <dict> at line 31
     
    Don't edit your config.plist with a text editor. Always use plist editor such as Xcode or PlistEdit Pro.
     
  3. seth125

    seth125

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    101
    Motherboard:
    GA Z77X UD5H
    CPU:
    i5-2500k
    Graphics:
    GTX 970
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    Oct 8, 2017 at 1:00 AM #3
    seth125

    seth125

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    101
    Motherboard:
    GA Z77X UD5H
    CPU:
    i5-2500k
    Graphics:
    GTX 970
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    Thanks. I’m kinda new to editing a .plist. Can you indicate me how it should look?
     
  4. tamgya

    tamgya

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    Motherboard:
    Intel C220 Series
    CPU:
    Xeon E3 1246v3
    Graphics:
    Intel HD P4600 + Nvidia GeForce GT 1030 2GB
    Mac:
    iMac
    Oct 8, 2017 at 4:48 AM #4
    tamgya

    tamgya

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    Motherboard:
    Intel C220 Series
    CPU:
    Xeon E3 1246v3
    Graphics:
    Intel HD P4600 + Nvidia GeForce GT 1030 2GB
    Mac:
    iMac
    Generally speaking, in a xml file (such as .plist files), each key must have a value to pair with. In your config.plist, the key "Argument" (under "Boot" section) lacks a value, which should be enclosed within a "<string></string>" (according to Clover). If you don't want any boot arguments, you can leave it as "<string></string>" but cannot delete it.

    After you edit config.plist, remember to validate it using the command "plutil -lint FILENAME" in the terminal app.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice