Can you check my config.plist?

Discussion in 'High Sierra Desktop Support' started by seth125, Oct 7, 2017.

  1. seth125

    seth125

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    98
    Mobo:
    GA Z77X UD5H
    CPU:
    i5-2500k
    Graphics:
    GTX 970
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    Oct 7, 2017 at 10:15 PM #1
    seth125

    seth125

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    98
    Mobo:
    GA Z77X UD5H
    CPU:
    i5-2500k
    Graphics:
    GTX 970
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    I don't quite know what or how it happened but I believe my config.plist might be corrupted or something. When I open it with Clover Configurator it appears blank, and when I open it with Xcode it says

    "The data couldn’t be read because it isn’t in the correct format."


    Currently I have not been able to upgrade to High Sierra and I think my .plist might allegedly be the problem... sort of... just a guess...
     

    Attached Files:

  2. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    164,677
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 7, 2017 at 10:34 PM #2
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    164,677
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    It is corrupt:
    Code (Text):

    SPEEDY-NUC:Downloads rehabman$ plutil -lint /Users/rehabman/Downloads/config.plist
    /Users/rehabman/Downloads/config.plist: Found non-key inside <dict> at line 31
     
    Don't edit your config.plist with a text editor. Always use plist editor such as Xcode or PlistEdit Pro.
     
  3. seth125

    seth125

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    98
    Mobo:
    GA Z77X UD5H
    CPU:
    i5-2500k
    Graphics:
    GTX 970
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    Oct 8, 2017 at 1:00 AM #3
    seth125

    seth125

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    98
    Mobo:
    GA Z77X UD5H
    CPU:
    i5-2500k
    Graphics:
    GTX 970
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    Thanks. I’m kinda new to editing a .plist. Can you indicate me how it should look?
     
  4. tamgya

    tamgya

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    Mobo:
    Intel C220 Series
    CPU:
    Xeon E3 1246v3
    Graphics:
    Intel HD P4600 + Nvidia GeForce GT 1030 2GB
    Mac:
    iMac
    Oct 8, 2017 at 4:48 AM #4
    tamgya

    tamgya

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    Mobo:
    Intel C220 Series
    CPU:
    Xeon E3 1246v3
    Graphics:
    Intel HD P4600 + Nvidia GeForce GT 1030 2GB
    Mac:
    iMac
    Generally speaking, in a xml file (such as .plist files), each key must have a value to pair with. In your config.plist, the key "Argument" (under "Boot" section) lacks a value, which should be enclosed within a "<string></string>" (according to Clover). If you don't want any boot arguments, you can leave it as "<string></string>" but cannot delete it.

    After you edit config.plist, remember to validate it using the command "plutil -lint FILENAME" in the terminal app.
     
  5. SeasideMike

    SeasideMike

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2016
    Messages:
    276
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z170-UD5
    CPU:
    Intel i7-6700K
    Graphics:
    EVGA 970 SC ACX 2.0
    Mac:
    iMac
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 23, 2017 at 8:07 PM #5
    SeasideMike

    SeasideMike

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2016
    Messages:
    276
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z170-UD5
    CPU:
    Intel i7-6700K
    Graphics:
    EVGA 970 SC ACX 2.0
    Mac:
    iMac
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Is this the correct location for the config.plist? config.plist location.png
     
  6. BreBo

    BreBo Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    5,652
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z87X-OC
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    Asus Strix GTX 970
    Nov 24, 2017 at 6:02 PM #6
    BreBo

    BreBo Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    5,652
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z87X-OC
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    Asus Strix GTX 970
    Yes it is :thumbup:
     
    SeasideMike likes this.
  7. SeasideMike

    SeasideMike

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2016
    Messages:
    276
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z170-UD5
    CPU:
    Intel i7-6700K
    Graphics:
    EVGA 970 SC ACX 2.0
    Mac:
    iMac
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 24, 2017 at 7:13 PM #7
    SeasideMike

    SeasideMike

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2016
    Messages:
    276
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z170-UD5
    CPU:
    Intel i7-6700K
    Graphics:
    EVGA 970 SC ACX 2.0
    Mac:
    iMac
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Whew! :crazy:
     

Share This Page