Can someone help me out please

Discussion in 'Snow Leopard Desktop Support' started by teekaydnewborn, Jun 14, 2018.

  1. teekaydnewborn

    teekaydnewborn

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    37
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-z68x-UD3H-B3
    CPU:
    icore 7 3.6Gh 2600k
    Graphics:
    ATI Radeon 5770
    Jun 14, 2018 at 7:11 PM #1
    teekaydnewborn

    teekaydnewborn

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    37
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-z68x-UD3H-B3
    CPU:
    icore 7 3.6Gh 2600k
    Graphics:
    ATI Radeon 5770
    1A2427E0-0FFE-47E5-A5F8-C46A1C824F27.jpeg Hi all,

    I had a system working great over the years but the mobo is gone nuts randomly shutting down cos i had a situation with the electricity not too long ago

    My System:
    Ga z68x ud3h b3
    icore 7 2600k
    radeon 5570
    gskill 16mb
    osx 10.6.8

    I want to build something new
    however i have lots of project in logic 9 still needing to be completed...can i buy new hardware and still be able to run my osx 10.6.8 on them?

    very important cos i cannot affordable to loose any logic project
    or spend too much time reconstructing any project

    Hope some has answers feeling sad cant create music
     
  2. P1LGRIM

    P1LGRIM Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    17,715
    Motherboard:
    Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
    CPU:
    Intel i7-4790 3.6 GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 4600
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 14, 2018 at 7:15 PM #2
    P1LGRIM

    P1LGRIM Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    17,715
    Motherboard:
    Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
    CPU:
    Intel i7-4790 3.6 GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 4600
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    'Situations with the electricity' are notorious for corrupting the CMOS settings including some that are not accessible from the BIOS setup menu. Before anything else I would try a CMOS reset followed by optimised defaults, followed by any adjustments that you made when you originally installed the OS.
     
  3. teekaydnewborn

    teekaydnewborn

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    37
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-z68x-UD3H-B3
    CPU:
    icore 7 3.6Gh 2600k
    Graphics:
    ATI Radeon 5770
    Jun 14, 2018 at 10:07 PM #3
    teekaydnewborn

    teekaydnewborn

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    37
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-z68x-UD3H-B3
    CPU:
    icore 7 3.6Gh 2600k
    Graphics:
    ATI Radeon 5770
    Thanks P1GRIM
    i have done that... no changes the system is not as normal anymore. i realised i spend too much time trying to fix this rather than actually making music. so thats why i am opting for totally building something new BUT the concern is being Able To RUN OSx 10.6.8. You get me ??
     
  4. P1LGRIM

    P1LGRIM Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    17,715
    Motherboard:
    Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
    CPU:
    Intel i7-4790 3.6 GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 4600
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 14, 2018 at 10:12 PM #4
    P1LGRIM

    P1LGRIM Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    17,715
    Motherboard:
    Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
    CPU:
    Intel i7-4790 3.6 GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 4600
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I do.

    Thread moved to Snow Leopard Desktop Support.
     
    teekaydnewborn likes this.
  5. Jamesbond007

    Jamesbond007

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    4,054
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte Z270X-UD5
    CPU:
    i7 7700K
    Graphics:
    RX 580
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 15, 2018 at 4:46 AM #5
    Jamesbond007

    Jamesbond007

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    4,054
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte Z270X-UD5
    CPU:
    i7 7700K
    Graphics:
    RX 580
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Current new hardware will not run Snow Leopard as the OS has no support for it. To run Snow Leopard, you need to find older hardware of the Sandy Bridge generation (like what you have) or earlier. In your situation what you probably need is another similar motherboard, which can only be obtained second hand.
     
  6. teekaydnewborn

    teekaydnewborn

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    37
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-z68x-UD3H-B3
    CPU:
    icore 7 3.6Gh 2600k
    Graphics:
    ATI Radeon 5770
    Jun 15, 2018 at 5:50 PM #6
    teekaydnewborn

    teekaydnewborn

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    37
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-z68x-UD3H-B3
    CPU:
    icore 7 3.6Gh 2600k
    Graphics:
    ATI Radeon 5770

    007

    thanks so much need that clarification!
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice