Can only boot with Graphic disabled

Discussion in 'Snow Leopard Desktop Support' started by 2wil22, Jun 14, 2011.

  1. 2wil22

    2wil22

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Jun 14, 2011 at 11:54 AM #1
    2wil22

    2wil22

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    I have installed os x with safe mode,
    but i cant boot normally
    I have to use GraphicEnable=NO to boot in
    I am guessing it's a graphic card problem
    should i go exchange my graphic card?
    and what wireless card should i get?

    here is my system

    Board: gigabyte ga-x58a-ud3r
    Processor: i7-960
    ram-1x4gb
    Graphic card: GV-r677ud-1gd
    here is what happends when i use -v

    http://i.imgur.com/eN3M2.jpg

    should i exchange my graphic card?
     
  2. Obe1

    Obe1

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Jun 14, 2011 at 7:57 PM #2
    Obe1

    Obe1

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    I was wondering the same thing. I can't even get OS X to get to the installation screen, was wondering if a graphics card would stop it from doing that. Posted this a couple days ago, got no response though:

    k I did my research, took necessary precautions, and just tried to install but didn't get past step 6.

    I applied correct BIOS settings, made RAM no more than 4gb (even tried 2gb), unplugged non-essentials, graphics card in PCI-e slot 1, have my iboot cd made, and multibeast and combo files on a usb stick.

    Got to iboot screen, put in retail Snow Leopard disk and hit enter (tried to do in safe-mode too). First thing I notice before the apple screen comes on is a message that says "card not supported!" I knew going in I might have issues with the card, but thought they were issues with double monitor and resolution stuff, not simple install problems. So anyway the Apple logo comes up, and the processing symbol just kept going, then I got a kernel panic, and now here I am.

    I guess my question is, will the wrong graphics card be causing this? Or is there something else I'm missing? Any help would be greatly appreciated. My system info should be in the signature, but if not here it is:

    i7-930 (OC'd to 3.52)
    6gb corsair xms ddr3 ram (only 4 in when trying to install os x)
    x58a-ud3r, rev 1 (BIOS F6, with necessary settings for install)
    ATI radeon 4550 hd

    HELLLLLLPPPP
     
  3. 2wil22

    2wil22

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Jun 15, 2011 at 2:34 AM #3
    2wil22

    2wil22

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    i went back and exchange the graphic card to 5570
    and reinstalled multibeast, everything worked out perfectly~
     

Share This Page