Contribute
Register

Can only boot with clover fast mode enabled

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jun 30, 2015
Messages
15
Motherboard
ASUS Prime Z390-a
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
2x RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have a working installation of macOS High Sierra on my HP Spectre x360 laptop. I am dual booting with windows, although once I get the WiFi working, I might just go with mac. The only way my laptop can boot into OSX is if the

<key>Fast</key>
<true>

string is in my config.plist. Everything works fine when that's in there. The issue is that the only way for me to choose which os to boot into is by mashing F9 at boot and selecting the UEFI os boot manager through the bios. When that string isn't in my config.plist, the laptop only gets to the beginning boot screen that says

"OsxAptioFixDrv: Starting overrides for System\Library\CoreServices\boot.efi
Using reloc block: yes, hibernate wake: no
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++"

and then it just freezes and nothing happens. No kernel panic, doesn't even start the boot process. Thanks in advance.
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
25,709
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p700
CPU
2x E5-2620 V3
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
184,466
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have a working installation of macOS High Sierra on my HP Spectre x360 laptop. I am dual booting with windows, although once I get the WiFi working, I might just go with mac. The only way my laptop can boot into OSX is if the

<key>Fast</key>
<true>

string is in my config.plist. Everything works fine when that's in there. The issue is that the only way for me to choose which os to boot into is by mashing F9 at boot and selecting the UEFI os boot manager through the bios. When that string isn't in my config.plist, the laptop only gets to the beginning boot screen that says

"OsxAptioFixDrv: Starting overrides for System\Library\CoreServices\boot.efi
Using reloc block: yes, hibernate wake: no
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++"

and then it just freezes and nothing happens. No kernel panic, doesn't even start the boot process. Thanks in advance.

Your profile is not filled out correctly.
Please fix as per FAQ:
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.164990/
 
Joined
Jun 30, 2015
Messages
15
Motherboard
ASUS Prime Z390-a
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
2x RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Your profile is not filled out correctly.
Please fix as per FAQ:
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.164990/
Desktop Only

Not a Desktop - Moved to Laptop Support.


Sorry about all that. I don’t use the forums much, usually I can figure out all the issues with my builds just by trial and error. I’ve been stuck on this issue for a while so any suggestions couldn’t hurt. I can upload my clover efi folder when I get home in about 5 hours, but there isn’t much else I can do right now. Thanks.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
184,466
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Sorry about all that. I don’t use the forums much, usually I can figure out all the issues with my builds just by trial and error. I’ve been stuck on this issue for a while so any suggestions couldn’t hurt. I can upload my clover efi folder when I get home in about 5 hours, but there isn’t much else I can do right now. Thanks.

Please fix your profile as requested in the FAQ.
 
Joined
Jun 30, 2015
Messages
15
Motherboard
ASUS Prime Z390-a
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
2x RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
HP827E does not seem like a typical HP model name.
I literally copy pasted from CPU-Z.... I'll go to the HP website and try to find the exact model through there.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
184,466
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I literally copy pasted from CPU-Z.... I'll go to the HP website and try to find the exact model through there.

The model name of your laptop is probably printed right on the laptop itself.
 
Joined
Jun 30, 2015
Messages
15
Motherboard
ASUS Prime Z390-a
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
2x RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The model name of your laptop is probably printed right on the laptop itself.
Wait it's supposed to be the model of the laptop??? I thought it was the model of the motherboard.... xD

It should be fixed now... lol
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top