Can i update to Sierra without any issues from Yosemite?

Discussion in 'OS X Updates' started by Gershy, Oct 7, 2016.

  1. P1LGRIM

    P1LGRIM Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    10,966
    Mobo:
    Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
    CPU:
    Intel i5-4570 3.2 GHz
    Graphics:
    GeForce GT 740 2047 MB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 7, 2016 at 4:46 PM #51
    P1LGRIM

    P1LGRIM Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    10,966
    Mobo:
    Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
    CPU:
    Intel i5-4570 3.2 GHz
    Graphics:
    GeForce GT 740 2047 MB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    For now, all that you need to do is generate a MacPro6,1 Serial number and add it to your current SMBIOS to enable your computer to be recognised by the App Store so that you may download Sierra.

    In order to install Sierra you must change from Chimera to Clover so there is no need to mess with "memory speed and stuff like that".
     
  2. Gershy

    Gershy

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    412
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87-HD3
    CPU:
    i5-4670k
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 750 TI OC 2gb WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Oct 7, 2016 at 4:48 PM #52
    Gershy

    Gershy

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    412
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87-HD3
    CPU:
    i5-4670k
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 750 TI OC 2gb WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    ok, so what do i put for year and week of manufacture, unique number, manufacturing location, etc.
     
  3. P1LGRIM

    P1LGRIM Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    10,966
    Mobo:
    Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
    CPU:
    Intel i5-4570 3.2 GHz
    Graphics:
    GeForce GT 740 2047 MB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 7, 2016 at 4:50 PM #53
    P1LGRIM

    P1LGRIM Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    10,966
    Mobo:
    Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
    CPU:
    Intel i5-4570 3.2 GHz
    Graphics:
    GeForce GT 740 2047 MB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    You already have all of that - You just need to add a correctly formatted MacPro6,1 serial number to your existing SMBIOS.
     
  4. Gershy

    Gershy

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    412
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87-HD3
    CPU:
    i5-4670k
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 750 TI OC 2gb WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Oct 7, 2016 at 4:50 PM #54
    Gershy

    Gershy

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    412
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87-HD3
    CPU:
    i5-4670k
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 750 TI OC 2gb WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    i still have to fill it in in chameleon wizard dont i?
     
  5. P1LGRIM

    P1LGRIM Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    10,966
    Mobo:
    Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
    CPU:
    Intel i5-4570 3.2 GHz
    Graphics:
    GeForce GT 740 2047 MB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 7, 2016 at 4:51 PM #55
    P1LGRIM

    P1LGRIM Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    10,966
    Mobo:
    Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
    CPU:
    Intel i5-4570 3.2 GHz
    Graphics:
    GeForce GT 740 2047 MB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I can't think of any more ways to tell you.
     
    wildwillow likes this.
  6. Gershy

    Gershy

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    412
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87-HD3
    CPU:
    i5-4670k
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 750 TI OC 2gb WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Oct 7, 2016 at 4:56 PM #56
    Gershy

    Gershy

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    412
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87-HD3
    CPU:
    i5-4670k
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 750 TI OC 2gb WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    ok, so chameleon wizard thought i had a macpro3,1. i changed it so macpro6,1, and it gave me a serial. i clicked save, and restarted, now it just gives me a black screen.
     
  7. P1LGRIM

    P1LGRIM Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    10,966
    Mobo:
    Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
    CPU:
    Intel i5-4570 3.2 GHz
    Graphics:
    GeForce GT 740 2047 MB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 7, 2016 at 4:58 PM #57
    P1LGRIM

    P1LGRIM Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    10,966
    Mobo:
    Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
    CPU:
    Intel i5-4570 3.2 GHz
    Graphics:
    GeForce GT 740 2047 MB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Boot in verbose mode and post a picture of the screen when it stops.
     
  8. Gershy

    Gershy

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    412
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87-HD3
    CPU:
    i5-4670k
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 750 TI OC 2gb WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Oct 7, 2016 at 5:03 PM #58
    Gershy

    Gershy

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    412
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87-HD3
    CPU:
    i5-4670k
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 750 TI OC 2gb WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    it doesnt stop. it boots. it just shows nothing on screen. i can boot with nv_disable=1. nvda_drv=1 doesnt work either.
    im running a 750 ti. could that have had any issue?
     
  9. P1LGRIM

    P1LGRIM Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    10,966
    Mobo:
    Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
    CPU:
    Intel i5-4570 3.2 GHz
    Graphics:
    GeForce GT 740 2047 MB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 7, 2016 at 5:07 PM #59
    P1LGRIM

    P1LGRIM Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    10,966
    Mobo:
    Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
    CPU:
    Intel i5-4570 3.2 GHz
    Graphics:
    GeForce GT 740 2047 MB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
  10. Gershy

    Gershy

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    412
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87-HD3
    CPU:
    i5-4670k
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 750 TI OC 2gb WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Oct 7, 2016 at 5:10 PM #60
    Gershy

    Gershy

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    412
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87-HD3
    CPU:
    i5-4670k
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 750 TI OC 2gb WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android

Share This Page