Contribute
Register

Can I triple boot Ubuntu/Windows/Catalina with Opencore?

Joined
Aug 13, 2019
Messages
20
Motherboard
DELL XPS 15 7590
CPU
i7-9750H
Graphics
Nvidia gtx1650
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have a laptop,and I want to triple boot these os with opencore.But there is only one ssd on my laptop.
So can I make it?
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2020
Messages
3
Motherboard
Elite 8300
CPU
i5-3475S
Graphics
HD4000
Yes, it's actually quite easy to do if your laptop uses EFI and GPT partitions.

Your EFI partition (ESP) has to be at least 200MB. If it's smaller than this, you'll have to resize existing neighboring partitions to make room to expand it. The OpenCore installation guide has more information on how to setup multiboot

I already had Windows and Linux and running from the drive and I was able to resize my Linux partition to make room for MacOS. I created a new partition and gave it a label I'd easily recognize. When I ran the MacOS installer, I selected to install MacOS to the new partition and that's all that was needed.

OpenCore will add the first operating system (Windows or Linux) on your disk to the boot menu. To add the second one, I had to edit the config.plist to add the partition information for it.

Once everything was working OK, I copied the OpenCore EFI folder to my ESP partition, making sure not to wipe out the Windows and Linux EFI directories, and used OpenCanopy as my boot menu.
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2019
Messages
20
Motherboard
DELL XPS 15 7590
CPU
i7-9750H
Graphics
Nvidia gtx1650
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yes, it's actually quite easy to do if your laptop uses EFI and GPT partitions.

Your EFI partition (ESP) has to be at least 200MB. If it's smaller than this, you'll have to resize existing neighboring partitions to make room to expand it. The OpenCore installation guide has more information on how to setup multiboot

I already had Windows and Linux and running from the drive and I was able to resize my Linux partition to make room for MacOS. I created a new partition and gave it a label I'd easily recognize. When I ran the MacOS installer, I selected to install MacOS to the new partition and that's all that was needed.

OpenCore will add the first operating system (Windows or Linux) on your disk to the boot menu. To add the second one, I had to edit the config.plist to add the partition information for it.

Once everything was working OK, I copied the OpenCore EFI folder to my ESP partition, making sure not to wipe out the Windows and Linux EFI directories, and used OpenCanopy as my boot menu.
Thanks alot!!!
 
Joined
Apr 6, 2013
Messages
5
Motherboard
MSI Z370 GAMING PRO CARBON/AC
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Vega 56/ UHD 630
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
What did you do in config.plist to add the next OS ?
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2020
Messages
3
Motherboard
Elite 8300
CPU
i5-3475S
Graphics
HD4000
Under Misc > Entries, I added the location of the OS's EFI file to the Path key. The location should be something like

PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x17,0x0)/Sata(0x5,0xFFFF,0x0)/HD(1,GPT,4C15DB92-F532-11E9-AF6E-E172391D34E9,0x800,0xFA000)/\EFI\Microsoft\Boot\bootmgfw.efi

You can use uefishell.efi to find the correct path to use.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2010
Messages
9
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H110M
CPU
i3-6100
Graphics
HD 530
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi, talking about resizing, how did you do it?, I want to resize my EFI folder in opencore, any ideas?
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2020
Messages
3
Motherboard
Elite 8300
CPU
i5-3475S
Graphics
HD4000
It's been a while since I did it so I'm not 100% certain but I think I used gparted live from a usb stick to resize partitions.
 
Joined
Nov 25, 2020
Messages
2
Motherboard
Z77X-UD3H
CPU
i5-3850k
Graphics
RX 5700
I followed the same procedure, having installed Windows first, then ArchLinux to end with MacOS.
I can boot MacOS & Linux fine from opencore but Windows will always boot to "automatic" recovery for some reason.
I tried blessoverride or manual stanza like you put above but nothing works. Any idea?

I found another forum's post saying "SyncRuntimePermissions" to "true" should fix that, and while Windows does no longer boot to recovery mode, it doesnt boot at all. It starts booting a bit and then restarts the computer.
 
Last edited:
Top