Dell Inc. 0Y47PX - UEFI/A20 - Clover UEFI
CPU
Intel Core i7 3540M
Graphics
Intel(R) HD Graphics 4000
Mobile Phone
Android
Hello,

It's my first time trying to make a Windows machine use MacOS.

I'm trying to install Catalina on my Dell latitude E6230. I'm using the Tonymac guide:

I get up to Step 4, number 4 fine but then...

It gets to 100% on the Apple logo screen then hangs. I left it for 24 hours. Rebooted and tried again. Left for an hour. Same thing, 100% then hangs.

I never make it to Step 4, number 5, 'choose a language'.

My BIOS version is A20, from 28 Nov, 2019.

I noticed in another thread that Pastrychef asked for images from it in Verbose mode.

Is Verbose Mode possible for a fresh install? Or do I have to have had a successful boot first?

If Verbose mode IS possible, is the Mac 'Command' key equivalent to the Windows 'Ctrl' key? (Or would it be either, 'Alt', 'Fn', or the 'Windows' key?)

Thanks in advance!

UtterDisbelief

Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390M Gaming
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Classic Mac
eMac, iBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hello,

It's my first time trying to make a Windows machine use MacOS.

I'm trying to install Catalina on my Dell latitude E6230. I'm using the Tonymac guide:

I get up to Step 4, number 4 fine but then...

It gets to 100% on the Apple logo screen then hangs. I left it for 24 hours. Rebooted and tried again. Left for an hour. Same thing, 100% then hangs.

I never make it to Step 4, number 5, 'choose a language'.

My BIOS version is A20, from 28 Nov, 2019.

I noticed in another thread that Pastrychef asked for images from it in Verbose mode.

Is Verbose Mode possible for a fresh install? Or do I have to have had a successful boot first?

If Verbose mode IS possible, is the Mac 'Command' key equivalent to the Windows 'Ctrl' key? (Or would it be either, 'Alt', 'Fn', or the 'Windows' key?)

Thanks in advance!
Hi there,