Contribute
Register

built first hackintosh, just need help to correct system ID & audio pop?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
GTX 670 Windforce
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
This is my first time posting. I just built my first hackintosh (and first computer for that matter), which is basically the CustoMac Pro with a different case and the nh-d14 air cooler. I used Stork's guide to work through the UEFI Bios and MultiBeast, and I have just about everything up and running perfectly. The one issue I'm experiencing is the audio "pop" that occurs when the audio starts after not being used for a few minutes. From my research I'm just about sure that this is because my system ID is set to iMac 12,2, and not MacPro 3,1.

My understanding is that the reason Alpha has the ID as an iMac is to enable AirPlay, which I find convenient and would like to keep if possible. Another option I've come across is to install AntiPop, but it seems like AntiPop can disable sleep, and right now all of that is working just fine.

Can someone give me some advice as to what my system ID should be set for to both get rid of the pop and allow for AirPlay? If that is impossible, is AntiPop a happy medium, or am I pretty much guaranteed to lose sleep and power management functions? I've also come across posts that have suggested that 3,1 will give the computer much better performance than 12,2, and while I haven't run Geekbench yet, I'll make whatever changes necessary to boost performance and not sacrifice the reliability that I've had so far.

Other than the audio pop, this system has been awesome. I run Avid with a Kona 3, fibre card & 4 year old 6TB fibre raid, and it's perfect. The audio pop is really brutal on my speakers, and I'd love to see it fixed.