Not open for further replies.
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. 0
Hi,

So, I tried a year ago to build something, didn't happen, so let's try again.
I finally have a better job and can afford a really good computer. I have a MacBook Pro 13" 16GB, and I like it, because I can use it on school and in my job... BUT, sometimes it gets laggy and freezes, and I've heard you can build a really powerful computer using macOS, without paying thousands of dollars for Apple products, plus it would be fun to build it.
I'm a designer and sometimes my workflow needs to have Illustrator, Photoshop, Sketch, Indesign, After effects and Premier open, along with chrome open with multiple tabs. So it's important for this to be a golden build, I need EVERYTHING working.
I also want to do gaming on this baby, if possible 4K gaming with the best settings possible (I don't know how ambitious that is, and if it's even possible), anyways, I am a newbie and need a project. So what are your best recommendations?

Solely on the Buyer's Guide I am eyeing this components:

-Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD5 TH
-Core i7-6700K
-Corsair H60 (Water)
-EVGA GTX 950 (In this regard, and having in mind what I'm looking for, is there a better option for the gaming card? Would a 980 be better?)
-Crucial Ballistix Sport LT (32GB)
-Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
-Corsair RM 650 Watt
-Corsair Carbide 300R (now, this is the one that the guide suggests, I really don't like it, I'm looking to buy this one:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B015U7LXO4/?tag=tonymacx86com-20
But, then again, I'm a newbie myself on building so, I'm just wondering if this is too much to build, or would it be a good option?

TP-Link PCI Express Wifi Adapter (N)

Is there something I'm missing? Would this support bluetooth in my Hackintosh as well?
I'd appreciate the help.

Also, do you guys know of a good set of tools to build pcs? Like in Amazon or something?

Thanks.

Last edited: