Contribute
Register

Building Hackintosh from a 08MacPro

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Everyone.

a newbie here. I've watched youtube videos and read this forum for 3 days. getting a bit dizzy and a bit confused. Too many things to learn and memorize. I hope you can guide me into a right track and choose a right motherboard.

Things I would like to confirm: Things Hackintosh can't:

- I read somewhere on using a Touch Pad, it said something about pressure-sentivity of a touch pad can't be achieved with Hackintosh or just a particular machine.
- onboard wifi, Bluetooth, and audio mic motherboard (meaning the motherboard i am looking for has to have at least 4 PCIe slots)
- for power supply, how to choose the right power? is it always the bigger the better?

my background on computer: I used to use 3/486 machine and then switched to Mac. I have Upgraded RAM, Changed HHD to SSD for my 2008 Mac Pro. that's all. 2 weeks ago, it died and today I finally took out the motherboard.

My goal here is to turn my 08 (i guess, so many version) old MacPro to a Hackintosh. It will do heavy work load of photo retouching and tether shooting, internet, watch movies. dual boot. keep the case as stock looking as possible

Must have:
- keep the original front panel working (the best I've seen so far, everything works except for the mic)
http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/to...ro-build-using-an-original-mac-pro-case-parts
- keep a new power supply into original area and use the same old plug hole
- try not to cut the case or as little as possible
- Fast connect for tether shooting (wire and wifi)
- Photo retouching (meaning using Wacom Intuos, photoshop, Lightroom and Capture one)
- Screen calibration ( haven't heard much member talk about calibration here)
- wireless keyboard and touchpad and mouse ( I hate wires )
- Wifi and LAN connections.
- 32G of RAM (expandable to 64G)
- dual screens ( my old nec 3090wqxi and a 4k+ in the future)
- m2 slots for OS Raid 1