Status
Not open for further replies.
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. 0
Hello, I am new to this and was wondering if i could have some help.

I am going to be doing a lot of video editing over the next year, in HD and 4K. I was going to buy a maxed out iMac but decided that a hackentosh suits me better as it is upgradable.

I like the looks of the BitFenix Prodigy case I was wondering if anyone had any advice on which kit list would fit this case and be good for editing 4K.

Thank you for the help!

[TR="bgcolor: #eeeeee"] [TR="bgcolor: #f9f9f9"] [TR="bgcolor: #f9f9f9"] [TR="bgcolor: #f9f9f9"] [TR="bgcolor: #f9f9f9"] [TR="bgcolor: #f9f9f9"]
Hardware Component Price
1 CPU Intel i7 Quad 4.4 GHz $336
2 CPU Cooler Enermax Twister $46
3 Memory Crucial Ballistix Tactical 32GB Kit $330
4 Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97X-UD7 $206
5 Storage Samsung 840 EVO 500GB SATA III $200
6 Graphics Geforce GTX 760 w/2GB $205
7 Power Supply Corsair HX850i (850 Watt) $190
8 Monitor ASUS PB287Q 28” $580
9 Case NZXT Technologies H440 Mid Tower $120
Grand Total: $2215

Soure: http://www.4kshooters.net/2015/02/02/is-a-hackintosh-good-enough-for-real-time-4k-editing/

I saw this build. I am also looking to build a hackintosh. My question is the Geforce GTX 760 w/2GB I cant find anymore is there something similar. Thanks.

If you're using FCPX for video editing, maybe read those messages about which cards work well (only specific AMD) and which don't (all nVidia). If using Adobe, your criteria is probably very different than with FCPX.

Just to confirm, if you are using FCP X for anything serious, forget the nVidia cards. No matter how much you pay, they are still slow for FCP X. The 280X cards are very good with FCP X and easy to install.

Also why get a UD7H MB? Unless you need Thunderbolt as opposed to want it, you're paying a load more money for nothing. You will also need a Windows install to get the Thunderbolt it work properly.