Contribute
Register

Build recommendations for running MacOS audio recording/editing software, programs from the App Store, and Windows 10 via Bootcamp and/or Parallel

Motherboard
Gigabyte - Z390 AORUS ELITE
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
This is my first build and I'm trying to build my Hackintosh so that it has full compatibility with programs that were designed/coded for Mac. I'm using it mainly for audio programs, using ProTools and Logic Pro. I'm also hoping to use Bootcamp or Parallel to run Windows 10 for gaming.

ProTools is owned by Avid, a loyal Apple affiliate and you need a Mac OS to run it without running into issues.
I purchased Logic Pro from the Apple website and need to download it from the App store, along with other programs.

These are the components I am looking at buying, all of which are listed in the buyer's guide under CustoMac mATX, except for the PSU and Case. The buyer's guide recommends the Corsair CS 550 Watt PSU, one question I have is whether I use that specific PSU or another 550 W?

I would really appreciate any recommendations for hardware that will enable to accomplish what I have in mind.

Intel - Core i7-9700K 3.6 GHz 8-Core Processor
Corsair - H60 (2018) 57.2 CFM Liquid CPU Cooler
Gigabyte - Z390 AORUS ELITE ATX LGA1151 Motherboard
Crucial - Ballistix Sport LT 32 GB (2 x 16 GB) DDR4-3200 Memory
Seagate - BarraCuda 1 TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive
Sapphire - Radeon RX 580 8 GB PULSE Video Card
NZXT - H500i ATX Mid Tower Case
EVGA - SuperNOVA G3 650 W 80+ Gold Certified Fully Modular ATX Power Supply

Attachments

trs96

Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
I'm also hoping to use Bootcamp or Parallel to run Windows 10 for gaming.
Since this is PC hardware, there is no need to use Bootcamp. Install Windows on it's own separate drive just as you would any Windows compatible PC. If you want to run Windows via a Paralells VM you can do that as well.