Contribute
Register

Build advice for a Thunderbolt 3 hackintosh

Joined
Nov 20, 2011
Messages
21
Motherboard
10.8 PowerMac i7
CPU
Intel i7 3770K
Graphics
NVIDIA GTX 670
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
So I work in video production, mostly After Effects and Premiere which pretty much require NVIDIA'S CUDA cores to run as efficently as possible. I've built my own hackintosh before in 2012, and now want to do a full new build.

I've been working off of the Late 2013 Mac Pro for a while now and finally want to ditch it. However the thunderbolt ports were awesome and I never had to compromise for space plugging anything in.

I have a Pegasus R4 RAID 1+0 and HDD/SSD readers setup to be able to move between desktop editing and mobile editing. I want to build a hackintosh with thunderbolt 3 as to future proof my build.

I understand there is no hotswapping for thunderbolt devices on motherboards, but its not a concern to me. I'm seeing more and more USB-C and Thunderbolt 3 products coming out and I see the need to upgrade.

I need at least 2 Thunderbolt 3 ports. Other than that - I'm looking for best bang for my buck. I own a GTX 970 4GB already. I'm willing to keep the older system running with the GPU and buy a whole new setup. My budget is around $1.5k, but that can be flexible. Any suggestions?
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
13,504
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
You can still get a Skylake system with dual TH ports onboard.
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIABFS5PV9022&cm_re=z170X-UD5-TH-_-9SIABFS5PV9022-_-Product

Add to that the I7-6700K and a GTX 1070 or 1080 depending on you budget restraints.
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819117559&cm_re=i7-6700k_processor-_-19-117-559-_-Product

A 32 GB ram kit would be great too:
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01B4F3IJY/?tag=tonymacx86com-20

The rest you can choose what you want for storage, PSU and case and CPU cooler.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 20, 2017
Messages
13
Motherboard
ASUS Z170-PRO
CPU
i7-6700
Graphics
GTX980Ti Gaming
Mac
Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I'm using ASUS Z170Pro/USB3.1 with ASUS Thunderboltex 3, works very stable and well.
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2017
Messages
1
Motherboard
Asus Z170 AR
CPU
i7 6700
Graphics
GTX 1070
I'm using ASUS Z170Pro/USB3.1 with ASUS Thunderboltex 3, works very stable and well.
Hi,

I'm trying to accomplish the same setup with an Z 170 AR, I just ordered the same thunderbolt card. I'm a noob and don't know how to install it to get it working on OS Sierra. Any advice?
 
Joined
Apr 20, 2017
Messages
13
Motherboard
ASUS Z170-PRO
CPU
i7-6700
Graphics
GTX980Ti Gaming
Mac
Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi,

I'm trying to accomplish the same setup with an Z 170 AR, I just ordered the same thunderbolt card. I'm a noob and don't know how to install it to get it working on OS Sierra. Any advice?
Hi, in my case it was just simple plug and play. Just don't forget to plug in thunderbolt connector to the motherboard and enable Thunderbolt in your BIOS.
 
Joined
Dec 12, 2015
Messages
28
Motherboard
GA-Z170X-UD5 TH
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
I'm using ASUS Z170Pro/USB3.1 with ASUS Thunderboltex 3, works very stable and well.
Hi, in my case it was just simple plug and play. Just don't forget to plug in thunderbolt connector to the motherboard and enable Thunderbolt in your BIOS.
I have the same motherboard and TB card. Linked is the issue myself and others are having, with the post below mine being the same settings used. Can you provide the same settings you used, or perhaps what you had to do to avoid the same error on boot?

https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/skylake-asus-thunderboltex-3-testing.204646/page-5#post-1558495
 
Joined
Apr 20, 2017
Messages
13
Motherboard
ASUS Z170-PRO
CPU
i7-6700
Graphics
GTX980Ti Gaming
Mac
Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I have the same motherboard and TB card. Linked is the issue myself and others are having, with the post below mine being the same settings used. Can you provide the same settings you used, or perhaps what you had to do to avoid the same error on boot?

https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/skylake-asus-thunderboltex-3-testing.204646/page-5#post-1558495
Yeah, I had this issue. You need to use different OsxAptioFix-Drv-64.efi. I uploaded the correct one, try it (it's slightly modified from original, because I'm using a lot of PCI devices). Just unpack it and put into your Drivers64UEFI folder. Don't forget to delete your old one.
 

Attachments

Joined
Dec 12, 2015
Messages
28
Motherboard
GA-Z170X-UD5 TH
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Yeah, I had this issue. You need to use different OsxAptioFix-Drv-64.efi. I uploaded the correct one, try it (it's slightly modified from original, because I'm using a lot of PCI devices). Just unpack it and put into your Drivers64UEFI folder. Don't forget to delete your old one.
Issue persists on my end. What BIOS are you currently running/TB settings?
 
Top