Budget G3 Powerhack

Discussion in 'PowerMac G3 B&W' started by spackley, Mar 19, 2012.

  1. Toeknee182

    Toeknee182

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Mar 27, 2012 at 3:23 PM #11
    Toeknee182

    Toeknee182

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Excellent job. I have bought a G4 case and was about to start on my new computer. Your pics help a lot even though I can skip some of your steps.

    Toe-Knee
     
  2. Solidww

    Solidww

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,117
    Mobo:
    GA-X58A-UD5
    CPU:
    i7-970
    Graphics:
    GTX560Ti
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Mar 27, 2012 at 5:31 PM #12
    Solidww

    Solidww

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,117
    Mobo:
    GA-X58A-UD5
    CPU:
    i7-970
    Graphics:
    GTX560Ti
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    That is a work of art sir. Very much a work of art. :headbang:
     
  3. spackley

    spackley

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Intel LGA 1151 H170 DS3H
    CPU:
    3.19 i5 Sky Lake
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 760
    Mar 27, 2012 at 10:23 PM #13
    spackley

    spackley

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Intel LGA 1151 H170 DS3H
    CPU:
    3.19 i5 Sky Lake
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 760
    They turn up all the time on Ebay for between £6 - £10. That's where I got the one for the G3 from.
     
  4. RadMatty

    RadMatty

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    215
    Mobo:
    customac Z68MA-D2H-B3
    CPU:
    Intel core i5 2500k
    Graphics:
    HD3000
    Classic Mac:
    Classic, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Mar 27, 2012 at 11:41 PM #14
    RadMatty

    RadMatty

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    215
    Mobo:
    customac Z68MA-D2H-B3
    CPU:
    Intel core i5 2500k
    Graphics:
    HD3000
    Classic Mac:
    Classic, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Wow! That is slick. I have a couple of G4's and a G5 gathering dust. You've given me a jolt of inspiration. -- Matt
     
  5. spackley

    spackley

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Intel LGA 1151 H170 DS3H
    CPU:
    3.19 i5 Sky Lake
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 760
    Apr 12, 2012 at 11:52 PM #15
    spackley

    spackley

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Intel LGA 1151 H170 DS3H
    CPU:
    3.19 i5 Sky Lake
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 760
    OK, just finally finished the G3 off.
    I've put in an OCZ 90GB Agility SSD drive for the OS, a 1TB Samsung for general storage and a 500GB Western Digital drive as I am dual booting Lion and Snow Leopard (Snow Leopard because I need it for the Canon scanner that I have as there is no Lion driver for it)
    I also replaced the temporary Intel cooler with a Scythe Kozuti low profile cooler.
    [​IMG]

    The Kozuti is only 40mm tall so there are no clearance problems in a G3/G4 case
    [​IMG]

    I also made myself an Airport card from an Apple PCI-e wifi card and a mini PCI-e adapter bought from Ebay, seen here next to the graphics card.
    Due to the position of the PCI-e slot on the mobo I had to separate the backplate and make a small bracket to support the card.
    [​IMG]

    Recognised OOB in OSX
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    The backing plate is mounted in a lower PCI slot.
    [​IMG]

    Getting good wireless speeds from it too
    [​IMG]

    Forgotten I had this keyboard and graphics tablet but they match the G3 perfectly
    [​IMG]

    Am pleased with how it turned out and it should last a year or two as a backup machine and to run the scanner from.
     
  6. jmpa

    jmpa

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    389
    Mobo:
    GA-H170N
    CPU:
    i7 6700
    Graphics:
    GTX 950
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Apr 13, 2012 at 5:57 PM #16
    jmpa

    jmpa

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    389
    Mobo:
    GA-H170N
    CPU:
    i7 6700
    Graphics:
    GTX 950
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Really nice work :D

    Can you tell me the height of the case for hard drives please?
     
  7. spackley

    spackley

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Intel LGA 1151 H170 DS3H
    CPU:
    3.19 i5 Sky Lake
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 760
    Apr 13, 2012 at 11:14 PM #17
    spackley

    spackley

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Intel LGA 1151 H170 DS3H
    CPU:
    3.19 i5 Sky Lake
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 760
    Not quite sure what you mean when you say height?
    Do you mean the depth of the case from front to back or the height from top to bottom? or do you just mean the size of the G5 hard drive cage?
     
  8. jmpa

    jmpa

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    389
    Mobo:
    GA-H170N
    CPU:
    i7 6700
    Graphics:
    GTX 950
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Apr 14, 2012 at 1:55 AM #18
    jmpa

    jmpa

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    389
    Mobo:
    GA-H170N
    CPU:
    i7 6700
    Graphics:
    GTX 950
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    The size at red:

    [​IMG]
     
  9. spackley

    spackley

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Intel LGA 1151 H170 DS3H
    CPU:
    3.19 i5 Sky Lake
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 760
    Apr 14, 2012 at 11:38 AM #19
    spackley

    spackley

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Intel LGA 1151 H170 DS3H
    CPU:
    3.19 i5 Sky Lake
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 760
    Gotcha...
    The height of the cage is 80mm
    Just in case you want to know the depth is 160mm and the width is 135mm
    and it's the drive cage from a G5 Powermac.
     
  10. minihack

    minihack

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,384
    Mobo:
    Zotac Z77-ITX
    CPU:
    i5 2500k
    Graphics:
    Integrated HD 3000 + MSI Twin Frozr GTX 660
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    Apr 14, 2012 at 12:22 PM #20
    minihack

    minihack

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,384
    Mobo:
    Zotac Z77-ITX
    CPU:
    i5 2500k
    Graphics:
    Integrated HD 3000 + MSI Twin Frozr GTX 660
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    That's an interesting solution. Normally I don't like it when the backplate is kept standard just because you always have either the audio ports blocked/obstructed or you lose a slot on the board. On yours, you choose to lose the slot and then get it back again by making a special bracket for your wireless card. As in fact most mATX boards these days have the first slot being a x1 slot then you don't really compromise too much (and by moving the board "up" the door you have more room in the bottom of the case for HDs (or potentially a PSU or cooling).

    :thumbup:
     

Share This Page