Contribute
Register

Broadwell E - i7-6950X x99 - Working

GDS

Joined
May 23, 2010
Messages
227
Motherboard
X99 Deluxe II
CPU
Xeon 2696 v4
Graphics
Gigabyte Aorus 1080 Ti Waterforce
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi all,

I have a 5960X / ASUS X99-A running 10.10.5 using Multibeast / Chimera and would love to drop a 6950X in there at some point and move to El Cap,
Just to be sure

You speak to just keep the X99-A?
cause the 6950x fits only on the X99-A II
yours doesn't accept the 14nm
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2012
Messages
456
Motherboard
Asus X299 Prime Deluxe
CPU
i7-7980XE
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti
Mac
MacBook Air
You speak to just keep the X99-A?
cause the 6950x fits only on the X99-A II
yours doesn't accept the 14nm
Hmmm I thought all that was needed was a BIOS update to get that mobo working with Broadwell-E?

If not, then the X99 Deluxe II is looking really nice...

Any additional thoughts are much appreciated!
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2015
Messages
20
Motherboard
Asus X99-A II
CPU
Intel I7-6900K
Graphics
Nvidia GTX 980ti
Did someone get joy with Powermanagement / Sleep with the Broadwell E's?
 

GDS

Joined
May 23, 2010
Messages
227
Motherboard
X99 Deluxe II
CPU
Xeon 2696 v4
Graphics
Gigabyte Aorus 1080 Ti Waterforce
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hmmm I thought all that was needed was a BIOS update to get that mobo working with Broadwell-E?

If not, then the X99 Deluxe II is looking really nice...
I am sure at 100%; please visit the asus website, and some infos on the net too:
the version 1 as deluxe, 99-A etc etc: dont support the 14nm, the same mobo in version II: yes! ;)
the unique one which can, just with a bios update is the rampage V extreme (but not the same price)
 
Joined
May 4, 2016
Messages
21
Motherboard
Asus X99 Deluxe II
CPU
i7-6950X
Graphics
Nvidia GTX 980ti
Hi all,

I have a 5960X / ASUS X99-A running 10.10.5 using Multibeast / Chimera and would love to drop a 6950X in there at some point and move to El Cap, which leads me to my first question;

How does one go about changing core-setting in VoodooTCSync?

It appears it could be as simple as opening up the VoodooTSCSync.kext in Textwrangler and changing the following lines from:

<key>IOCPUNumber</key>
<integer>15</integer>

to:

<key>IOCPUNumber</key>
<integer>19</integer>

Would this be correct?
That's all I did!
 

GDS

Joined
May 23, 2010
Messages
227
Motherboard
X99 Deluxe II
CPU
Xeon 2696 v4
Graphics
Gigabyte Aorus 1080 Ti Waterforce
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
That's all I did!
U mean that u have your config (with a 6950x) on a asus X99-A (not the version II)?

i saw everywhere that the version I of deluxe and X99-A cannot support 14nm processor...
this is why new models came out the X99-A II and deluxe II ...
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2012
Messages
456
Motherboard
Asus X299 Prime Deluxe
CPU
i7-7980XE
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti
Mac
MacBook Air
That's all I did!
Wowzers!

So, did you drop it in an existing Yosemite install and it worked?

If so, did you upgrade to El Cap afterwards or do a fresh install?
 
Joined
May 4, 2016
Messages
21
Motherboard
Asus X99 Deluxe II
CPU
i7-6950X
Graphics
Nvidia GTX 980ti
Wowzers!

So, did you drop it in an existing Yosemite install and it worked?

If so, did you upgrade to El Cap afterwards or do a fresh install?
No, I did a clean install of El Cap (using the installer) to an SSD. And then, placed that SSD in the hackintosh so that I could boot with Clover and not get kicked out because of USB ports failing (and having the booted USB stick fail). Booting from a stick would have been far more convenient, but I needed this tip to get past that issue.

Also, it was on an Asus X99 Deluxe II. It didn't need a bios update, worked right away.
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2012
Messages
456
Motherboard
Asus X299 Prime Deluxe
CPU
i7-7980XE
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti
Mac
MacBook Air
Ah ok got it.. Makes sense!

I've been wanting to do a build with the Asus X99 Deluxe II - due to various features, including integrated wifi - which was working out the box I presume?
 
Joined
May 4, 2016
Messages
21
Motherboard
Asus X99 Deluxe II
CPU
i7-6950X
Graphics
Nvidia GTX 980ti
Ah ok got it.. Makes sense!

I've been wanting to do a build with the Asus X99 Deluxe II - due to various features, including integrated wifi - which was working out the box I presume?
Yeah, wifi 2.4ghz works. It won't see my 5ghz network. Only one of the Ethernet ports works. USB ports still intermittently disappear between boots. And Bluetooth shows the hardware and driver loaded but won't allow a connection. I'm sure there is a solution for all of that but I'm just using the box as a glorified CI server for Xcode so I don't need to fix any of that to leverage the blazing speed!
 
Top