Contribute
Register

<< Solved >> Brightness Not Working on my HP pavilion laptop

Joined
May 4, 2021
Messages
39
Motherboard
HP 820D
CPU
i7-6700HQ
Graphics
HD 530
I tried so many kexts and patches to get the brightness slider in system preference but did not succeed.

I am using OpenCore Bootloader.

Can someone please check the files that I have uploaded in detail and guide me what should I do.

Please do not give me links to the old posts as I am a real noob in hackintoshing the laptop, So live guidance would be great.

Everything on the laptop works except the brightness.

And Also I would like to know whether Opencore sets the brightness of the laptop to the max on boot even if I don't have brightness slider in my system

My Laptop Specifications:

Processor :- Intel Core i7 6700 HQ (Skylake)


Ram :- 16gb DDR4


Motherboard :- HP (820D)


Graphics :- 1) Intel(R) HD Graphics 530(BIOS Device Name = \_SB.PCI0.GFX0)


2) Nvidia GTX 960m

MacOS : Catalina 10.15.3
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    18.5 KB · Views: 11
  • SSDT-EC-USBX.aml
    306 bytes · Views: 13
  • SSDT-PLUG.aml
    146 bytes · Views: 10
  • SSDT-PNLF.aml
    1 KB · Views: 9
  • Screenshot 2021-05-04 at 13.53.40.png
    Screenshot 2021-05-04 at 13.53.40.png
    57.4 KB · Views: 10

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
23,276
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I tried so many kexts and patches to get the brightness slider in system preference but did not succeed.

I am using OpenCore Bootloader.

Can someone please check the files that I have uploaded in detail and guide me what should I do.

Please do not give me links to the old posts as I am a real noob in hackintoshing the laptop, So live guidance would be great.

Everything on the laptop works except the brightness.

And Also I would like to know whether Opencore sets the brightness of the laptop to the max on boot even if I don't have brightness slider in my system

My Laptop Specifications:

Processor :- Intel Core i7 6700 HQ (Skylake)


Ram :- 16gb DDR4


Motherboard :- HP (820D)


Graphics :- 1) Intel(R) HD Graphics 530(BIOS Device Name = \_SB.PCI0.GFX0)


2) Nvidia GTX 960m

MacOS : Catalina 10.15.3
MacBookPro13,1 would be a better choice of SMBIOS

AppleBacklightFixup.kext should not be needed with latest versions of whatevergreen.kext

may also need:
 
Joined
May 4, 2021
Messages
39
Motherboard
HP 820D
CPU
i7-6700HQ
Graphics
HD 530
MacBookPro13,1 would be a better choice of SMBIOS

AppleBacklightFixup.kext should not be needed with latest versions of whatevergreen.kext

may also need:
Should I just put SSDT-ALS0.aml in my opencore's OC/ACPI folder and remove the AppleBacklightFixup, and also change my smbios?
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
23,276
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Should I just put SSDT-ALS0.aml in my opencore's OC/ACPI folder and remove the AppleBacklightFixup, and also change my smbios?
yes
 
Joined
May 4, 2021
Messages
39
Motherboard
HP 820D
CPU
i7-6700HQ
Graphics
HD 530
My laptop does not have ambient light sensor so I don't think SSDT-ALS0.aml will work

I changed SMBIOS to MacBookPro13,1
Removed the AppleBacklightFixUp.kext

Still the brightness slider is not available.
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
23,276
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
My laptop does not have ambient light sensor so I don't think SSDT-ALS0.aml will work

I changed SMBIOS to MacBookPro13,1
Removed the AppleBacklightFixUp.kext

Still the brightness slider is not available.
zip and upload your OC folder
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
23,276
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
missing ALS0.aml

your kexts needs updating

00001B19 would be a better ig-platform-id

add a:
device-id -> Data -> 1B190000

also add model -> string -> Intel HD Graphics 530

example of config.plist from my guide attached
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    30.3 KB · Views: 12
Joined
May 4, 2021
Messages
39
Motherboard
HP 820D
CPU
i7-6700HQ
Graphics
HD 530
missing ALS0.aml

your kexts needs updating

00001B19 would be a better ig-platform-id

add a:
device-id -> Data -> 1B190000

also add model -> string -> Intel HD Graphics 530

example of config.plist from my guide attached
Can you please tell me which kexts need to be updated.

I have updated the platform id like you suggested.

Should I first reboot and see if everything works or wait until. you suggest the kext updates
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
23,276
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Can you please tell me which kexts need to be updated.

I have updated the platform id like you suggested.

Should I first reboot and see if everything works or wait until. you suggest the kext updates
use hackintool, that can scan and download the kexts for you
 
Top