Contribute
Register

Bottom of dock/screen getting clipped

Joined
Nov 28, 2017
Messages
33
Motherboard
MSI Z370I Pro Gaming Carbon AC ITX
CPU
i7-8700K 3.7Ghz
Graphics
Integrated
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I was able to get High Sierra installed and successfully booted on my MSI Z370I/i7 8700K 3.7Ghz Hackintosh, but the bottom of the screen (and dock) are getting clipped on my display, which is an Acer S277HK 4K monitor.

To post an image here, I took a screen grab, but it actually captured the entire screen and dock without any clipping. So I had to manually create the attached example to show what I'm seeing. It's certainly not a deal-breaker, but it is annoying!

I've checked all of the settings on the monitor's OSD, but there wasn't a setting for height/width/positioning, as you might find back the cathode ray monitor days.
 

Attachments

Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
6,998
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
HD 4000+GT 710
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I was able to get High Sierra installed and successfully booted on my MSI Z370I/i7 8700K 3.7Ghz Hackintosh, but the bottom of the screen (and dock) are getting clipped on my display, which is an Acer S277HK 4K monitor.

To post an image here, I took a screen grab, but it actually captured the entire screen and dock without any clipping. So I had to manually create the attached example to show what I'm seeing. It's certainly not a deal-breaker, but it is annoying!

I've checked all of the settings on the monitor's OSD, but there wasn't a setting for height/width/positioning, as you might find back the cathode ray monitor days.
  • I have uploaded edited image of your Desktop screen.
  • Are you saying the total side to side length (Width) of your Dock is smaller than you are accustomed to see?
  • If that is the case, see my edited portion of your Dock with an arrow showing a loupe and a vertical line ?
  • If you drag that line, it will show how you can resize the dock.
  • If you really want to know how it works, Click "System Preferences. Dock> Size" and move slider to the Right to increase. [See uploaded image]
 

Attachments

Joined
Nov 28, 2017
Messages
33
Motherboard
MSI Z370I Pro Gaming Carbon AC ITX
CPU
i7-8700K 3.7Ghz
Graphics
Integrated
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
  • I have uploaded edited image of your Desktop screen.
  • Are you saying the total side to side length (Width) of your Dock is smaller than you are accustomed to see?
  • If that is the case, see my edited portion of your Dock with an arrow showing a loupe and a vertical line ?
  • If you drag that line, it will show how you can resize the dock.
  • If you really want to know how it works, Click "System Preferences. Dock> Size" and move slider to the Right to increase. [See uploaded image]
Thanks for the reply, but...the settings have no effect whatsoever (as a matter of fact, I set the dock to ‘hide’ so as not to see only the top half of it showing. As indicated by the screen capture, the OS is ‘sending’ the full desktop and dock, but it’s just not being displayed properly.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
6,998
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
HD 4000+GT 710
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thanks for the reply, but...the settings have no effect whatsoever (as a matter of fact, I set the dock to ‘hide’ so as not to see only the top half of it showing. As indicated by the screen capture, the OS is ‘sending’ the full desktop and dock, but it’s just not being displayed properly.
  • Do you want to try the terminal command and see if that will fix any corrupt files:
  • Launch Terminal and type and ENTER
killall Dock [ENTER]
  • reboot after this and see.
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2017
Messages
33
Motherboard
MSI Z370I Pro Gaming Carbon AC ITX
CPU
i7-8700K 3.7Ghz
Graphics
Integrated
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
  • Launch Terminal and type and ENTER
killall Dock [ENTER]
  • reboot after this and see.
Unfortunately I tried, but it didn’t fix the issue. I’m guessing it’s likely an issue either related to the integrated graphics, or a non-user adjustable calibration issue with the monitor. I’m going to try another monitor tomorrow, but guessing that doing so may make the problem disappear. If it doesn’t, I think that might point towards a GPU issue.
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2017
Messages
33
Motherboard
MSI Z370I Pro Gaming Carbon AC ITX
CPU
i7-8700K 3.7Ghz
Graphics
Integrated
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
According to the link below, this seems this is an overscan issue. Unfortunately, my Display Preferences panel lacks the controls shown on Apple's page. I wonder if there is a monitor definition file that I need to add, or something else to allow me to make the necessary adjustments.

If anyone has an ideas, I'd appreciate any and all suggestions!

https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT202763
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2017
Messages
33
Motherboard
MSI Z370I Pro Gaming Carbon AC ITX
CPU
i7-8700K 3.7Ghz
Graphics
Integrated
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
In an effort to resolve this issue, I tried SwitchResX, but its settings are so obscure as to make it impossible to determine how to adjust the screen image, if that's even possible.

When first turning the monitor on, the illumination (active pixels) extends the bottom edge of the screen (within 1/32" of the bezel). The attached diagram illustrates what's happening.

overscan.jpg
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2013
Messages
34
Motherboard
MSI Z270 Gaming M5
CPU
i5-7600K
Graphics
GTX 1070
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I was able to get High Sierra installed and successfully booted on my MSI Z370I/i7 8700K 3.7Ghz Hackintosh, but the bottom of the screen (and dock) are getting clipped on my display, which is an Acer S277HK 4K monitor.

To post an image here, I took a screen grab, but it actually captured the entire screen and dock without any clipping. So I had to manually create the attached example to show what I'm seeing. It's certainly not a deal-breaker, but it is annoying!

I've checked all of the settings on the monitor's OSD, but there wasn't a setting for height/width/positioning, as you might find back the cathode ray monitor days.
May I ask if you managed to get your mainboard working fine with MacOS. Am looking into an update using that same mini its mainboard but can't find any threads yet on the net. Is everything working or did you experience something that did not?
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2012
Messages
1
Motherboard
ASUS X79
CPU
i7
Graphics
HD 6970
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
were you able to resolve this issue? I have the same problem.
 
Top