Contribute
Register

boot0: GPT, boot0: test, boot0:test, boot0:done - since migration assistant

Joined
Jun 4, 2012
Messages
32
Motherboard
P55A-UD4
CPU
i5-650
Graphics
EVGA GT 520
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi guys,

I recently got hold of a 2008 iMac 20" Aluminium for cheap with a faulty PSU.
Repaired the PSU and now have a fully functioning iMac for MEGA cheap.

Decided to migrate my user account from my hackintosh to the iMac using migration assistant and all went well.

Since then, and since I have restarted the hackintosh, I get the following error on boot:

boot0: GPT
boot0: test
boot0: test
boot0: done_

I have tried the fix by copying boot1h from a USB via terminal from a boot USB, but still no joy.

It boots up perfectly fine if I plug my USB install disk in and select the local partition.

Anybody any ideas?

It was working 100% until I migrated the account across to the iMac. Bloody genuine Macs! lol
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2012
Messages
32
Motherboard
P55A-UD4
CPU
i5-650
Graphics
EVGA GT 520
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Anybody any ideas?

I've tried re-installing Chimera since manually transferring the file as well to no avail.

Seems most people get the boot0:error message where as I am getting boot0:done_ .
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2012
Messages
11
Motherboard
Asus P7H57D-V EVO
CPU
Intel Core i7-880
Graphics
Radeon HD 6870
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I am getting the same error too again after using the migration assistant, I can boot from my install USB no problem. I have also tried booting direct from a Chimera USB but it complains that it can't see 'mach_kernel' from any of my Hackintosh boot drives... Which makes no sense (as I am typing this from my main Hackintosh boot partition after using my install USB) as the kernel is obviously there..... o_O

Steve
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2012
Messages
11
Motherboard
Asus P7H57D-V EVO
CPU
Intel Core i7-880
Graphics
Radeon HD 6870
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
It's obvious yes... it's also a different problem, maybe change your name to 'reading is your friend' ???
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,929
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
I am getting the same error too again after using the migration assistant, I can boot from my install USB no problem. I have also tried booting direct from a Chimera USB but it complains that it can't see 'mach_kernel' from any of my Hackintosh boot drives... Which makes no sense (as I am typing this from my main Hackintosh boot partition after using my install USB) as the kernel is obviously there..... o_O

Steve
Check your HDD partition for mach_kernel. When you boot from USB, the boot loader loads it from the USB, not your HDD...
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2012
Messages
11
Motherboard
Asus P7H57D-V EVO
CPU
Intel Core i7-880
Graphics
Radeon HD 6870
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Just checked and it was there but was a different size to the version on my (Unibeast) USB. So I replaced the HDD version for the USB version, but I still get the same error. I think it's a Chimera issue but I don't know what's different from installing Chimera from the app or via Unibeast, any ideas?
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2012
Messages
11
Motherboard
Asus P7H57D-V EVO
CPU
Intel Core i7-880
Graphics
Radeon HD 6870
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Ok I've been trying other things to no avail, tried Clover - same problem, then re-installed Chimera hoping that it would have flushed any bad bootloader files that Chimera re-install wasn't touching - again no joy. This leads me to believe that Chimera/Clover are/were working just fine and the problem is higher up the boot order, alas my Mac booting knowledge isn't as great as other OS's here and I'm unsure the exact boot process after bootloader (to kernel?) hand-off.

Anybody got any ideas? Or can anyone point me at further (factual) reading (I say factual as there are a lot opinions passed off as facts on the interwebs these days)....

Ta muchly
Steve
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2013
Messages
23
Motherboard
GA-Z77-UD5H
CPU
i5-3570k
Graphics
Sapphire Radeon HD7970 GHz Vapor-X
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I have the same exact problem. Really hoping somebody can offer a little insight. This is extremely frustrating.


EDIT: holy tits I think I finally got it working!! I don't even know why, or what I did differently, but here is what worked for me:

1. Booted into "Mountain Lion" via USB stick
2. Downloaded and installed Chameleon Wizard from here
3. Installed "Boot0md" to my Mountain Lion disk as shown here:
Screen Shot 2013-06-11 at 11.35.01 AM.png
4. Run Multibeast and install/upgrade Chimera v2.0.1 r2109 like so:
Screen Shot 2013-06-11 at 11.37.46 AM.png
5. Reboot from SSD installation and voila!


I don't know why that worked, because I had tried to install the first option "Boot0hfs" several times before and it didn't work. Maybe it was the Chimera step? I really have no idea, but I'm a little more happy now. Hope this works for you too.
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2012
Messages
11
Motherboard
Asus P7H57D-V EVO
CPU
Intel Core i7-880
Graphics
Radeon HD 6870
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Tried the above and no joy still, so I 'fixed it' by a re-install and restore from TM and the re-installed Chimera... Not really a fix but it works, also random this solved my presumably unrelated (but obviously not) iMessage problem.
 
Top