boot0 Error: The Official Guide

Discussion in 'General Help' started by MacMan, Jul 23, 2012.

  1. MacMan

    MacMan Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,689
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770K
    Graphics:
    GTX 670
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 23, 2012 at 2:46 AM #1
    MacMan

    MacMan Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,689
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770K
    Graphics:
    GTX 670
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    boot0.jpg
    The Issue:
    Upon successful installation, boot from hard drive results in this:

    Loading Operating System …

    boot0: GPT
    boot0: test
    boot0: test
    boot0: GPT
    boot0: test
    boot0: test
    boot0: error


    The Actual Problem:
    With disk drives getting larger and larger manufacturers have had to change the default block size from 512 bytes to 4,096 bytes. These new drives are known as "Advanced Format" or 4K drives. Initially this was only seen on drives larger than 1 TB but will soon be on all drives. As part of this change there is an issue with OS X writing the boot helper code to these drives when booted from the drive. Because of this they require a workaround to boot on their own.

    Solution 1: Use UniBeast
    Pros: Easy- OS X Only
    Cons: Requires use of the Terminal and UniBeast drive.

    How To Do it:
    1. Install using UniBeast
    2. Boot new installation using UniBeast created USB.
    3. Run MultiBeast and install as normal
    4. Reboot system back into OS X installer.
    5. Run Disk Utility and unmount the drive you installed OS X on. Right click on the volume and select Unmount.
    6. Launch Terminal and execute the following command:

    Code (Text):
    dd if=/usr/standalone/i386/boot1h of=/dev/disk0s2
     
    7. Exit Terminal
    8. Reboot Normally

    NOTE: The above instructions are based on OS X being installed to a hard drive connected to SATA port 0. If you are using a different port you will need to get the drive device name from Disk Utility by selecting the volume and clicking Info.

    Solution 2: Use a SATA > USB Adapter
    Pros: Easy- OS X Only
    Cons: Need an additional functional Mac or Hack.

    How To Do it:
    1. Install using UniBeast using System 1.
    2. After installation, shut down, unplug the SATA drive from System 1, and plug into System 2 via USB
    3. Boot System 2
    4. Run MultiBeast, targeting System 1's drive
    5. Unplug the System 1 drive, plug back into System 1, and boot without any issues.

    ref=dp_image_0.jpeg
    SATA/PATA/IDE Drive to USB 2.0 Adapter Converter Cable
    with AC Power Adapter for 2.5 / 3.5 Inch Hard Drive / Optical Drive

    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001OORMVQ/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8
    [amazon-uk]http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B001OORMVQ/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8[/amazon-uk]

    An extremely useful extra for any custom build. Hook a hard drive up to another working system via USB. Also use to convert a internal optical drive into an external USB optical drive.
     

    Attached Files:

    • boot0.jpg  (18.6 KB, 128,515 views)
    • ref=dp_image_0.jpeg  (15.8 KB, 127,583 views)
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 29, 2016
  2. corebuilder

    corebuilder

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    138
    Mobo:
    HP ProBook 4540s
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 3 i5-3210M / 2.5 GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000 Graphics | Native Mode: 1366 x 768(p) (59.989Hz
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Aug 19, 2012 at 7:44 PM #2
    corebuilder

    corebuilder

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    138
    Mobo:
    HP ProBook 4540s
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 3 i5-3210M / 2.5 GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000 Graphics | Native Mode: 1366 x 768(p) (59.989Hz
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    thanks trying it now
     
  3. oqunnn

    oqunnn

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77-DS3H
    CPU:
    i3-2130 Processor
    Graphics:
    ASUS - GT430 GDDR3 1GB
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 19, 2012 at 11:05 PM #3
    oqunnn

    oqunnn

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77-DS3H
    CPU:
    i3-2130 Processor
    Graphics:
    ASUS - GT430 GDDR3 1GB
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Article: boot0 Error: The Official Guide

    please video :(
     
  4. spendy96

    spendy96

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    macbook pro
    CPU:
    intel core i5
    Graphics:
    nvidia
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 20, 2012 at 2:22 PM #4
    spendy96

    spendy96

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    macbook pro
    CPU:
    intel core i5
    Graphics:
    nvidia
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    what do you mean with unmount the disk
     
  5. mypepperho

    mypepperho

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Aug 21, 2012 at 5:11 AM #5
    mypepperho

    mypepperho

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    After the unmount, the /Volumes doesn't exist anymore. The dd command won't work. I got an error saying no such file or dir.
    If I don't unmount the volume, dd gives me a resource busy error. Please help.
     
  6. Rothko

    Rothko

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Messages:
    136
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77-DS3H
    CPU:
    3570k
    Graphics:
    GTX 660
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 22, 2012 at 1:07 PM #6
    Rothko

    Rothko

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Messages:
    136
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77-DS3H
    CPU:
    3570k
    Graphics:
    GTX 660
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Article: boot0 Error: The Official Guide

    Hmm, me too. Tried several times, Unhappy face.
     
  7. stevesod

    stevesod

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Mobo:
    gigabyte z170th gaming
    CPU:
    corei7
    Graphics:
    nvidia 980ti
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Aug 23, 2012 at 7:29 AM #7
    stevesod

    stevesod

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Mobo:
    gigabyte z170th gaming
    CPU:
    corei7
    Graphics:
    nvidia 980ti
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Article: boot0 Error: The Official Guide

    just try the other method, boot into a working system then run multibeast set the target drive to your "boot0 error" drive that is connected via usb, after installation connect back to your system... works like magic.
     
  8. Rothko

    Rothko

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Messages:
    136
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77-DS3H
    CPU:
    3570k
    Graphics:
    GTX 660
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 23, 2012 at 4:50 PM #8
    Rothko

    Rothko

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Messages:
    136
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77-DS3H
    CPU:
    3570k
    Graphics:
    GTX 660
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Article: boot0 Error: The Official Guide

    You know somewhere it says read everything before posting....Im going to start doing that, I saw a load of data connectors on the second method and just freaked out, with an old external caddy..job done. Also the major thing for me was resetting the power patch thingy. Thank you stevesod...I like you.
     
    rotherford likes this.
  9. fredthesam

    fredthesam

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Mobo:
    10.11.5/ 10.8.2/ 10.7.5
    CPU:
    i7 2600K 3.4 GHz / i7 870 2.93 GHz / i7 920 2.67 GHz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte Radeon HD 6850 / Galaxy GeForce 8400 GS / ATI Radeon HD 4600 series
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Aug 24, 2012 at 8:04 AM #9
    fredthesam

    fredthesam

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Mobo:
    10.11.5/ 10.8.2/ 10.7.5
    CPU:
    i7 2600K 3.4 GHz / i7 870 2.93 GHz / i7 920 2.67 GHz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte Radeon HD 6850 / Galaxy GeForce 8400 GS / ATI Radeon HD 4600 series
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    One thing to try first if you can is boot the system with unibeast then use multibeast to install/reinstall the boot loader to the target drive. I had this error happen on a couple of lion installs after cloning a backup version of 10.7.4 back to my regular launch drive after making changes that didn't work out. Installed boot loader, rebooted like normal.
     
  10. GoldcapX

    GoldcapX

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    Mountain Lion 10.8.4
    CPU:
    Ggabyte Z77X-UP5 TH - i7 3770k
    Graphics:
    Geoforce GTX 560 TI
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Aug 25, 2012 at 1:44 PM #10
    GoldcapX

    GoldcapX

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    Mountain Lion 10.8.4
    CPU:
    Ggabyte Z77X-UP5 TH - i7 3770k
    Graphics:
    Geoforce GTX 560 TI
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Just a note about Mountain Lion, I'm not able to get this to work on a GA-Z77X with a Seagate Barracuda 1 TB. I get the awful Mac Multilingual restart screen. Gonna just buy a smaller drive and startup from that instead.
     

Share This Page