Contribute
Register

Boot picker and Chime not working Opencore on Catalina 10.15.4

LSP

Joined
Feb 11, 2011
Messages
97
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 th
CPU
i7 6700K
Graphics
RX580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I recently added Opencore Gui and Bootchime to my Catalina 10.15.4 build using OpenCore 0.5.8 on
Board: Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 TH
i7 6700 K
Sapphire RX580 8GB
Original Apple Extreme on PCi adaptor
Samsung 970 500GB
After updating settings I reboot and clear NVRAM via the selection in the GUI
and I get bootchime and all the correct icons in the picker using the esc key. It boots to OS and when I set the startup drive in Preferences and then reboot I lose the access to the picker and lose the bootchime. I just boots straight to my startup drive. If I reset picker to Builtin I can reset NVRAM and the same problem is repeatable. I cant figure out why it loses the settings.
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2012
Messages
2,448
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Pro WFI
CPU
3.6 GHz 8-Core Intel Core i7
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi - What fork OC are you using NDK's Fork or official Opencore? I may have the solution as I have both versions with everything working including Bootchime. I can post both EFI Folders so you can understand what is needed. Reading your post again it seems the NVRAM is not retaining the settings on restarts. I don't know if the Z170 is NVRAM native or not, my Z390 is not and my EFI Folders are built to overcome this flaw.

One more thing, my CFG (MSR) is unlocked in the BIOS but wether Locked or unlocked must be reflected in the config.plist but like I said, I can post the two EFI Folders so you can compare.
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot 2020-05-09 at 09.50.17.png
    Screenshot 2020-05-09 at 09.50.17.png
    29.9 KB · Views: 195

LSP

Joined
Feb 11, 2011
Messages
97
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 th
CPU
i7 6700K
Graphics
RX580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi - What fork OC are you using NDK's Fork or official Opencore? I may have the solution as I have both versions with everything working including Bootchime. I can post both EFI Folders so you can understand what is needed. Reading your post again it seems the NVRAM is not retaining the settings on restarts. I don't know if the Z170 is NVRAM native or not, my Z390 is not and my EFI Folders are built to overcome this flaw.

One more thing, my CFG (MSR) is unlocked in the BIOS but wether Locked or unlocked must be reflected in the config.plist but like I said, I can post the two EFI Folders so you can compare.
I’m using official release version 0.5.8
CFG(MSR) is unlocked in the bios via bios hack. NVRAM is native on my board.
I would very much appreciate your posting your EFI
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2011
Messages
353
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare TRX40
CPU
Ryzen Threadrippper 3970x
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
start fresh with a new EFI folder on a spare usb drive
build it from scratch including the config.plist
do not log into iServices until you fix SMBIOS - platform
update to latest kexts and make sure you not using an old driver
The APFSDriverLoader.efi driver is no longer needed
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2012
Messages
2,448
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Pro WFI
CPU
3.6 GHz 8-Core Intel Core i7
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I’m using official release version 0.5.8
CFG(MSR) is unlocked in the bios via bios hack. NVRAM is native on my board.
I would very much appreciate your posting your EFI

Here it is minus personal data - Every thing works with this folder on my rig i.e iMsg/F-Time, iCloud, App Store, Apple TV also Patched for Hot Plugging Drives on the fly and startup Bootchime.
 

Attachments

  • EFI.zip
    4.8 MB · Views: 163

LSP

Joined
Feb 11, 2011
Messages
97
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 th
CPU
i7 6700K
Graphics
RX580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Here it is minus personal data - Every thing works with this folder on my rig i.e iMsg/F-Time, iCloud, App Store, Apple TV also Patched for Hot Plugging Drives on the fly and startup Bootchime.
Thank you! Hopefully oit will provide some insight. My board , CPU and System are different (iMac17,1 Z170X and Skylake i7 6700K so some setting including audio not the same.
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2012
Messages
2,448
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Pro WFI
CPU
3.6 GHz 8-Core Intel Core i7
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thank you! Hopefully oit will provide some insight. My board , CPU and System are different (iMac17,1 Z170X and Skylake i7 6700K so some setting including audio not the same.

Yes the injected Audio codec value will be different but the structure of the Audio section will be exactly the same. When you do inject the Drivers and values don't forget to clear NVRAM at reboot.
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2015
Messages
210
Motherboard
P5WE0
CPU
i5-2450M
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Yes the injected Audio codec value will be different but the structure of the Audio section will be exactly the same. When you do inject the Drivers and values don't forget to clear NVRAM at reboot.

Thanks Eddie. Is BootChimeDxe.efi necessary? I didn't see that listed on the OpenCore guide for getting the chime working.
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2012
Messages
2,448
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Pro WFI
CPU
3.6 GHz 8-Core Intel Core i7
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks Eddie. Is BootChimeDxe.efi necessary? I didn't see that listed on the OpenCore guide for getting the chime working.

Absolutely not as a matter of fact I think Apple dropped the BootChime feature with the new Macs but I had it in Clover and kind of missed it also to prove to myself I can get it to work in OC :)
 

LSP

Joined
Feb 11, 2011
Messages
97
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 th
CPU
i7 6700K
Graphics
RX580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yes the injected Audio codec value will be different but the structure of the Audio section will be exactly the same. When you do inject the Drivers and values don't forget to clear NVRAM at reboot.
Thanks again esafeddie! Its finally working. I discovered a typo in config. One letter off (fat finger) and once I corrected it all good. Also looking at yours allowed me to tweak mine so its now a little faster on boot
 
Top