Contribute
Register

Boot life is like a dice game. Dell T3600, Sierra 10.12

Joined
Oct 22, 2013
Messages
23
Motherboard
DELL T3600
CPU
Xeon E5-1650
Graphics
NVIDIA QUADRO 2000
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
So, thanks for entertaining all the noob questions. I've learned a lot about clover, which was new to me. So it wasn't for nothing.

I am in an interesting position. With the stock machine, I have dual displays via displayport on the quadro, Sleep, as well as the on board ethernet working.

I can boot in a clean, stable 10.12. Sounds great right? Well, not so fast. I cannot seem to boot into it consistently. It's a total crap shoot.

Either

1) Flawless 10.12
2) A sudden reboot, which I believe is right before the GUI would launch.
3) The no smoking sign, which under the hood is a variant of the below:

Error allocating 0x205b pages at 0x0000000010a79000 alloc type 2
Error loading kernel cache (0x9)
Boot failed, sleeping for 10 seconds before exiting...


Working with that error lead me to try alot of things related to the OSXAptioFix, until I realized that unlike everyone else my messages don't show anything about OSXAPtio before the Error Allocating. Just that.

Any direction/advice to how to investigate boot logs to find out what exactly is causing this pain. Obviously, I still require the assistance of those smarter/more experienced than I am.

The fact that it boots so nicely, when it does makes me extra committed to the last mile.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance.

edit: I just read that the bootflag debug=0x100 might stop and hang instead of auto reboot, so hopefully that will dig up another breadcrumb to follow.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,028
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
So, thanks for entertaining all the noob questions. I've learned a lot about clover, which was new to me. So it wasn't for nothing.

I am in an interesting position. With the stock machine, I have dual displays via displayport on the quadro, Sleep, as well as the on board ethernet working.

I can boot in a clean, stable 10.12. Sounds great right? Well, not so fast. I cannot seem to boot into it consistently. It's a total crap shoot.

Either

1) Flawless 10.12
2) A sudden reboot, which I believe is right before the GUI would launch.
3) The no smoking sign, which under the hood is a variant of the below:

Error allocating 0x205b pages at 0x0000000010a79000 alloc type 2
Error loading kernel cache (0x9)
Boot failed, sleeping for 10 seconds before exiting...


Working with that error lead me to try alot of things related to the OSXAptioFix, until I realized that unlike everyone else my messages don't show anything about OSXAPtio before the Error Allocating. Just that.

Any direction/advice to how to investigate boot logs to find out what exactly is causing this pain. Obviously, I still require the assistance of those smarter/more experienced than I am.

The fact that it boots so nicely, when it does makes me extra committed to the last mile.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance.

edit: I just read that the bootflag debug=0x100 might stop and hang instead of auto reboot, so hopefully that will dig up another breadcrumb to follow.
Do you have config.plist/RtVariables/CsrActiveConfig=0x67?
UEFI boot or legacy?
config.plist/Boot/Arguments with 'slide=0'?
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2013
Messages
23
Motherboard
DELL T3600
CPU
Xeon E5-1650
Graphics
NVIDIA QUADRO 2000
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Do you have config.plist/RtVariables/CsrActiveConfig=0x67?
UEFI boot or legacy?
config.plist/Boot/Arguments with 'slide=0'?
I do have it as 0x67, no change.
I had it as legacy, but changed it to UEFI. no change

This is the first Im reading config.plist/Boot/Arguments with 'slide=0' . I will try that next.

Thank you for the prompt reply!
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,028
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
I do have it as 0x67, no change.
I had it as legacy, but changed it to UEFI. no change

This is the first Im reading config.plist/Boot/Arguments with 'slide=0' . I will try that next.

Thank you for the prompt reply!
If UEFI, don't forget OsxAptioFixDrv-64.efi (use OsxAptioFix2Drv-64.efi only if OsxAptioFixDrv-64.efi not working).
Note: OsxAptioFix2Drv, OsxAptioFixDrv, and OsxLowMemFix are mutually exclusive. Use only one.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2013
Messages
23
Motherboard
DELL T3600
CPU
Xeon E5-1650
Graphics
NVIDIA QUADRO 2000
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
2) A sudden reboot, which I believe is right before the GUI would launch.
3) The no smoking sign, which under the hood is a variant of the below:

Error allocating 0x205b pages at 0x0000000010a79000 alloc type 2
Error loading kernel cache (0x9)
Boot failed, sleeping for 10 seconds before exiting...

So I think the Slide=0 may have resolved #3 Tried to look up what that does exactly, and seems pretty intense. But, Thank you!

Im still having a sudden reboot sometimes (at LEAST 50% of the time, actually more)

My current boot args are: -v slide=0 dart=0 npci=0x3000 debug=0x100

Shouldn't the debug=0x100 flag keep the problem on screen rather than quickly whisking it away and rebooting?

Is there a way on the times it boots properly to see the last attempted bootlog?

It looks like the last line starts before it reboots begins with AppleLPC, maybe HIDLegacy SHIM 2

This is definitely a little out of my reach at the moment. AppleLPC would be SMC related? SHIM2? USB keyboard/mouse?

Thanks in advance for your genius.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,028
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
So I think the Slide=0 may have resolved #3 Tried to look up what that does exactly, and seems pretty intense. But, Thank you!

Im still having a sudden reboot sometimes (at LEAST 50% of the time, actually more)

My current boot args are: -v slide=0 dart=0 npci=0x3000 debug=0x100

Shouldn't the debug=0x100 flag keep the problem on screen rather than quickly whisking it away and rebooting?

Is there a way on the times it boots properly to see the last attempted bootlog?

It looks like the last line starts before it reboots begins with AppleLPC, maybe HIDLegacy SHIM 2

This is definitely a little out of my reach at the moment. AppleLPC would be SMC related? SHIM2? USB keyboard/mouse?

Thanks in advance for your genius.
No more ideas without complete details...

Read FAQ, "Problem Reporting"
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.164990/
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2013
Messages
23
Motherboard
DELL T3600
CPU
Xeon E5-1650
Graphics
NVIDIA QUADRO 2000
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
No more ideas without complete details...
Ah, forgive me. Former lurker, still adjusting.

So now it doesnt reboot, it only hangs at a black screen. Could be because I turned on the debug flag. I video'ed and screen shot the hang (attached) and also attached is a copy of my EFI\Clover folder sans Themes, in a .zip file. - Not sure if this issue would classify as can't boot. I think so, since it can't boot sometimes. -- I will post the patchmatic, and the rest for can boot issues when I get home later.

edit: Oops, the attached zip was just a copy from the mounted EFI in clover configurator. Not from boot after pressing F4 and F2. Is that okay?
 

Attachments

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,028
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Ah, forgive me. Former lurker, still adjusting.

So now it doesnt reboot, it only hangs at a black screen. Could be because I turned on the debug flag. I video'ed and screen shot the hang (attached) and also attached is a copy of my EFI\Clover folder sans Themes, in a .zip file. - Not sure if this issue would classify as can't boot. I think so, since it can't boot sometimes. -- I will post the patchmatic, and the rest for can boot issues when I get home later.

edit: Oops, the attached zip was just a copy from the mounted EFI in clover configurator. Not from boot after pressing F4 and F2. Is that okay?
Why so many OsxAptioFix files?
OsxAptioFixDrv-64.efi
OsxAptioFix2Drv.efi
OsxAptioFix2Drv-64.efi

Looks like some mistake in naming and plus it is not valid to have all these files...
Each one is mutually exclusive.
Use only one.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2013
Messages
23
Motherboard
DELL T3600
CPU
Xeon E5-1650
Graphics
NVIDIA QUADRO 2000
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Why so many OsxAptioFix files?
Apparently I am an idiot. I think when trying to fix the 'error loading kernel cache' issue that slide=0 fixed I was experimenting with Fix, Fix2 and Fix2Drv-Free from

https://nickwoodhams.com/x99-hackintosh-osxaptiofixdrv-allocaterelocblock-error-update/

It got confused. I feel like clover configurator wasn't deleting everything, or maybe my renaming screwed things up.

Thank you very much for your help. It boots every time now. However, I lost my dual display. :-/

I also noticed, sleep was acting a little differently, and when I dug a little deeper, I found that somehow in fixing things, I made some things worse. My config.plist is now all but completely bare. Strange to me that ethernet still works, as that wasnt working after the sierra install. Maybe because thats a kext?

Obviously a fair trade off for a system that boots every time, but now I am a little on eggshells about how to move forward. Ideally I could have two displays for my audio work, and sleep is always welcome. Any advice on how to approach these things moving forward.

Also, do you have a recommend on software to make an image just in case I move too far in the wrong direction trying while 'fixing' things.

Thanks for all of your assistance/attention. Sorry to be so much trouble.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,028
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Also, do you have a recommend on software to make an image just in case I move too far in the wrong direction trying while 'fixing' things.
Disk Utility can make an image.
And EFI/Clover is just a normal folder, image not necessary... simple copy/paste for backup.
 
Top