Contribute
Register

Boot failure Sometime (Prohibited sign / Couldn't allocate runtime area)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
24
Motherboard
Zotac H77ITX-B-E
CPU
Core i3-3225
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hi,

I build a new Hackintosh from scratch :
- MB : ASRock Z170M-ITX/ac (Z170 Chipset)
- CPU : Intel Core i3 6300
- RAM : 32GB DDR4 2400Mhz
- SSD : Samsung 850 PRO 256Gb
- 4K Screen : Viewsonic VP2780-4K (plug with DisplayPort)

I install OS X El Capitan 10.11.5 :
- Bios settings (Legacy USB Support: UEFI Only / VT-d: Disabled / Secure Boot: Disabled / Fast Boot: Disabled / CSM : Disabled)
- Build bootable USB Kay with UniBeast 6.2.0 fixed with this
- Post install with Multibeast 8.2.2 (Sound : Realtek ALC892, USB : Increase Max Port Limit, Graphic : Intel HD 530, System D. : Mac Pro 3,1 )
- Modifiy configp.list for 32GB RAM support

I got this Problem :
- Sometimes all work fines : system book and I have 4K image, sound, etc. (don't need wifi, bluetouth or 2nd network card)
- Sometimes I get immediatly "Prohibited Sign"

So I try to boot several times in verbose mode to get the error and get this :
Code:
OsxAptioFix2Drv: starting overrides for /System\Library\CoreServices\boot.efi
using reloc block: no, hibernate wake: no
Error allocating 0x11c21 pages at 0x0000000xxxxxx alloc type 2
Couldn't allocate runtime area
Boot failed, sleeping for 10 seconds before exiting...

Problems seems to come especialy when I reboot from OS X (Apple menu and then "reboot").

Thanks a lot for your help !
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2013
Messages
414
Motherboard
Asus Prime X299-Deluxe
CPU
i9-7900X
Graphics
Radeon VII
I get the same periodic error on boot up as well. I get it even if I haven't booted Windows for a long time. Meaning I'll used OS X one day, shut down, come back the next day and get the symbol. Turn of the computer and turn it back on and it boots fine. Started doing this without having done anything to the system that I can think of except for updating DaVinci Resolve from 12.3.2 to 12.5 beta. That's all. I have OS X 10.11.4 installed.
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2011
Messages
32
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 7
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti
I have the fix for this! Not sure if you've already seen it in my thread you responded to earlier, but here's how to fix this.

Download EFI Mounter, select the correct disk (it will tell you what number your system disk is, so just match the first digit from the list) and mount the EFI partition. Open it up, and go to EFI/CLOVER/drivers64UEFI folder, remove the OsxAptioFix2Drv-64.efi (some users might have OsxAptioFixDrv-64.efi), and replace it with the OsxAptioFix2Drv-free2000.efi file from this link:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B2-g_coTRnPnaU53Z1F6Qm5OeXM/view?pref=2&pli=1

I just tried this and it seemed to solve the issue.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
24
Motherboard
Zotac H77ITX-B-E
CPU
Core i3-3225
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hi thank for your answers.

I try your solution @seanparkerfilms but I still have exactly the same problem :(
(I rename your file and place it in EFI/CLOVER/drivers64UEFI folder with the same name after having delete old one)

EDIT : I modify some bios settings and it seems to work better (to verified...)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 3, 2011
Messages
32
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 7
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti
Hi thank for your answers.

I try your solution @seanparkerfilms but I still have exactly the same problem :(
(I rename your file and place it in EFI/CLOVER/drivers64UEFI folder with the same name after having delete old one)

EDIT : I modify some bios settings and it seems to work better (to verified...)

Oh, I never renamed that file. I just dropped it into that folder as-is. Not sure if it will make a difference, but I'd try that.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
24
Motherboard
Zotac H77ITX-B-E
CPU
Core i3-3225
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Problem come back :( :( :( I do nothing, just install some software like printer driver or iTune update....

I have the feeling that problem come from RAM in a way :
- I have 32GB (2x16GB) DDR4
- Problem seems to not happen after I unplug the computer and then RAM must be cleared.
- Problem seems to happen very often when I OSX I restart the computer.

I notice that one time, I had this 2 top lines before the error message :
Code:
Freeing low memory (up to 0x20000000)...
Result = 14

In my mind there is a bug in OsxAptio with some config (Z190 chipset ? DDR4 ? 32GB RAM ?)

Maybe (?), something interessant there :
https://sourceforge.net/p/cloverefiboot/tickets/125/?page=8
https://nickwoodhams.com/x99-hackintosh-osxaptiofixdrv-allocaterelocblock-error-update/
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2013
Messages
414
Motherboard
Asus Prime X299-Deluxe
CPU
i9-7900X
Graphics
Radeon VII
When I occasionally have this happen it's mostly on cold boots, so it wouldn't be a RAM issue.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
24
Motherboard
Zotac H77ITX-B-E
CPU
Core i3-3225
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Bizarre, in my case, it is the opposite :
- Mostly I have this error (in verbose mode, else the prohibited sign) when I reboot
- Mostly I haven't it on cold boot, especially when I wait a long time before starting computer...

I have a wifi card connected which is useless for my usage, when I will have a moment, I will remove it and see if there is a difference.
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2016
Messages
5
CPU
NUC skull canyon - Skylake Core i7 CPU - 2.6Ghz - quad core
Graphics
Iris Pro graphics 580
I have a NUC skull canyon and it happens to me too.

9 times out of ten when I start/restart the computer I get the following:

error allocating xxx pages at xxx alloc type 2

also if I trie to connect to the NUC from another MAC using screen sharing, the NUC reboots or freezes.

files sharing works fine though
 

Attachments

  • screenshot.gif
    screenshot.gif
    111.1 KB · Views: 745
Joined
Jan 21, 2016
Messages
3
Motherboard
Eva x99 micro2
CPU
Intel Xeon e5 2620 v3
Graphics
Amd FirePro w7000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hi guys, having the same problem.

Here's my system:
Evga x99 micro2
Intel Xeon e5 2658 v3 qs
16gb adata ddr4
Samsung 850 Evo Sara m.2/ pice adapter
Amd FirePro w7000

Has anyone resolved this issue yet??
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top