BoomR's “Power UP” for 360/VR Production Build: GA-Z370 AORUS UG - i7 8700K - GA AORUS RX580

Discussion in 'Golden Builds' started by BoomR, Feb 9, 2018.

  1. Consigliere

    Consigliere

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    130
    Motherboard:
    Aorus z370 Gaming 5
    CPU:
    8700K
    Graphics:
    Aorus RX580 8GB
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Feb 14, 2018 at 10:47 PM #11
    Consigliere

    Consigliere

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    130
    Motherboard:
    Aorus z370 Gaming 5
    CPU:
    8700K
    Graphics:
    Aorus RX580 8GB
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro

    I will investigate more about the LEDs and report if I find a solution. Yes, the MB header idea was mentioned by OP. I only have the cpufan connected to the MB itself. The other ones are connected directly to PSU so I didn't know what to do with that answer. I guess I could completely disable the LED's but it is the revival of the Lavalamp. Mmmm:)

    I haven't decided to go TB on my next audio interface yet but it certainly gives more options since I need atleast 24x24 ins and outs. I have a LaCie USB3/TB2 drive though but i'm not sure if it's a good idea to get a TB3>TB2 adapter for that since I don't know if it actually improves the write/read speed since it's not a SSD. Also a bit worried about how well it will be recognised during startup because of the "TB hotswap problems".

    Ah so the NVRAM is only/mainly for NVIDIA users? I thought it also played a part for other things. Like if I have a system crash/reboot, it can keep the crashlog in memory despite the powerdown, among other things? @Stork too.

    Thanks a lot.
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2018
  2. Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    11,725
    Motherboard:
    ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO Z370
    CPU:
    i7-8700K
    Graphics:
    RX 580 Pulse 8GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Feb 14, 2018 at 10:50 PM #12
    Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    11,725
    Motherboard:
    ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO Z370
    CPU:
    i7-8700K
    Graphics:
    RX 580 Pulse 8GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I'm sure NVRAM is used for other things, too, but the main purpose for hackintoshes seems to be to keep settings for the Nvidia drivers across system shutdown/boot and reboots.
     
    Consigliere likes this.
  3. BoomR

    BoomR Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,165
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte AORUS Z370 Ultra Gaming
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-8700K
    Graphics:
    GA-AORUS RX580
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, Performa, Power Mac, Quadra
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Feb 15, 2018 at 4:07 AM #13
    BoomR

    BoomR Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,165
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte AORUS Z370 Ultra Gaming
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-8700K
    Graphics:
    GA-AORUS RX580
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, Performa, Power Mac, Quadra
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    I have a couple of these that I use on a regular basis, and have them connected via one of these. Pretty rock-solid performance while editing 4K/360 video. As I mentioned in my original post, for best success, set your Clover boot screen delay for like 10 seconds. That will give you time to connect any TB devices prior to continuing the boot process. So far that has **always** worked for me. Anything else & I get the white ghostbuster symbol about 1/3 of the time post-Clover boot screen (if I connect things while powered off, then boot up cold).
     
    Stork and Consigliere like this.
  4. yasir7734

    yasir7734

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Feb 15, 2018 at 3:18 PM #14
    yasir7734

    yasir7734

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    BoomR likes this.
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2018
  5. MrKapow

    MrKapow

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Motherboard:
    N/A
    CPU:
    N/A
    Graphics:
    N/A
    Feb 16, 2018 at 4:18 AM #15
    MrKapow

    MrKapow

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Motherboard:
    N/A
    CPU:
    N/A
    Graphics:
    N/A
    Have a question!

    I noticed your ram purchase was the DDR4 3600 but the motherboard you have only goes up to DDR4 2666 without overclocking. Did you have to change any settings in the BIOS for your RAM or did it work out of the box?

    Such a fantastic build. I will be building my first very similar to yours so its great to have such clear instructions regarding the thunderbolt.
     
    BoomR likes this.
  6. BoomR

    BoomR Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,165
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte AORUS Z370 Ultra Gaming
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-8700K
    Graphics:
    GA-AORUS RX580
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, Performa, Power Mac, Quadra
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Feb 16, 2018 at 5:19 AM #16
    BoomR

    BoomR Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,165
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte AORUS Z370 Ultra Gaming
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-8700K
    Graphics:
    GA-AORUS RX580
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, Performa, Power Mac, Quadra
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    It worked out of the box...i think because I made sure to set XMP to Profile 1 so mobo could manage that. I'll have to check to see what BIOS is showing for memory speed.
     
  7. MrKapow

    MrKapow

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Motherboard:
    N/A
    CPU:
    N/A
    Graphics:
    N/A
    Feb 16, 2018 at 7:18 AM #17
    MrKapow

    MrKapow

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Motherboard:
    N/A
    CPU:
    N/A
    Graphics:
    N/A
    That would be great! Thanks!
     
  8. Heinrich

    Heinrich

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2013
    Messages:
    61
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    3770K
    Graphics:
    2x Sapphire Radeon 7970 Dual-X 3GB GDDR5 OC
    Feb 17, 2018 at 2:05 AM #18
    Heinrich

    Heinrich

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2013
    Messages:
    61
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    3770K
    Graphics:
    2x Sapphire Radeon 7970 Dual-X 3GB GDDR5 OC
    Great build and description.

    What sort of TB peripherals are you using and what speeds are you seeing? I assume the HD speedtesting you did was for the m.2 ssd, right?
     
  9. BoomR

    BoomR Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,165
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte AORUS Z370 Ultra Gaming
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-8700K
    Graphics:
    GA-AORUS RX580
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, Performa, Power Mac, Quadra
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Feb 17, 2018 at 5:32 PM #19
    BoomR

    BoomR Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,165
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte AORUS Z370 Ultra Gaming
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-8700K
    Graphics:
    GA-AORUS RX580
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, Performa, Power Mac, Quadra
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Check out post #13 where I talk about one of the devices that I use. I also have a CalDigit TB3 dock that I use for the native USB audio CODEC support (even though my mobo on-board audio is working fine, I prefer the audio from the CalDigit). The CalDigit is the only TB3 device I have at the present time, BTW. I also have a Pegasys2 R6 (12TB) that I use with this system, too. And yes, the speed test was the boot drive (Samsung 960PRO m.2).
     
  10. BoomR

    BoomR Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,165
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte AORUS Z370 Ultra Gaming
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-8700K
    Graphics:
    GA-AORUS RX580
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, Performa, Power Mac, Quadra
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Feb 17, 2018 at 5:50 PM #20
    BoomR

    BoomR Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,165
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte AORUS Z370 Ultra Gaming
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-8700K
    Graphics:
    GA-AORUS RX580
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, Performa, Power Mac, Quadra
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Here's a screen shot of "Easy Mode" on my UEFI - I am using the easy-mode OC as you can see...topping out at the CPU's turbo boost max. The RAM looks like it's showing up at the correct speed. BTW, there was a firmware update for my mobo, and I ran that before I did my build. I wonder if that update also made some enhancements to memory support in the process (wild speculation there...).
    UEFFI Easy Mode.png
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice