Contribute
Register

Blinking Underscore

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
6,809
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
HD 4000+GT 710
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
if i start with any of that clover partitions the same occurs sometimes clover sometimes underscore. I ve done everything you said except the usb storages devices because i dont know what to choose
  • Thank you for your multiple responses. Now, I get a fairly good understanding of your system. We also have a language barrier to overcome to understand oner another.

  • With all your posts , screen shots and added explanations, I now know your dual boot is set up with a separate Windows disk and a Hackintosh High Sierra and uses Clover EFI from Hackintosh as the common Bootloader.
    • Of the 3 SATA disks the third one is a larger disk partitioned into two and used as for Storage of Personal files .
  • Adding to (using +) CLOVER/config.plist/Gui/Hide Volume,
    • you have hidden those two partitions as
      • Legacy HD 1 and
      • Legacy HD2,
    • you have made your CBM Screen look clutter -free with just
      • your MacOS High Sierra and
      • Windows 10 Disk icons.
  • You have no problem using your system as long as it boots OK.
  • But occasionally it hangs BEFORE CBM with a blinking _

  • With the above information, I feel the problem is from the USB Memory Card Drive
  • See my uploaded edited (2 steeps in Green text) BIOS Boot Screen Image
 

Attachments

  • BIOS_Joako.png
    BIOS_Joako.png
    377.6 KB · Views: 80
Joined
Sep 28, 2018
Messages
29
Motherboard
GigabyteGA-H61M-S1
CPU
i5-3340
Graphics
RX 460
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
  • Thank you for your multiple responses. Now, I get a fairly good understanding of your system. We also have a language barrier to overcome to understand oner another.
  • With all your posts , screen shots and added explanations, I now know your dual boot is set up with a separate Windows disk and a Hackintosh High Sierra and uses Clover EFI from Hackintosh as the common Bootloader.
    • Of the 3 SATA disks the third one is a larger disk partitioned into two and used as for Storage of Personal files .
  • Adding to (using +) CLOVER/config.plist/Gui/Hide Volume,
    • you have hidden those two partitions as
      • Legacy HD 1 and
      • Legacy HD2,
    • you have made your CBM Screen look clutter -free with just
      • your MacOS High Sierra and
      • Windows 10 Disk icons.
  • You have no problem using your system as long as it boots OK.
  • But occasionally it hangs BEFORE CBM with a blinking _

  • With the above information, I feel the problem is from the USB Memory Card Drive
  • See my uploaded edited (2 steeps in Green text) BIOS Boot Screen Image
All is ok now ill try with changing the sd to floppy and that, but i dont understand a thing, you said something of the sata disks that the third one had two partitions, I dont know if i understood well (im not native english speaker, im argentinian) but there are 3 disks, two for windows (which are not used with the same letter one is A: and the other is C.) and another 320gb disk for macos
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2018
Messages
29
Motherboard
GigabyteGA-H61M-S1
CPU
i5-3340
Graphics
RX 460
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
  • Thank you for your multiple responses. Now, I get a fairly good understanding of your system. We also have a language barrier to overcome to understand oner another.
  • With all your posts , screen shots and added explanations, I now know your dual boot is set up with a separate Windows disk and a Hackintosh High Sierra and uses Clover EFI from Hackintosh as the common Bootloader.
    • Of the 3 SATA disks the third one is a larger disk partitioned into two and used as for Storage of Personal files .
  • Adding to (using +) CLOVER/config.plist/Gui/Hide Volume,
    • you have hidden those two partitions as
      • Legacy HD 1 and
      • Legacy HD2,
    • you have made your CBM Screen look clutter -free with just
      • your MacOS High Sierra and
      • Windows 10 Disk icons.
  • You have no problem using your system as long as it boots OK.
  • But occasionally it hangs BEFORE CBM with a blinking _

  • With the above information, I feel the problem is from the USB Memory Card Drive
  • See my uploaded edited (2 steeps in Green text) BIOS Boot Screen Image
I ve rebooted the pc a few times and it worked, thank you for all, now my hackintosh is full working!!! Thanks, greetings from Argentina
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
6,809
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
HD 4000+GT 710
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
All is ok now ill try with changing the sd to floppy and that, but i dont understand a thing, you said something of the sata disks that the third one had two partitions, I dont know if i understood well (im not native english speaker, im argentinian) but there are 3 disks, two for windows (which are not used with the same letter one is A: and the other is C.) and another 320gb disk for macos

I agree we have difficulty communicating well because of language problem.
But still we can try if we can add images to text to clarify.:)
This is what I tried to say:

  • You have a SATA Disk with Windows (version not specified by you) and I suspected Windows 10 ,
  • You have a 2nd SATA disk with MacOS High Sierra .
  • You have a 3rd Hard disk with No Operating System but you use it for storage of mostly Windows Files. That may have 2 Partitions marked as Legacy HD 1 and Legacy HD2 and hidden through CLOVER/config.plist
 

Attachments

  • 1.config_Gui.png
    1.config_Gui.png
    109.5 KB · Views: 74
Joined
Sep 28, 2018
Messages
29
Motherboard
GigabyteGA-H61M-S1
CPU
i5-3340
Graphics
RX 460
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I agree we have difficulty communicating well because of language problem.
But still we can try if we can add images to text to clarify.:)
This is what I tried to say:

  • You have a SATA Disk with Windows (version not specified by you) and I suspected Windows 10 ,
  • You have a 2nd SATA disk with MacOS High Sierra .
  • You have a 3rd Hard disk with No Operating System but you use it for storage of mostly Windows Files. That may have 2 Partitions marked as Legacy HD 1 and Legacy HD2 and hidden through CLOVER/config.plist
Yes Yes you understood perfectly haha
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2018
Messages
29
Motherboard
GigabyteGA-H61M-S1
CPU
i5-3340
Graphics
RX 460
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I agree we have difficulty communicating well because of language problem.
But still we can try if we can add images to text to clarify.:)
This is what I tried to say:

  • You have a SATA Disk with Windows (version not specified by you) and I suspected Windows 10 ,
  • You have a 2nd SATA disk with MacOS High Sierra .
  • You have a 3rd Hard disk with No Operating System but you use it for storage of mostly Windows Files. That may have 2 Partitions marked as Legacy HD 1 and Legacy HD2 and hidden through CLOVER/config.plist
It started to happen again, i installed a software which i had to reboot to complete installation, i rebooted i went to do another things and when i came back the screen was black, i shut down the pc by the button, and now it happens the same, sometimes underscore sometimes no
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
6,809
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
HD 4000+GT 710
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It started to happen again, i installed a software which i had to reboot to complete installation, i rebooted i went to do another things and when i came back the screen was black, i shut down the pc by the button, and now it happens the same, sometimes underscore sometimes no
I think your USB Card Reader is the issue. You need to disable the card slots and make them appear like "Floppy"
You did not tell what software you tried to install and how. That might have changed the "Boot Option Priorities" list on reboot and you had to force shut down causing the issue.
You cannot DISABLE the Card Reader Permanently, I guess, as it is meant to be a drive to be used as a Boot Drive like SATA and other USB drives.

Let us see anyone else has a better solution for your intermittent boot failure I suspect from Card Reader.
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2018
Messages
29
Motherboard
GigabyteGA-H61M-S1
CPU
i5-3340
Graphics
RX 460
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I think your USB Card Reader is the issue. You need to disable the card slots and make them appear like "Floppy"
You did not tell what software you tried to install and how. That might have changed the "Boot Option Priorities" list on reboot and you had to force shut down causing the issue.
You cannot DISABLE the Card Reader Permanently, I guess, as it is meant to be a drive to be used as a Boot Drive like SATA and other USB drives.

Let us see anyone else has a better solution for your intermittent boot failure I suspect from Card Reader.
I installed a software of a joystick i think it has nothing to do, how i disable the usb card reader? disconnecting it to the motherboard or what
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
6,809
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
HD 4000+GT 710
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I installed a software of a joystick i think it has nothing to do, how i disable the usb card reader? disconnecting it to the motherboard or what

In one of my PCs, this was a constant problem. After eliminating everything else, I diagnosed it as the culprit. I removed the device from my Desktop's Front Bezel and closed that with a slot cover. Once its USB cable and Power Cable came out of the Mother Board, that problem was solved for me.
I use an External USB card reader that I can connect to my USB 3.0 port to get photos from my Camera Memory Card. Sabrent USB 3.0 Super Speed 4 slot Memory Card Reader, Black (CR-BMC3)

  • To confirm that to be the cause, DISCONNECT its POWER and USB cable and then reboot and check for a few days before removing it. This way you are sure that is the cause of your problem.
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2018
Messages
29
Motherboard
GigabyteGA-H61M-S1
CPU
i5-3340
Graphics
RX 460
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
In one of my PCs, this was a constant problem. After eliminating everything else, I diagnosed it as the culprit. I removed the device from my Desktop's Front Bezel and closed that with a slot cover. Once its USB cable and Power Cable came out of the Mother Board, that problem was solved for me.
I use an External USB card reader that I can connect to my USB 3.0 port to get photos from my Camera Memory Card. Sabrent USB 3.0 Super Speed 4 slot Memory Card Reader, Black (CR-BMC3)

  • To confirm that to be the cause, DISCONNECT its POWER and USB cable and then reboot and check for a few days before removing it. This way you are sure that is the cause of your problem.
Hi it still happening but the pc starts a 400% faster
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top