Contribute
Register

Black screen while updating to 10.15.1 Catalina

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Feb 19, 2018
Messages
30
Motherboard
Gigabyte AORUS Z370 Ultra Gaming
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Check your Clover EFI folder see if there is CSMdre.efi? driver in Drivers UEFI folder. remove it if its there.
I have this below there, but nothing about CSMdre.efi

VBoxHfs.efi
SMCHelper.efi
PartitionDxe.efi
OsxFatBinaryDrv.efi
OsxAptioFix3Drv.efi
FSInject.efi
EmuVariableUefi.efi
DataHubDxe.efi
AudioDxe.efi
ApfsDriverLoader.efi
apfs.efi

Should I remove any?
 

Gigamaxx

Moderator
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
6,570
Motherboard
GIGABYTE X470 Arous Gaming 7 WiFi
CPU
Ryzen R9 3900X
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
  1. iMac
I have this below there, but nothing about CSMdre.efi

VBoxHfs.efi
SMCHelper.efi
PartitionDxe.efi
OsxFatBinaryDrv.efi
OsxAptioFix3Drv.efi
FSInject.efi
EmuVariableUefi.efi
DataHubDxe.efi
AudioDxe.efi
ApfsDriverLoader.efi
apfs.efi

Should I remove any?
apfsefi since you have the auto loader there already.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2018
Messages
30
Motherboard
Gigabyte AORUS Z370 Ultra Gaming
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
apfsefi since you have the auto loader there already.
Done, I'll monitor if it works and post here again.
Thanks one more time mate!
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2018
Messages
30
Motherboard
Gigabyte AORUS Z370 Ultra Gaming
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
apfsefi since you have the auto loader there already.
Unfortunately still same problem, tried to turn on today and got no video at all, it doesn’t even show me the motherboard startup logo
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
25,856
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p700
CPU
2x E5-2620 V3
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
tried to turn on today and got no video at all, it doesn’t even show me the motherboard startup logo
You might try a CMOS reset.
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
25,856
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p700
CPU
2x E5-2620 V3
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
How can I do that?
Read your motherboard manual for details.

Usually disconnect from the mains electricity supply.
Short two pins together.
Alternatively remove the CMOS battery for a few seconds then reinstall it.

Afterwards all BIOS settings should restore to defaults.
Select optimised defaults then make any necessary changes.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
525
Motherboard
Asus ROG STRIX Z390-F
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
If it doesn't work, try to copy them directly in /L/E (/Library/Extensions) folder on your hackintosh.
Do not copy files straight to /Library/Extensions, these must be installed using hackintool, kextbeast or a kext installer.
They can however move/copy to /Kexts/Other/
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
525
Motherboard
Asus ROG STRIX Z390-F
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
A lot of people are experiencing difficulties with updating from Mojave to Catalina on this thread. Could I ask if you updated to latest Clover version before updating? If you haven't and are experiencing boot problems, it could be due to this problem. Check your folder structures are correct.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2018
Messages
30
Motherboard
Gigabyte AORUS Z370 Ultra Gaming
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Read your motherboard manual for details.

Usually disconnect from the mains electricity supply.
Short two pins together.
Alternatively remove the CMOS battery for a few seconds then reinstall it.

Afterwards all BIOS settings should restore to defaults.
Select optimised defaults then make any necessary changes.
I've done it, still same problem. I can use the computer with a HDMI port through the motherboard, but once I try to use my RX580 it doesn't work. I've tried different cables and all, as I said before, sometimes it works, sometimes doesn't. Don't know what to do.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top