Black screen when booting from USB in clover El Capitan

Discussion in 'El Capitan Desktop Support' started by octusis, Nov 5, 2015.

  1. octusis

    octusis

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Motherboard:
    octinator
    CPU:
    i5-4690k
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 970
    Nov 5, 2015 at 3:43 AM #1
    octusis

    octusis

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Motherboard:
    octinator
    CPU:
    i5-4690k
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 970
    Hi, whenever I try to boot into my USB for first time installation of el Capitan the screen goes black/dark grey, I've tried doing the boot flags -v and -x but both come up with "+++++++++" and so on. Any help is greatly appreciated and I am on unibeast 6.1 thanks in advance.


    SPECS:
    B85M-DS3H Mobo
    Intel i5-4690k
    Amd Asus r7 260x
    1tb hdd
    8gb of ram


    So im pretty new to the world of hackintosh and I've tried looking up this issue but can't seem to find any solution, any help is greatly appreciated if you need any more info let me know.
     
    paxor7 likes this.
  2. edwiiiz

    edwiiiz

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte Z97 HD3
    CPU:
    i7 4790K LGA1150
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Evga GTX 960 4gb
    Nov 5, 2015 at 8:05 AM #2
    edwiiiz

    edwiiiz

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte Z97 HD3
    CPU:
    i7 4790K LGA1150
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Evga GTX 960 4gb

    I'm having the same issue. Could be very helpful if someone can give some advice.
     
    paxor7 likes this.
  3. bradsu44

    bradsu44

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    55
    Motherboard:
    Z87X-UD3H
    CPU:
    I7-4770K
    Graphics:
    ASUS 650GTX
    Nov 5, 2015 at 8:51 AM #3
    bradsu44

    bradsu44

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    55
    Motherboard:
    Z87X-UD3H
    CPU:
    I7-4770K
    Graphics:
    ASUS 650GTX
    Running into the same issue with Unibeast 6.1. 6.0.1 is working fine however.
     
  4. strat68

    strat68

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte - GA-Z97X-UD7 TH
    CPU:
    i7 4790K
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Zotac 1070 Ti Extreme
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Nov 5, 2015 at 9:41 AM #4
    strat68

    strat68

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte - GA-Z97X-UD7 TH
    CPU:
    i7 4790K
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Zotac 1070 Ti Extreme
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Same problem here as well. 6.01 working ok but 6.1 results in black screen.
     
  5. octusis

    octusis

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Motherboard:
    octinator
    CPU:
    i5-4690k
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 970
    Nov 5, 2015 at 6:27 PM #5
    octusis

    octusis

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Motherboard:
    octinator
    CPU:
    i5-4690k
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 970

    I've gotten it to semi-work on 6.0.1, but now when i try to boot from clover without usb it goes to a black screen and doesn't do anything again? but when i boot from the usb it works just fine? i'm so lost hahah :banghead:
     
  6. senorfuego

    senorfuego

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte Z77x-UP5-Th
    CPU:
    i7 3770k @ 3.50GHz
    Graphics:
    660 Ti
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Nov 5, 2015 at 7:08 PM #6
    senorfuego

    senorfuego

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte Z77x-UP5-Th
    CPU:
    i7 3770k @ 3.50GHz
    Graphics:
    660 Ti
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Same thing here. Get the plusses across the screen and nothing else happens.
     
  7. Joshhoul

    Joshhoul

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Motherboard:
    Asus Maximus VI Impact
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 4770k
    Graphics:
    Asus GTX960 Mini
    Nov 5, 2015 at 7:23 PM #7
    Joshhoul

    Joshhoul

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Motherboard:
    Asus Maximus VI Impact
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 4770k
    Graphics:
    Asus GTX960 Mini
    I've got the same problem as well guy's. It's not looking good.
     
  8. strat68

    strat68

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte - GA-Z97X-UD7 TH
    CPU:
    i7 4790K
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Zotac 1070 Ti Extreme
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Nov 5, 2015 at 9:38 PM #8
    strat68

    strat68

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte - GA-Z97X-UD7 TH
    CPU:
    i7 4790K
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Zotac 1070 Ti Extreme
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Ok, I've got it working now at last. Found some info on another site - here's what I did...

    1) Format USB flash drive again and redid Unibeast installation from scratch.

    2) Run Clover Configurator and open config from USB EFI partition. Go to 'Install Drivers' and click on 'OsxAptioFix2Drv'.

    3) Reboot and run USB installation (use nv_disable=1 if needed).

    When installation was done I ran post-installation tools, audio etc. However, when I tried to boot from hard drive I got the black screen again so I booted from USB stick into El Capitan, downloaded official Clover (latest version is r3320) from Sourceforge and installed it to the main drive making sure 'OsxAptioFix2Drv' (under 'Drivers64UEFI) was ticked. This did the trick and El Capitan booted fine.
     
  9. octusis

    octusis

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Motherboard:
    octinator
    CPU:
    i5-4690k
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 970
    Nov 6, 2015 at 12:06 AM #9
    octusis

    octusis

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Motherboard:
    octinator
    CPU:
    i5-4690k
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 970

    Will try this, thanks!
     
  10. octusis

    octusis

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Motherboard:
    octinator
    CPU:
    i5-4690k
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 970
    Nov 6, 2015 at 12:51 AM #10
    octusis

    octusis

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Motherboard:
    octinator
    CPU:
    i5-4690k
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 970

    That worked! (Thanks alot) But now i've got another problem haha, i've got pretty sluggish performance and lines on my screen every now and then, thinking its gpu related, also looked up this and have yet to find a solution, any ideas?
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice