Contribute
Register

Black screen Intel HD 530 on Mojave after patching Framebuffer

Joined
Dec 11, 2014
Messages
83
Motherboard
SONY VAIO VPCEA46FG
CPU
i5-480M
Graphics
HD 5470
Mobile Phone
iOS
Try putting an invalid plattform id in the clover boot menu like 0x12345678(NOT in your config.plist). That will rebuild your cache. After that boot normally.
Tried - booting to desktop with invalid id but getting KP when using the correct id(0x193B0005) as mentioned by @shuhung
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2018
Messages
32
Motherboard
GA-Z270-HD3P
CPU
I7-7700K
Graphics
Vega 56
Tried - booting to desktop with invalid id but getting KP when using the correct id(0x193B0005) as mentioned by @shuhung
Just to clarify: Did you rebuild your cache after booting to the desktop?

sudo kextcache -i /

Maybe you still need the patch in properties additional to the AGDP patch?

Also worth trying:
- Renaming HECI to IMEI in ACPI Patches
- Adding PluginType = True in ACPI
- trying -disablegfxfirmware as bootflag


EDIT: I thought a bit about it, maybe also try the attached config.plist and use the two attached kexts. As next step I would try a combination of the framebuffer patches (with lilu + weg) you tried before and the agdp patch.
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Feb 18, 2011
Messages
55
Motherboard
Asrock B85M-ITX
CPU
i5-4670K
Graphics
HD4600
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
LC
Mobile Phone
iOS
AWESOOOOOME - see attached Clover folder
HD530 on i5-6500 (dell Optiplex 5040) DVMT set to 96MB in EFI bios shell
Mojave 10.14.2

ACPI Patches:
Screenshot 2019-01-17 at 15.03.12.png

Boot arguments: -igfxnohdmi
Inject Intel: Yes
ig-platform-id: 0x193B0005 Edit: You may want to add value 4 to Video Ports field
KextToPatch: prevent AGDP from loading
com.apple.driver.AppleGraphicsDevicePolicy
Find: BA050000 00
Replace: BA000000 00
SMBios: iMac17,1


3 displays working: 1 HDMI and 2x DP
fully accelerated
Whatevergreen is not used (nothing in its logs), but installed anyway, it renames DSDT

I may have to patch the DP to HDMI on port 0x5, but it works fine without, so I'll see
No Framebuffer to patch, juste used Hackintool to display information
Screenshot 2019-01-17 at 14.56.35.png

But there is an odd issue with that: I can no longer display Twitter videos with Vivaldi web browser (works with Chrome), while before, with only two display working and 0x1912000 it was working fine...
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Apr 1, 2011
Messages
133
Motherboard
Gigabyte z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
2 x Vega 64
Mac
iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
IronMan2 I just want to say thank you.... because you posted on my thread, it lead me to read yours. From here I got pointed in the right direction!! So Thank You... And I hope I figure out something of value that I can repay the favor back to you!!!!
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2013
Messages
952
Motherboard
MSI B250M PRO-VHD
CPU
i3-7100
Graphics
RX 570
Hey, I tried this- but getting a KP. smbios is iMac17,1 also tried with 14,2
Please see my attached config.plist
Here is Kp report.
Sorry for late reply, travelling to mainland, SKL framebuffer will not load without IMEI rename patch.

Try attached config, added IMEI rename patch.
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Dec 11, 2014
Messages
83
Motherboard
SONY VAIO VPCEA46FG
CPU
i5-480M
Graphics
HD 5470
Mobile Phone
iOS
Sorry for late reply, travelling to mainland, SKL framebuffer will not load without IMEI rename patch.

Try attached config, added IMEI rename patch.
Its okay was experimenting and learning in this time :) Hope you had a pleasant journey.

I tried this config with IMEI patch - getting KP
With IMEI and IGPU rename - still KP

I really doubt this has something to do with the DVMT limitation of my system - See @Anatharias post #24 he got it by setting DVMT to 64mb.

Also last time I got my working by @RehabMan patch


Code:
Comment: 0x19160000/etc, 19MB framebuffer 9MB cursor bytes (credit RehabMan)
Name: AppleIntelSKLGraphicsFramebuffer
Find: 01030303 00002002 00005001
Replace: 01030303 00003001 00009000
 
Joined
Dec 11, 2014
Messages
83
Motherboard
SONY VAIO VPCEA46FG
CPU
i5-480M
Graphics
HD 5470
Mobile Phone
iOS
IronMan2 I just want to say thank you.... because you posted on my thread, it lead me to read yours. From here I got pointed in the right direction!! So Thank You... And I hope I figure out something of value that I can repay the favor back to you!!!!
Happy that this helped you. :) Definitely yes :D
 
Joined
Dec 11, 2014
Messages
83
Motherboard
SONY VAIO VPCEA46FG
CPU
i5-480M
Graphics
HD 5470
Mobile Phone
iOS
AWESOOOOOME
HD530 on i5-6500 (dell Optiplex 5040) DVMT set to 64MB in EFI bios shell
Mojave 10.14.2

ACPI Patches:
View attachment 380053
Boot arguments: -igfxnohdmi
Inject Intel: Yes
ig-platform-id: 0x193B0005
KextToPatch: (not sure that this is required, haven't tested without yet)
prevent AGDP from loading
Find: BA050000 00
Replace: BA000000 00
SMBios: iMac17,1

3 displays working: 1 HDMI and 2x DP
fully accelerated
Whatevergreen is not used (nothing in its logs), but installed anyway, it renames DSDT

I may have to patch the DP to HDMI on port 0x5, but it works fine without, so I'll see
No Framebuffer to patch, juste used Hackintool to display information
View attachment 380050
But there is an odd issue with that: I can no longer display Twitter videos with Vivaldi web browser (works with Chrome), while before, with only two display working and 0x1912000 it was working fine...
Hey, thanks for detailed info.
But I can't set DVMT can you please guide me on setting DVMT like how you did.
 
Joined
Dec 11, 2014
Messages
83
Motherboard
SONY VAIO VPCEA46FG
CPU
i5-480M
Graphics
HD 5470
Mobile Phone
iOS
Just to clarify: Did you rebuild your cache after booting to the desktop?

sudo kextcache -i /

Maybe you still need the patch in properties additional to the AGDP patch?

Also worth trying:
- Renaming HECI to IMEI in ACPI Patches
- Adding PluginType = True in ACPI
- trying -disablegfxfirmware as bootflag


EDIT: I thought a bit about it, maybe also try the attached config.plist and use the two attached kexts. As next step I would try a combination of the framebuffer patches (with lilu + weg) you tried before and the agdp patch.
Tried with clearing caches, yes I did that step too. :D

When I use the combination of FB patches - with disable AGDP - the system boots past verbose - display sleeps then reboots. Without AGDP patch it stayed with no display. Also, I tried with the kets you mentioned - but still KP
 
Last edited:
Top