Black Screen After Updating to 10.12.5

Discussion in 'Graphics' started by tonymacx86, Mar 28, 2017.

  1. aol

    aol

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    500
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170X-UD3 rev 1.0
    CPU:
    Intel i7 6700k
    Graphics:
    GA 1060 6GB WF
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    May 31, 2017 at 7:14 PM #271
    aol

    aol

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    500
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170X-UD3 rev 1.0
    CPU:
    Intel i7 6700k
    Graphics:
    GA 1060 6GB WF
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    On my 10.12.5 system (I assume you mean 10.12.5), the 1060 6GB exhibits the "wake from sleep" issue where the screen will initially look fine but after a few seconds will start to flicker wildly with boxes of different dimensions and sometimes containing screen fragments splashing across the screen, making the system very difficult to use. I use the "put display to sleep hot corner" solution to this problem, but yes, the problem remains.
     
  2. LucasMilotich

    LucasMilotich

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    May 31, 2017 at 7:18 PM #272
    LucasMilotich

    LucasMilotich

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Yes, sorry 10.12.5. The issue "wake from sleep" appears only when yo wake from sleep or when you turn on the computer it happens to?

    Thanks for the answer!
     
  3. aol

    aol

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    500
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170X-UD3 rev 1.0
    CPU:
    Intel i7 6700k
    Graphics:
    GA 1060 6GB WF
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    May 31, 2017 at 7:37 PM #273
    aol

    aol

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    500
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170X-UD3 rev 1.0
    CPU:
    Intel i7 6700k
    Graphics:
    GA 1060 6GB WF
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    It happens whenever the system is allowed to go to sleep (or put to sleep) and everything spins down. It does not happen when you simply put the displays to sleep, or when booting up from being powered off. Is that what you're asking?

    For me it's not a big deal, I put the display to sleep (with a Hot Corner) then wake it back up, problem gone.
     
  4. LucasMilotich

    LucasMilotich

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    May 31, 2017 at 7:40 PM #274
    LucasMilotich

    LucasMilotich

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Yes, that was asking. Many thanks!!
     
  5. JonesJones

    JonesJones

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z170X Designare
    CPU:
    Intel i7 6700k
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 and 1060 6gb
    Jun 2, 2017 at 2:30 AM #275
    JonesJones

    JonesJones

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z170X Designare
    CPU:
    Intel i7 6700k
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 and 1060 6gb
    I am not having this problem in 10.12.5 running a 1060.
     
  6. JonesJones

    JonesJones

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z170X Designare
    CPU:
    Intel i7 6700k
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 and 1060 6gb
    Jun 2, 2017 at 2:31 AM #276
    JonesJones

    JonesJones

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z170X Designare
    CPU:
    Intel i7 6700k
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 and 1060 6gb
    I've been having system crashes when I try to export After Effects projects using CUDA GPU acceleration in 10.12.5.

    I am not having any issues when I try to export projects without GPU acceleration. Any ideas?
     
  7. dziny

    dziny

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jun 4, 2017 at 12:32 PM #277
    dziny

    dziny

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    I think this is related to the problem with ibooks when after opening the book instead of the text you only see grey/white window. Yes it is definitely caused by the web driver and I don't think there is a resolution for it yet.
     
    militantm1nd likes this.
  8. militantm1nd

    militantm1nd

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    Authentic 2012 Mac Pro
    CPU:
    2x Xeon x5690 3.33ghz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 980ti 6GB Xtreme
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 5, 2017 at 6:41 AM #278
    militantm1nd

    militantm1nd

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    Authentic 2012 Mac Pro
    CPU:
    2x Xeon x5690 3.33ghz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 980ti 6GB Xtreme
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Thanks for the insight! Really appreciated, I thought it was a local issue.
     
  9. Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    11,328
    Mobo:
    ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO Z370
    CPU:
    i7-8700K
    Graphics:
    Sapphire RX 580 Pulse 8GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 5, 2017 at 3:41 PM #279
    Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    11,328
    Mobo:
    ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO Z370
    CPU:
    i7-8700K
    Graphics:
    Sapphire RX 580 Pulse 8GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Off topic for this thread. Open a new topic with your problem.
     
  10. xot1643

    xot1643

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    CPU:
    i7-860
    Graphics:
    HD4850
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jun 8, 2017 at 10:52 AM #280
    xot1643

    xot1643

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    CPU:
    i7-860
    Graphics:
    HD4850
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Hello community.
    I am totally new to the subject and I am gathering information about nVidia driver functionalities for macOS.
    Is it possible to modify GPU/RAM frequencies ? Make TDP lower ?
    Thanks :)
     

Share This Page