Contribute
Register

Black screen after screen automatically off (or lock)

Joined
Aug 5, 2016
Messages
44
Motherboard
ASUS K501UB
CPU
i5-6200U
Graphics
HD 520
Mobile Phone
iOS
I've got an error, at lock screen if I click "cancel" then the screen will turn black. If I leave my laptop long enough for the screen to automatically turn off, I'll get this error as well. No way I can get it to work back. Is it a common error?
BTW, can my laptop "sleep" well like others'? Thanks for taking a look at my problem(s)!

Better explanation:
After screen was turned off once (wether by pressing cancel or waiting for timeout), you can't see anything anymore (until you reboot, of course)
In my case, I can see the screen backlight when trying to wake the screen, but that's it.
 

Attachments

Last edited:

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,075
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
I've got an error, at lock screen if I click "cancel" then the screen will turn black. If I leave my laptop long enough for the screen to automatically turn off, I'll get this error as well. No way I can get it to work back. Is it a common error?
BTW, can my laptop "sleep" well like others'? Thanks for taking a look at my problem(s)!
What do you mean by "this error"?
It is normal for cancel at login (or timeout) to enter display sleep.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2016
Messages
1,360
Motherboard
ASUS X556UA-Clover
CPU
i5-6200U
Graphics
HD 520,1366x768
Mobile Phone
iOS
What do you mean by "this error"?
It is normal for cancel at login (or timeout) to enter display sleep.
If I understand the problem correctly, by other reports and my own case, this is the problem:
After screen was turned off once (wether by pressing cancel or waiting for timeout), you can't see anything anymore (until you reboot, of course)
In my case, I can see the screen backlight when trying to wake the screen, but that's it.

From my testing, I could still see output via HDMI, but internal display will only output black screen with backlight.
Tried both 0x19160000 and 0x191b0000 ig-platform-ids (for my Intel HD 520), both cases had this problem. (Though I didn't test HDMI output with the latter)
BTW, can you explain why the default ig-platform-id for Skylake was changed in your configs?

I'll attach my own problem reporting files later, when I'll be able to :)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 5, 2016
Messages
44
Motherboard
ASUS K501UB
CPU
i5-6200U
Graphics
HD 520
Mobile Phone
iOS
After screen was turned off once (wether by pressing cancel or waiting for timeout), you can't see anything anymore (until you reboot, of course)
In my case, I can see the screen backlight when trying to wake the screen, but that's it.
That's exactly my problem :D

BTW, can you explain why the default ig-platform-id for Skylake was changed in your configs?
I use the most updated config file on @RehabMan's repo. Didn't change anything already have
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,075
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
If I understand the problem correctly, by other reports and my own case, this is the problem:
After screen was turned off once (wether by pressing cancel or waiting for timeout), you can't see anything anymore (until you reboot, of course)
In my case, I can see the screen backlight when trying to wake the screen, but that's it.

From my testing, I could still see output via HDMI, but internal display will only output black screen with backlight.
Tried both 0x19160000 and 0x191b0000 ig-platform-ids (for my Intel HD 520), both cases had this problem. (Though I didn't test HDMI output with the latter)
BTW, can you explain why the default ig-platform-id for Skylake was changed in your configs?

I'll attach my own problem reporting files later, when I'll be able to :)
Test display sleep with Apple->Sleep, followed by immediate wakeup (via keyboard/mouse).
If you have an issue with display sleep, check that backlight control is implemented correctly, unused connectors in the frame buffer are eliminated, legacy/CSM is enabled, CsmVideoDxe is NOT used, no 3rd party "display kexts", etc.
Check SMBIOS selection.
And try different ig-platform-id values.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,075
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
BTW, can you explain why the default ig-platform-id for Skylake was changed in your configs?
There were some reports of problems with 0x19160000, better luck with 0x191b0000.
As usual, YMMV.
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Messages
71
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
Android
If I understand the problem correctly, by other reports and my own case, this is the problem:
After screen was turned off once (wether by pressing cancel or waiting for timeout), you can't see anything anymore (until you reboot, of course)
In my case, I can see the screen backlight when trying to wake the screen, but that's it.

From my testing, I could still see output via HDMI, but internal display will only output black screen with backlight.
Tried both 0x19160000 and 0x191b0000 ig-platform-ids (for my Intel HD 520), both cases had this problem. (Though I didn't test HDMI output with the latter)
BTW, can you explain why the default ig-platform-id for Skylake was changed in your configs?
Same issue and still wait for solution.
 
Joined
May 11, 2017
Messages
32
Motherboard
Acer E5-575G-39M3
CPU
Intel® Core™ i3-6100U
Graphics
Intel® HD Graphics 520/NVIDIA® GeForce® 940MX
Mobile Phone
Android, Other
If I understand the problem correctly, by other reports and my own case, this is the problem:
After screen was turned off once (wether by pressing cancel or waiting for timeout), you can't see anything anymore (until you reboot, of course)
In my case, I can see the screen backlight when trying to wake the screen, but that's it.

From my testing, I could still see output via HDMI, but internal display will only output black screen with backlight.
Tried both 0x19160000 and 0x191b0000 ig-platform-ids (for my Intel HD 520), both cases had this problem. (Though I didn't test HDMI output with the latter)
BTW, can you explain why the default ig-platform-id for Skylake was changed in your configs?

I'll attach my own problem reporting files later, when I'll be able to :)
Same issue, I downgraded to 10.12.6 for daily use :(
 
Top