Contribute
Register

Big Sur on HP EliteDesk 800 G4/G5 Mini - The Perfect MacMini8,1 Hackintosh - OpenCore

Joined
Jan 17, 2011
Messages
50
Motherboard
HP Elitedesk 800 G5 mini
CPU
i5 9600
Graphics
HD630
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Bildschirmfoto 2021-02-12 um 06.09.42.png
Bildschirmfoto 2021-02-12 um 06.09.58.png
Bildschirmfoto 2021-02-12 um 06.10.15.png
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2010
Messages
67
Motherboard
HP elitedesk 800 g4
CPU
i5 quad
Graphics
intel 630
I am not using any sensor kexts at this time...
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2011
Messages
1,415
Motherboard
HP EliteDesk 800 G5 Mini
CPU
i9-9900
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I had some time to transfer my Big Sur SSD to the 800 G5/i7-9700. After configuring the BIOS, it booted without any changes and without any problems. Only difference I see is that the i7-9700 multicore performance is better. Otherwise, the unit seems identical to the 800 G4/i7-8700.
  • CPU: i7-9700 (8-Core, No Hyperthreading, CoffeeLake, UHD630)
  • Display: 3 x DP -> DigitalDVI
  • Chipset: Q370
  • Memory: 32GB (2 x 16GB) DDR4
  • Wi-Fi: Intel (disabled in BiOS)
  • 90W Genuine HP Power Supply
  • Cost: $460 with shipping (base cost before I add 2 x M.2 NVMe SSDs and add 1 x 2TB SATA6 HD)
GeekBench5
Screen Shot 2021-02-12 at 3.04.10 PM.png

About This Mac
Screen Shot 2021-02-12 at 2.54.43 PM.png
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2016
Messages
162
Motherboard
HP Elitedesk 800 G5 Mini
CPU
i9-9900
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I had some time to transfer my Big Sur SSD to the 800 G5/i7-9700. After configuring the BIOS, it booted without any changes and without any problems. Only difference I see is that the i7-9700 multicore performance is better. Otherwise, the unit seems identical to the 800 G4/i7-8700.
  • CPU: i7-9700 (8-Core, No Hyperthreading, CoffeeLake, UHD630)
  • Display: 3 x DP -> DigitalDVI
  • Chipset: Q370
  • Memory: 32GB (2 x 16GB) DDR4
  • Wi-Fi: Intel (disabled in BiOS)
  • 90W Genuine HP Power Supply
  • Cost: $460 with shipping (base cost before I add 2 x M.2 NVMe SSDs and add 1 x 2TB SATA6 HD)
GeekBench5

About This Mac

Scores are pretty impressive compared to the 9900. I think the thermal throttling in these boxes probably makes hyperthreading moot. The single thread results are in line with what I expected but the fact the multithread one is within 5% of mine...
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2011
Messages
1,415
Motherboard
HP EliteDesk 800 G5 Mini
CPU
i9-9900
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
i enabled SIP, i could get the 11.2.1 Update.
I have seen in the other forum's Open Core Discussion that others experienced the same problem when SIP was disabled. I have added this to Known Issues.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 22, 2011
Messages
1,415
Motherboard
HP EliteDesk 800 G5 Mini
CPU
i9-9900
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
just updated to the newest HP bios....no problems so far...works great
You motivated me to update to BIOS version 2.15. I have added this to "Tested BIOS Versions" in Post #1.
@turk101 - I'm seeing some strange behavior after the BIOS update to 2.15. I have removed 2.15 from my "tested" list in Post #1 until I figure out what's going on. For now, I'm back on 2.14.01.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 22, 2011
Messages
1,415
Motherboard
HP EliteDesk 800 G5 Mini
CPU
i9-9900
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
EDIT: While it's true that HPs Cloud Recovery now includes Microsoft Office as part of the installation, I can't find evidence that Office is licensed with a "digital license" like Windows 10. When I open Office apps, they prompt for the activation code. It appears that the only difference is that Office is installed, but it's still not licensed. Oh well - sounded to good to be true (and it was).

Installing Windows 10 on our HP EliteDesk G Series
I discovered something interesting about the EliteDesk 800 G5s that I didn't see before with G4s or G3s (maybe this has changed for the G4s/G3s also, but I'm not sure). HP Offers 'Cloud Recovery' to restore the Windows 10 installation on platforms licensed for Windows 10. I booted Windows 10 on this 'new' G5 Mini and installed HP's Cloud Recovery Agent. When I ran the Cloud Recovery Agent, my G5 Mini was licensed for both Windows 10 Pro and Office Pro (my G3 and G4 were licensed only for Windows 10 Pro). I inserted a 32GB USB drive, allowed HP's Cloud Recovery to create a USB installer and reinstalled the HP factory Windows 10 Pro and Office Pro. I'm not sure if I'm allowed to post a link to this here, so if you have one of the G-series, boot Windows 10 on your G (must be running Windows 10 I think), search for HP's 'Cloud Recovery Agent' and follow the prompts to see if your G-Series platform has an available Cloud Recovery Agent (it will detect whether your system is authentic HP with proper serial number). Run the Cloud Recovery Agent and follow the prompts to see what Windows OS (and possibly Office Suite) is licensed for your G. You, too, might be pleasantly surprised. Note that when I purchased my used G5, it did not come with Office installed.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 30, 2013
Messages
186
Motherboard
Asus TUF Gaming Z490-PLUS
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
RX 590
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Note that my rig is running with HPET DISABLED via ACPI patch (HPET._STA=0 just like a real MacMini8,1). See my reasoning here. I'm not sure if this HPET setting affects these results. I also use RtcMemoryFixup.kext with custom rtcfx_exclude range (with CLOVER, I did not use "Fix RTC"). I also have both DDR4 memory banks populated (I have found that single-bank performance is less).
I have found on my MacBook Pro 2020 that HPET is still in use by macOS in my System DSDT by just opening MaciASL and search for HPET.

See this:
Device (HPET)
{
Name (_HID, EisaId ("PNP0103") /* HPET System Timer */) // _HID: Hardware ID
Name (_CID, EisaId ("PNP0C01") /* System Board */) // _CID: Compatible ID
Name (BUF0, ResourceTemplate ()
{
IRQNoFlags ()
{0}
IRQNoFlags ()
{8}
Memory32Fixed (ReadWrite,
0xFED00000, // Address Base
0x00004000, // Address Length
)
})
Method (_STA, 0, NotSerialized) // _STA: Status
{
If (OSDW ())
{
Return (Zero)
}

If ((OSYS >= 0x07D1))
{
Return (0x0F)
}
Else
{
Return (0x0B)
}

Return (Zero)
}

Method (_CRS, 0, Serialized) // _CRS: Current Resource Settings
{
Return (BUF0) /* \_SB_.PCI0.LPCB.HPET.BUF0 */
}
}
It looks almost like the SST-HPET.aml generated by SSDTime. I have had no issues with using AWACS-HPET but I have reverted to use SSDT-HPET with the patches on my build again.
Have fun with your new Desktop b.t.w. ;)
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2011
Messages
1,415
Motherboard
HP EliteDesk 800 G5 Mini
CPU
i9-9900
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have found on my MacBook Pro 2020 that HPET is still in use by macOS in my System DSDT by just opening MaciASL and search for HPET.

See this:
Device (HPET)
{
Name (_HID, EisaId ("PNP0103") /* HPET System Timer */) // _HID: Hardware ID
Name (_CID, EisaId ("PNP0C01") /* System Board */) // _CID: Compatible ID
Name (BUF0, ResourceTemplate ()
{
IRQNoFlags ()
{0}
IRQNoFlags ()
{8}
Memory32Fixed (ReadWrite,
0xFED00000, // Address Base
0x00004000, // Address Length
)
})
Method (_STA, 0, NotSerialized) // _STA: Status
{
If (OSDW ())
{
Return (Zero)
}
...
@GeraldB Take another look at your ACPI and your IORegistryExplorer. Let me know what you find. I suspect you're going to be surprised. HINT: What does Method (OSDW) do in your ACPI?

Don't look at this unless you need another hint...
What does this code do in your MacBookPro 2020's HPET Device definition (ACPI)?

Method (_STA, 0, NotSerialized) // _STA: Status
{
If (OSDW ())
{
Return (Zero)
}
}
 
Last edited:
Top