Contribute
Register

Before You Install Audio - Desktop/Realtek/AppleHDA [Guide]

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Sep 3, 2017
Messages
11
Motherboard
Gigabyte H61M DS2 (rev 2.2)
CPU
Intel Pentium G630 Dual Core (2 x 2.69Ghz), Intel H61 chipset
Graphics
Zotac Nvidia GT 610 2048GB
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
MultiBeast
Before You Install Audio: MultiBeast/Desktop/Realtek

All macOS versions, 10.11 and newer
  1. Remove previous installed methods (skip, if clean install)
    1. AppleHDA Realtek Audio/Post #1/X. Uninstall AppleHDA Realtek Audio
  2. Native AppleHDA required (skip, if clean install)
    1. Restore native AppleHDA [Guide].pdf
  3. Disable SIP (10.11 and newer, if enabled)
    1. Explaining OS X El Capitan Security Changes
    2. 0Clover: config.plist/RtVariables/CsrActiveConfig/0x3 or 0x67
    3. Restart
  4. Mount EFI partition (Clover only)
    1. Community Software/EFI Mounter v3
  5. IOReg/HDEF
    1. Supported: HDEF
    2. IOReg/Search: HDEF (if HDEF present, proceed to 6. Realtek Codec)
      1. Screenshot - IOReg/Search: HDEF (HDEF@1B or HDEF@1F,3 valid):View attachment 251592
    3. IOReg/Search: HDAS
      1. if HDAS present, install one HDAS > HDEF method (A or B, below)
      2. Restart
      3. Return to 4. Mount EFI partition
    4. If no HDEF, installing MultiBeast audio will fail
      1. See Problem Reporting, Post #1; full stop
  6. Realtek Codec
    1. Supported/Codec Name (Device ID):
      1. 885/889a (0885)
      2. 887/888b (0887)
      3. 888/888s (0888)
      4. 889 (0889)
      5. 892 (0892)
      6. 898 (0899)
      7. 1150 (0900)
      8. 1220 (1220)
      9. 1220A (1168)
    2. IOReg/Search: CodecDevice (note IOHDACodecVendorID)
      1. Realtek: 0x10ec
        • If no 0x10ec, not supported; full stop
      2. Codec/Device ID: 0900 (ALC1150)
        • If codec not in list above, not supported; full stop
      3. Determine Codec Name from Codec Device ID
      4. Screenshot - IOReg/Search: CodecDevice: View attachment 251594
  7. Any changes, restart
  8. Ready to install MultiBeast audio
Install MultiBeast Audio (previous selections are not preserved)
  1. MultiBeast > Drivers > Audio > RealtekALCxxx
    1. √ ALC Codec Name
    2. √ 100 / 200 / 300 Series Audio (if 100/200/300 Series motherboard)
    3. √ 200 / 300 Series /X299 Audio Device ID Patch (if 200/300 Series/X299 motherboard)
      1. Ignore when macOS native Kaby Lake audio controller support is available
    4. Options (Audio ID: 1, 2 or 3)
      1. None (Audio ID: 1)
        • Inputs: Pink (motherboard/mb and front panel/fp), Blue (mb)
        • Outputs: Green (mb and fp), Orange (mb), Black (mb), Optical
      2. √ Optional 3 Port (5.1) Audio (Audio ID: 2)
        • Inputs: Pink (fp)
        • Outputs: Green (mb and fp), Orange (Pink/mb), Black (Blue/mb), Optical
      3. √ Optional HD3000/HD4000 HDMI Audio (Audio ID: 3)
        • Inputs: Pink (mb and fp), Blue (mb)
        • Outputs: Green (mb and fp), Black (mb), Optical
    5. Screenshot/MultiBeast 10.2 > Drivers > Audio: View attachment 300775
  2. Build
  3. Install
  4. Restart
No 7.1, 5.1 only; use Audio ID: 2.
See Surround Sound Realtek ALC AppleHDA
Off topic.
My Mobo model: Gigabyte H61M DS2 rev 2.2. May I know it's series?
Thank you :)
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2017
Messages
8
Motherboard
MSI Z270 Gaming M7
CPU
Intel Core i7-7700K
Graphics
MSI GTX 1080 GAMING X
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Hello! I've successfully installed macOS Sierra on my PC. The sound (output) worked fine since the install but not mic. I tried to fix the problem via AppleALC / cloverALC (of course with cleaning up previous way). No difference.
Audio Device: Realtek 1220
Not sure which Problem Reporting thread to post to.
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2013
Messages
79
Motherboard
MSI Z97 Gaming 5
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
GTX 1070
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Every hackingtosh i did (Yosemite, El Capitan, Sierra, High Sierra), worked right after installing the alc1150 codec with multibeast.
Is it weird?
Itunes and chrome play audio correctly (as well as all other softwares)
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2018
Messages
6
Motherboard
Asus Z170-E
CPU
i5-7500
Graphics
HD 630
What would I do since I am hooked up to a hd tv using HDMI, would I do this method then the HDMI terminal method or just the HDMI method?
 

toleda

Moderator
Joined
May 19, 2010
Messages
22,935
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VII Impact
CPU
Core i7-4770K
Graphics
RX 560 + HD4600
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. 512K
  2. LC
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
would I do this method then the HDMI terminal method
100 Series motherboards do not support macOS audio, any flavor.
Fix: see Post #1/Unsupported/Non working Realtek ALC AppleHDA/1.
300/200/100 Series/1. Rename dsdt/HDAS to HDEF/2. ssdt injection/Audio ID: 1

Restart
HDMI audio: AppleHDA HDMI Audio/Post #1/cloverHDMI
887 audio: if interested, proceed with Post #1
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2011
Messages
58
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H67N-USB3-B3 H67
CPU
i5-2500k
Graphics
nVidia GeForce 210
I have a quick question in step 3 it says...Disable SIP. Is this something that is temporary to install or do you have to Disable SIP permanently?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top