Contribute
Register

beelzebozo's Skylake Build: ASUS Z170 Deluxe i7-6700K 32GB AMD RX 5700 XT

Joined
Jun 15, 2016
Messages
25
Motherboard
ASUS Z390 Maximus XI Extreme
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Confused- you mean wake from sleep works when you don't enable G-Sync?
Yes...

G-Sync on = The Screen does not come on from sleep...
G-Sync off = Screen comes back to life :D

Sorry if I was not clear, decided not to tinker any further with the settings so living without G-Sync but on 100 Hertz
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2016
Messages
12
Motherboard
ASUS Z170 Deluxe
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
HD 630
Hey i just went ahead and ordered the ASUS Z170 Deluxe Mainboard and a 7700k only because i read your guide. Pretty hyped because of your awsome Hackintosh guide and wildwillow`s. Big THANK YOU in advance for your WORK man!

Alan
 

beelzebozo

Super Moderator
Joined
Mar 31, 2010
Messages
3,724
Motherboard
ASUS z170-Deluxe
CPU
i7 - 6700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
4
Motherboard
Asus Z170-Deluxe
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
Intel HD 530
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
First off I just wanted to say thanks, beelzebozo, for making this guide. I'm building my father a hackintosh, and having your guide has made the process incredibly smooth.

That said, I did run into one issue that I'm hoping you or someone else here can help me with. When I ran the patch for the Wifi/Bluetooth hardware in the terminal, I got the following error:

ozsK9EL.png


Is there a newer version I can use on 10.12.6?

My hardware's almost identical to yours, except I haven't convinced my dad to spring for a GTX 1060 yet, so we're still using the Intel integrated graphics.

Even without the patch working, it seems like I'm able to use Bluetooth and 5GHz networks just fine. But the Z170-Deluxe's wireless hardware is still showing up as a "Third-Party Wireless Card" in the System Information utility, not as an AirPort Extreme card. I'm also not able to use iMessage, and I'm guessing this is why. (However, "Allow Handoff between this Mac and your iCloud devices" does show up as an option under the General section of System Preferences, so I guess Continuity is working then?)
 
Last edited:

beelzebozo

Super Moderator
Joined
Mar 31, 2010
Messages
3,724
Motherboard
ASUS z170-Deluxe
CPU
i7 - 6700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
First off I just wanted to say thanks, beelzebozo, for making this guide. I'm building my father a hackintosh, and having your guide has made the process incredibly smooth.

That said, I did run into one issue that I'm hoping you or someone else here can help me with. When I ran the patch for the Wifi/Bluetooth hardware in the terminal, I got the following error:

ozsK9EL.png


Is there a newer version I can use on 10.12.6?

My hardware's almost identical to yours, except I haven't convinced my dad to spring for a GTX 1060 yet, so we're still using the Intel integrated graphics.

Even without the patch working, it seems like I'm able to use Bluetooth and 5GHz networks just fine. But the Z170-Deluxe's wireless hardware is still showing up as a "Third-Party Wireless Card" in the System Information utility, not as an AirPort Extreme card. I'm also not able to use iMessage, and I'm guessing this is why. (However, "Allow Handoff between this Mac and your iCloud devices" does show up as an option under the General section of System Preferences, so I guess Continuity is working then?)

The patch was required for El Capitan and not Sierra IIRC.

My guide has a section on how to easily enable iMessage, did you read that section?

You probably need to apply a DSDT patch to cosmetically change how your WIFI card shows in system information, but this shouldn't prevent iMessage from working. This is not required though.
 

beelzebozo

Super Moderator
Joined
Mar 31, 2010
Messages
3,724
Motherboard
ASUS z170-Deluxe
CPU
i7 - 6700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Please be weary of the latest BIOS release: Version 3504 2017/08/11. It made my PC freeze after selecting Optimized Defaults and confirming the save. It also didn't revert some settings back to default. More importantly, I could no longer boot macOS, so I had to revert to the prior BIOS release. Not sure if anyone else experienced the same with Version 3504.
 

beelzebozo

Super Moderator
Joined
Mar 31, 2010
Messages
3,724
Motherboard
ASUS z170-Deluxe
CPU
i7 - 6700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Joined
Jun 15, 2016
Messages
25
Motherboard
ASUS Z390 Maximus XI Extreme
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
beelzebozo's Z170 Deluxe Build: ASUS Z170 Deluxe - Intel Core i7-6700K - NVIDIA GTX 1080
...
Good Day/Evening to you, sir...
I’m having issues with my exact same hackintosh as yours when it comes to going to High Sierra. I’m having a kernel panic “MACH Reboot” from CR2 Error from the CPU. I tried everything, to be honest, and now I’m wondering if it’s the BIOS Version I have.

Have you upgraded yet? If so, can you please share your BIOS version, EFI Folder including the config of course (you can change your serial number and other private details).
Made I’m still on functioning 10.12.6.
Please help.
 

beelzebozo

Super Moderator
Joined
Mar 31, 2010
Messages
3,724
Motherboard
ASUS z170-Deluxe
CPU
i7 - 6700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Good Day/Evening to you, sir...
I’m having issues with my exact same hackintosh as yours when it comes to going to High Sierra. I’m having a kernel panic “MACH Reboot” from CR2 Error from the CPU. I tried everything, to be honest, and now I’m wondering if it’s the BIOS Version I have.

Have you upgraded yet? If so, can you please share your BIOS version, EFI Folder including the config of course (you can change your serial number and other private details).
Made I’m still on functioning 10.12.6.
Please help.
I am not running High Sierra yet.
 
Top