BeamSyncDropper – Tool to disable BeamSync permanently.

Discussion in 'Customization' started by Withoutaface, Mar 11, 2013.

Tags:
  1. vddrnnr

    vddrnnr

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    DELL LATITUDE E4310
    CPU:
    Core i5 2.67Ghz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD
    Mar 26, 2013 at 6:01 PM #11
    vddrnnr

    vddrnnr

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    DELL LATITUDE E4310
    CPU:
    Core i5 2.67Ghz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD
    Hi Withoutaface,

    Just to thank you.
    I used your source to create a command line app that disables 2D Acceleration "a la Quartz Debug"
    that i needed at boot in the login window.

    The code is, if anyone needs it:

    //Disable Quartz 2D Accelleration
    CGSSetDebugOptions(327680);

    Best regards,
    voidRunner
     
  2. Withoutaface

    Withoutaface

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    Mobo:
    ep43-ds3l
    CPU:
    core2duo e8500
    Graphics:
    HD6850
    Sep 20, 2013 at 12:16 AM #12
    Withoutaface

    Withoutaface

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    Mobo:
    ep43-ds3l
    CPU:
    core2duo e8500
    Graphics:
    HD6850
    Hello,

    i created a updated version of the tool to provide also a 'start' and 'force' feature to get BeamSync back working.

    So there are now three parameters to switch BeamSync on and off:

    ### README - BeamSyncDropper2 v2 ###

    --- Commands: ---
    Start (use '-start' parameter)
    Stop (use '-stop' parameter)
    Force (use '-force' parameter)
    [no parameter = stop command]

    --- Just trying: ---
    1. Go to the extracted directory with Terminal
    (example: 'cd /Users/Name/Desktop/BeamSyncDropper2/LionBuild')
    2. chmod 775 BeamSyncDropper2
    3. run with './BeamSyncDropper2' to drop BeamSync

    Run './BeamSyncDropper2 -start' to turn BeamSync on again.

    --- Installation: ---
    1. Copy the file BeamSyncDropper2 to a location (i use '/Extra') and set permissions ('chmod 775 BeamSyncDropper2').
    2. edit the 1 row of the applescript BeamSyncDropper2Starter to your
    path.
    3. Save the script as program (use 'save as' option).
    4. Open system settings, go to user menu and add the script in the start items section.
    5. Logout and login again.

    (If you see a apple script icon in the taskbar for <= 5 sec then it's alive!)

    [#1 If you used the old version install both the starter and the tool from v2 version. The old starter does not work with the new version]
    [#2 The package only contains a Lion SDK build but it's also working on Mountain Lion]

    Regards
    Withoutaface
     

    Attached Files:

  3. gaougalos

    gaougalos

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Mobo:
    eeepc 901
    CPU:
    atom n270
    Graphics:
    gma945
    Nov 10, 2013 at 4:26 PM #13
    gaougalos

    gaougalos

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Mobo:
    eeepc 901
    CPU:
    atom n270
    Graphics:
    gma945
    Does this works on Mavericks?
     
  4. Withoutaface

    Withoutaface

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    Mobo:
    ep43-ds3l
    CPU:
    core2duo e8500
    Graphics:
    HD6850
    Nov 19, 2013 at 10:48 PM #14
    Withoutaface

    Withoutaface

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    Mobo:
    ep43-ds3l
    CPU:
    core2duo e8500
    Graphics:
    HD6850
    Hello gaougalos,

    the tool works on Mavericks.

    Regards Withoutaface
     
  5. ben174

    ben174

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Mar 8, 2014 at 4:44 AM #15
    ben174

    ben174

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Looking at the source for this, it looks like you never implemented the -start command to re-enable it. I don't have XCode installed, and therefore am stuck in the disabled state permanently. Any chance you could compile it with support for re-enabling it?

    Thanks for the tool!!

    Code (Text):
    # ./BeamSyncDropper2 -stop
    2014-03-07 20:43:25.389 BeamSyncDropper2[64302:507] Starting BeamSyncDropper2 by Withoutaface
    2014-03-07 20:43:25.400 BeamSyncDropper2[64302:507] BeamSync disabled!

    # ./BeamSyncDropper2 -start
    2014-03-07 20:43:26.972 BeamSyncDropper2[64303:507] Starting BeamSyncDropper2 by Withoutaface
    2014-03-07 20:43:26.982 BeamSyncDropper2[64303:507] BeamSync disabled!
     
     
  6. ben174

    ben174

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Mar 8, 2014 at 4:46 AM #16
    ben174

    ben174

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Whoops! Just realized you later released a BeamSyncDropper2 *v2*. Grabbed that and it works fine now! Thanks again!
     
  7. wykydtron

    wykydtron

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Mobo:
    MSI Z77 MPower MCIII
    CPU:
    i7
    Graphics:
    R9 290X
    Classic Mac:
    Performa
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Nov 28, 2014 at 12:18 PM #17
    wykydtron

    wykydtron

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Mobo:
    MSI Z77 MPower MCIII
    CPU:
    i7
    Graphics:
    R9 290X
    Classic Mac:
    Performa
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Hello Withoutaface!

    This seems to be working on Yosemite for me! I just upgraded my VMWare Mavericks image to Yosemite and noticed my FPS was absolutely horrible. I dug around the internets and found your script! Thank you so much! I will be seeing less of this :beachball:

    This has made my VM/Hackintosh livable... I am on a 2010 ASUS UL80 laptop with the i3 and NVIDIA Optima / Intel hybrid. :)
     
  8. misomian

    misomian

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Mobo:
    HP Elitebook 8470p
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-3320M @ 2.6Ghz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4000 @ 1600x900
    Jan 26, 2015 at 9:01 PM #18
    misomian

    misomian

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Mobo:
    HP Elitebook 8470p
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-3320M @ 2.6Ghz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4000 @ 1600x900
    Many thanks for this. I didn't have performance issues with my first Yosemite setup, but for some reason after a recent reinstall to the same machine it felt like there was a lag to everything. Turning off transparency helped slightly, but BeamSyncDropper made things feel like new again. Now I can put off hardware upgrades for a while yet again. :) Also makes a huge difference inside a VM I use occasionally. That thing really dragged (~2 seconds to open or minimize a window), but now feels close to native.
     
  9. DavisD

    DavisD

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    May 18, 2015 at 5:51 AM #19
    DavisD

    DavisD

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Hey Withoutaface,

    Dude are totally amazeballs. Works like magic with my Vmware Yosemite 10.10.3
     
  10. jasalmeida

    jasalmeida

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Jan 29, 2016 at 3:13 PM #20
    jasalmeida

    jasalmeida

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    FYI - looks like this won't work anymore on El Capitan. QuartzDebug doesn't have the Beam Sync option anymore. Good thing Chrome has disabled VSYNC, but other apps like Android Studio 1.5 still haven't.
     

Share This Page