Contribute
Register

"Bad NVIDIA Quadro P2000 Performance" and "multi-display problems [SOLVED]" on High Sierra

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jul 25, 2016
Messages
13
Motherboard
Asus Z370 Prime-A II
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello,

I finaly managed to boot my workstation hackintosh on High Sierra .6, now having some problems with performance and Multi-display capabilities.

1. Quadro P2000 performance is lacking in macOS
I currently dual boot since my Hackintosh is not yet complete and I did Geekbench OpenGL test on both OS (Windows 10 and MacOS 10.13.6).
Windows scored ~110.000 and macOS "only" ~80.000. I installed the latest NVIDIA WebDrivers. MacOS CPU score on the other hand is a bit better than in Windows.

Any idea?

__


2. I have some multi display problems with my Quadro P2000
Booting with 2 monitors works fine in Windows but it works strangely in macOS.
When I am booting from clover and all of the -verbose logs are shown on my main QHD display and when it boots only the second display shows up with blank main monitor - no signal error.
OS detects both monitors correctly - Monitor name, display resolution and all. Both monitors are connected via display port.

If I switch either monitor off and try to boot without one, same problem occurs. Second monitor is fine while my main monitor shows blank screen with an error - no signal. Even if I hotplug them while already booted nothing happens.

I have tried several restarts, uninstalls of webdrivers, reinstalls of kexts (lilu, green-something...,..) without success.

Booting from Intel GPU (while monitors are connected to eGPU display ports) works fine and both monitors work fine so there must be something wrong with either drivers/kexts or GPU itself.



Thanks!
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2016
Messages
13
Motherboard
Asus Z370 Prime-A II
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I solved 2. problem by changing system definition from iMac18,3 to latest trashcan MacPro6,1.

1. problem still persist:
Windows CineBench: 193fps
MacOS CineBench: 132fps

The difference is 30% which is MASSIVE.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2011
Messages
178
Motherboard
Asus Prime Z370-A
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
2xGTX 980 Ti, 1xGTX 970, UHD 630
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
1. problem still persist:
Windows CineBench: 193fps
MacOS CineBench: 132fps

The difference is 30% which is MASSIVE.

Well, in most cases Windows benchmarks results are higher by 20-30%. You can not do anything about it unless Apple and Nvidia makes better optimised drivers.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2016
Messages
13
Motherboard
Asus Z370 Prime-A II
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Well, in most cases Windows benchmarks results are higher by 20-30%. You can not do anything about it unless Apple and Nvidia makes better optimised drivers.

What about AMD? Same thing there?
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2011
Messages
178
Motherboard
Asus Prime Z370-A
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
2xGTX 980 Ti, 1xGTX 970, UHD 630
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Joined
Jan 17, 2011
Messages
178
Motherboard
Asus Prime Z370-A
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
2xGTX 980 Ti, 1xGTX 970, UHD 630
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Booting from Intel GPU (while monitors are connected to eGPU display ports) works fine and both monitors work fine so there must be something wrong with either drivers/kexts or GPU itself

How did you manage to do this with Intel GPU? When I boot with two monitors attached (DP and HDMI) one screen is always black. I need to boot with one disconnected then I plug the other monitor after the system has been loaded. After this both can work.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2016
Messages
13
Motherboard
Asus Z370 Prime-A II
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
How did you manage to do this with Intel GPU? When I boot with two monitors attached (DP and HDMI) one screen is always black. I need to boot with one disconnected then I plug the other monitor after the system has been loaded. After this both can work.

I did not have to do anything, it worked from the start. Please note that I had everything connected to my external GPU even when I was booting with Intel HD.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top