Contribute
Register

Backup before trying different MultiBeast options

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm no expert, but if you have a second drive, the fastest solution and most secure is to back it up using carbon copy cloner. You may think that it takes for ever, but if your OS is quite new and you don't have lot of info, it should take you less than 10 minutes. If SSDs, then less than 4 minutes I would say.

When I configured my hackintosh to a RAID 0 SSD array, I always had it backed up to a second drive, I tried multiple configurations and it was really fast to just boot the second drive and use CCC to restore it and try something different.

Hope it helps!

What is the best procedure to make a Backup, before I try different MultiBeast options? I dont mean to clone the whole hard drive.
The "best" procesure is to clone the whole boot partition.

Perhaps I could save just the S/L/E files and some other files and after the Kernel Panic use the Terminal to copy them back in place?
What, all 488 MB of them? (an example from one of my machines) And sometimes it's which ones are NOT there vs which ones ARE there which will make it work/fail. And then it'll be something outside that folder (and /Extra, etc) that's the trigger.

Seriously, make a clone partition somewhere.

On my HTPC machine:
  • 250 GB HDD: 60 GB boot partition, the rest unused (the 60 GB is at the fast end of the disk).
  • 120 GB HDD: 60 GB clone partition
  • (500 GB HDD: media files)
Copying the boot partition takes ~10 minutes, and that 120 GB disk is quite slow.

On my workstation:
  • 120 GB SSD boot drive
  • 750 GB HDD with a 120 GB clone partition at the end (the slow section)
  • (lots of other drives)
The point of this example is that it doesn't have to be a whole drive, and doesn't have to be at the front of a drive (as long as it's within the first 1 TB).