Contribute
Register

Avid Pro Tools HDX system Build (Success) -ASUS P9X79 Pro,

Joined
Feb 27, 2012
Messages
55
Motherboard
Asus P9x79 Pro
CPU
i7 3930k
Graphics
MSI Radeon HD 6870
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Showkingpup's AVID HDX Build: Asus P9X79 Pro-Core i7-3930K -32GB - MSI Twin Frozr HD 6870​


Components:



Apple OS X Lion @ Mac Apps Store
http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/os-x-...44303913?mt=12

ASUS P9X79 PRO LGA 2011 Intel X79 ATX Intel Motherboard
Amazon.com: ASUS P9X79 PRO - LGA2011 - X79 - 8x DIMM - PCIe 3.0 Motherboards: Computers & Accessories

Intel Core i7-3930K 3.2 1 LGA 2011 Processor
Amazon.com: Intel Core i7-3930K Hexa-Core Processor 3.2 Ghz 12 MB Cache LGA 2011 - BX80619I73930K: Electronics

Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz 32GB Memory
Amazon.com: Corsair Vengeance 32 GB DDR3 1600MHz PC3 12800 Quad Channel 240 Pin Desktop Memory CMZ32GX3M4X1600C10: Computers & Accessories

MSI HAWK 6870 1GB DDR5
Amazon.com: MSI ATI Radeon HD6870 1 GB DDR5 2DVI/HDMI/2x Mini DisplayPort PCI-Express Video Card R6870 HAWK: Computers & Accessories

Corsair Force GT 240 GB SATA III 6Gbs 2.5-Inch Solid State Drive
Amazon.com: Corsair Force GT 240 GB SATA III/6G SATA 6.0 Gb-s 2.5-Inch Solid State Drive - CSSD-F240GBGT-BK: Electronics

Seagate Constellation ES 1 TB 7200RPM 6 Gb/s SATA 64MB Cache 3.5 Inch Internal Drive
Amazon.com: Seagate Constellation ES 1 TB 7200RPM 6 Gb/s SATA 64MB Cache 3.5 Inch Internal Bare Drive ST1000NM0011: Electronics

Corsair Hydro Series H100 Extreme Performance Liquid CPU Cooler (CWCH100)
Amazon.com: Corsair Hydro Series H100 Extreme Performance Liquid CPU Cooler (CWCH100): Electronics

Corsair Carbide Series 400R Mid Tower Gaming Computer Case
Amazon.com: Corsair Carbide Series 400R Mid Tower Gaming Computer Case - CC-9011011-WW: Electronics

Corsair Professional Series Gold 1200-Watt 80 Plus Gold Certified High-Performance Power Supply - (Power supply: I'm using an Antec. "BUT, I DONT RECOMMEND IT!")
Amazon.com: Corsair Professional Series Gold 1200-Watt 80 Plus Gold Certified High-Performance Power Supply - CMPSU-1200AX: Electronics

LG 12x SATA Blu-Ray-DVD-CD- Combo Internal Drive
Amazon.com: LG UH12LS28K LightScribe 12x SATA Blu-Ray Combo Internal Drive, Bulk (Black): Electronics

Apple wired Keyboard
Amazon.com: Apple Aluminum Wired Keyboard MB110LL/A: Electronics

Apple Wired Mouse
Amazon.com: Apple Wired Mouse: Electronics


Already Owned

AVID HDX PCIE CARD + OMNI io + PT10HD software
Avid HDX PCIe Card + Omni + PT10HD


Comments

Hi, Recently i built 3 machines for AVID HDX Systems:
System 1 : HDX 2 Cards and HD io (for studio)
System 2 : HDX 1 Card and Omni io (for my home studio)
System 3 : HDX 1 Card and Omni io (for my brother)​

Step 1 : used unibeast method to install lion 10.7.3

Step 2 : installed multibeast ( see attached multibeast screen shot

step 3 : installed lion combo update 10.7.4 and multibeast installed again..

step 4 : to show cpu name - Edited smbios.plist and added the following

Code:
<key>SMcputype</key>
<string>1281</string>

Step 5 : to show correct cpu clock ( i overclocked cpu to 46)

<key>SMmaximalclock</key>
<string>46</string>



And everything is set and cool..

for me USB 3 works only on front panel, checked with Lacie USB 3 disk ( back and front panel usb 3 ports works for usb 2 interfaces) maybe back panel USB 3 can work for you guys ..


Thanks to mitchellk , subaro0o, kurtface ..


quote from subaro0o " Pro Tools is running better than ever, and I'm in heaven with the 32gb of ram with the new "Ram Disk Cache" feature in pro tools 10, so snappy!! " yes it is true with this machine ..

Protools Comments:
installed IOUSBFamily Rollback from multibeast (if ilok did not recognized)

installed protools 10 software before installing HDX hardware cards, then shutdown and installed HDX hardware into pcie slots.

then i checked in system preferences sound menu HDX showed

everything is set and Protools HDX working cool and fast,,

some error with protools software not because of Hackintosh these errors is also showup in macpro too " Not a big deal simple 2 step fix"

when you run Pro Tools HD 10 software with HDX hardware for the first time it freezes while "Creating DAE Objects"
here is the AVID fix link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/en_U ... g/en430391
If logic or any other coreaudio software did not recognize AVID HDX open digidesign coreaudio manager and increase buffer size to max and quit digidesign coreaudio manager then open logic or whatever software it will show AVID HDX now, now change the buffer size to your wish..

Special thanks to tonymacx86 and crew
 

Attachments

Joined
May 15, 2011
Messages
251
Motherboard
Asus Sabertooth X79
CPU
i7-3930K
Graphics
GTX-580 3GB
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
SUPER NICE DUDE!!! Great machine!



Glad I helped out!
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2011
Messages
69
Motherboard
ASUS P9X79 PRO
CPU
i7-3930K @ 3.2 GHz
Graphics
GTX 980 TI
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Performa, Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
What BIOS version are you using? I have nearly the exact same build and am currently having a lot of trouble with my board.

Thanks!
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2011
Messages
11
Motherboard
OSX 10.7.4
CPU
Dual - Quad Xeon 3.0 (on macpro 1,1)
Graphics
ATI 5770
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
What BIOS version are you using? I have nearly the exact same build and am currently having a lot of trouble with my board.

Thanks!
So do I... 3rd day trying... finally could install ML !!! Bios up to date (2104)

1- be patient
2- be persistent
3- only 4gb ram to install
4- used intel sata 3gps to install, mouse and keyboard acting strange (used Control F1 + Control F2 to navigate menus by keyboard). Typed pcirootuid=1 npci=0x2000 -x -v even if I don't know what means. used an old video board to install GT 520 I guess (default for MP 1,1)
5- now trying to boot with HD on Marvell Sata - passed ML user register, but still freezes after password. Switched video board to GTX 680 (its natively recognized by lion I guess). Using VGA adaptor - is that a problem??

I just saw new bios on the block: 3009 worth a try???

UPDATE: changed my vga monitor for a DVI and boot OK!!!! The Multibeat Printscreen is gonna be very usefull!! Thanks fellow!!!
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,281
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO Z370
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
...UPDATE: changed my vga monitor for a DVI and boot OK!!!! The Multibeat Printscreen is gonna be very usefull!! Thanks fellow!!!
Apple's OS X hasn't supported VGA natively in OS X for eons! Chimera/Chameleon supported the VGA in the earlier graphics cards, but I don't know if the current versions still do. However, DVI, HDMI and DisplayPort are currently supported in Snow Leopard, Lion and Mt. Lion. For HD3000/4000 users, on board VGA will not work either.
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2011
Messages
11
Motherboard
OSX 10.7.4
CPU
Dual - Quad Xeon 3.0 (on macpro 1,1)
Graphics
ATI 5770
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Thanks stork!

I could open multibeast twice but the system is very slow and mouse is not responsive, before i can select the itens it freezes. Usually freezes on startup apple logo. Booting via Unibeast pcirootuid=1 npci=0x2000.

P9x79 deluxe
i7 3930
gtx 680 4gb (tried also with mac ATI 5770, nosuccess)
4gb corsair (one slot) (trying with 2x4gb now)
apple mouse and keyboard
kingston pendrive
using marvell controler to 1 tb samsung hd
opticaldrive unpluged
bios 2014 default
using only usb 2.0

Any help?
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2010
Messages
344
Motherboard
12 Apple Cores GA-X79-UD3
CPU
i7-3960X 2011
Graphics
NVidia PNY GTX 780
Mac
Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
GraphicsEnabler=No for 680 and Yes for 5770. I had the same sluggish install on a GA-X79-UD3 but my board was bad, the 3D BIOS would hesitate and have tracers from the mouse movement while refreshing screens. I used npci=0x3000 but it would take a long time to install Mountain Lion. Try disabling peripherals in the BIOS? It has to be some setting in the BIOS make it as minimal as possible.
 
Top