Contribute
Register

Audio - HDMI Audio AppleHDA [Guide]

Status
Not open for further replies.

kyc

Joined
Feb 11, 2014
Messages
3
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I had HDMI audio working before until I switched to Clover and updated to El Capitan yesterday. The HDMI output is not available in my Sound pref pane.

I'm on El Capitan 10.11.2. Gigabyte H81M-HD3 with a i3-4330/HD 4600 graphics.
Followed the HD4600-hdmi_audio_(dsdt_or_ssdt)_v3 guide.

Step 1: Used audio_CloverALC and audio_CloverHDMI
Step 2: Added ssdt.aml in EFI/CLOVER/ACPI/patched

Went through the troubleshooting part of the guide. Found HDEF with layout-id 1, IGPU@2 with AppleIntelAzulController & AAPL,ig-platform-id <03 00 22 0d> but was unable to find HDAU@3.

Would really appreciate your help.
 

Attachments

  • Archive.zip
    2.5 MB · Views: 40
Joined
Jun 19, 2012
Messages
30
Motherboard
x61 Tablet
CPU
L7500
Graphics
x3100
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
toleda,

I just had to post and give a HUGE thank you for putting together this guide. Thanks to your considerable effort, I now have surround sound through the display port on my Lenovo TS140 (i3-4130, built-in 4400 graphics, Yosemite, Clover).

It took me a couple of days, and more than once I almost broke down and posted for help, but I made it. Looking back, I made it much more difficult than need be. If I had to do it again, I'd be done in 30 minutes - easy peasy. For me, the biggest challenge is wading though the mountain of data that isn't applicable to one's rig.

One suggestion - if you ever get around to updating the guide, say when 10.12 comes out, I think some Roman numerals and lowercase letters could really help out. Not just for the person using the guide, but for people providing support and answering questions. For example, you could just write, "The directions and files are at III. C. 2. i. a."

Thanks again for the guide and all the work.
 

toleda

Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
23,008
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VII Impact
CPU
Core i7-4770K
Graphics
RX 560 + HD4600
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. 512K
  2. LC
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
unable to find HDAU@3.
Where did you get config.plist?
Delete every property with a #
No idea why ssdt works for IGPU and does not for HDAU.
Reply with fixed config.plist and new files.
 

toleda

Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
23,008
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VII Impact
CPU
Core i7-4770K
Graphics
RX 560 + HD4600
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. 512K
  2. LC
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
you could just write, "The directions and files are at III. C. 2. i. a."
Thanks for the suggestions. The site editor only allows bullets or numbers. Most pdf guides use Step 1, 1., a., i.
 

kyc

Joined
Feb 11, 2014
Messages
3
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
The config.plist file was from the Clover installer.

I used the installer to get a fresh new copy of config.plist, removed the keys prefixed with #, applied the patches to KernelAndKextsPatches/KextsToPatch and added Device/Audio/inject = 1. No HDMI output in the sound pref pane.
 

Attachments

  • Archive.zip
    2.5 MB · Views: 29

kyc

Joined
Feb 11, 2014
Messages
3
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Appears I misread your instructions. I thought I was supposed to just copy the KextsToPatch properties from your config.plist into my own config.plist.

Instead I replaced the entire config.plist with the one in config-hdmi_hd4600-100.plist.zip. It removed all the other sound outputs in my sound pref pane but added an HDMI output which is the only one I needed.

Thanks!
 

toleda

Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
23,008
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VII Impact
CPU
Core i7-4770K
Graphics
RX 560 + HD4600
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. 512K
  2. LC
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I can confirm that the framebuffer that is working for HDMI+DP is : 0x16120003
You confirmed DP audio works on a HDMI connector and HDMI audio does not work on a DP connector. System Preferences/Sound/Output should show HDMI and DisplayPort not HDMI x2. At your convenience, edit Port 0x7 from HDMI to DP (switch the two connectors) and reply with new sysprefs screenshot and IOReg.
 

wildwillow

Moderator
Joined
Jun 26, 2012
Messages
4,107
Motherboard
Z170 Deluxe
CPU
i5-6600K
Graphics
GTX 970
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
  2. Other
You confirmed DP audio works on a HDMI connector and HDMI audio does not work on a DP connector. System Preferences/Sound/Output should show HDMI and DisplayPort not HDMI x2. At your convenience, edit Port 0x7 from HDMI to DP (switch the two connectors) and reply with new sysprefs screenshot and IOReg.

My confirmation was a Framebuffer that worked with HDMI/DP and now DVI. I can clearly see your precision that my DP(default framebuffer connector) was actually an HDMI connector and the HDMI port was in fact a DP connector. Corrected thanks.
DP(Port0x7) and HDMI(Port0x6) connectors switched, DP is now DP connector with audio.
The only sign of mentioning DisplayPort info is in system report/audio : HDMI / Display Port.

DP-HDMI-SysPref.pngDP_HDMI-Switch.png
 

Attachments

  • DP-HDMI-Switch.ioreg
    7.1 MB · Views: 52
Joined
Jan 1, 2014
Messages
31
Motherboard
MSI Z77A-G43
CPU
Intel I5 3570K @ 4.4GHz
Graphics
Palit Nvidia GTX 1080
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
//
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top