Audio - HDMI Audio AppleHDA [Guide]

Discussion in 'HDMI Audio' started by toleda, Oct 17, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    21,189
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 23, 2017 at 5:15 AM #3321
    toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    21,189
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    If the adapter was defective, yes; if not, no.
     
  2. aztlan78

    aztlan78

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2015
    Messages:
    379
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z170N-Gaming 5
    CPU:
    Intel i5-6500
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro P600 2GB
    Sep 24, 2017 at 6:49 AM #3322
    aztlan78

    aztlan78

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2015
    Messages:
    379
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z170N-Gaming 5
    CPU:
    Intel i5-6500
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro P600 2GB
    Hello again,

    I do not have sound but do have the audio choices including HDMI audio from monitor. Im sure I am missing something simple.

    Sierra 12.6
    Asus Z170I Pro Gaming
    Intel i3-6320
    GTX 745
    Used audio_cloverHDMI-120.command.zip

    Thank you.

    [Edit] I have solved the issue. The problem was my BIOS settings. I have both onboard audio and HDMI audio. I have deleted the ioReg file. Thank you.
     
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2017
  3. Blacky

    Blacky

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Gaming 5P
    CPU:
    6900K
    Graphics:
    GTX 1080
    Sep 28, 2017 at 12:31 PM #3323
    Blacky

    Blacky

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Gaming 5P
    CPU:
    6900K
    Graphics:
    GTX 1080
    I'm on High Sierra.
    I've been trying to get the HDMI sound out of my GTX 760 with your guides but nothing seems to work.
    I have a X99 Gaming 5P motherboard with integrated CA0132 audio chipset.
    I don't have a DSDT because I don't really need one. Everything works perfectly on my Hackintosh expect for the sound.

    The script audio_cloverHDMI-130_v0.5.command simply outputs:
    EFI partition is mounted
    Error: no IOReg/HDEF; BIOS/audio/disabled or ACPI problem
    Continue without HDEF/onboard audio (y/n): y
    No audio codec detected

    and dies.

    I've tried to follow the instructions from here:
    https://github.com/toleda/audio_hdmi_amd-nvidia/tree/master/ssdt_hdmi-nvidia

    I've installed attached SSDT-HDMI-NVIDIA-BR3A with the appropriate changes for X99 , but still no sound.

    I've also attached by IOReg.

    Thank you!
     

    Attached Files:

  4. toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    21,189
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 28, 2017 at 3:05 PM #3324
    toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    21,189
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Problem, macOS uses only HDEF, not ALZA. Fix: Install ssdt_hdef-1-x99-alza.zip
    Fail. Remove and install the unedited version
    Restart and reply with all Post #1/Problem Reporting; requested files
     
    Blacky likes this.
  5. Blacky

    Blacky

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Gaming 5P
    CPU:
    6900K
    Graphics:
    GTX 1080
    Sep 28, 2017 at 8:29 PM #3325
    Blacky

    Blacky

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Gaming 5P
    CPU:
    6900K
    Graphics:
    GTX 1080
    No problem. Here it goes.

    Problem Reporting
    1. No HDMI OUTPUT DEVICE
    2. 10.13.0 / Gigabyte Gaming 5P with CA0132 and GTX 760
    3. Procedure/Guide Used
      1. Using unmodified SSDT-HDMI-NVIDIA-BR3A
      2. Using ssdt_hdef-1-x99-alza.zip
      3. Also applied this patch http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/uploads/monthly_09_2017/post-448675-0-16570100-1506621750.png , trying to get the CA0132 to work as well.
      4. this is the guide: https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/amd-nvidia-hdmi-audio-easy-guide.172023/
    4. Copy of IORegistryExplorer/IOJones (Tools 3., either)
      1. http://www.mediafire.com/file/a88dds4e2ts0syp/iMac.ioreg
    5. Screenshots
      1. https://www.mediafire.com/file/ci8j95530is0ggu/Screen Shot 2017-09-28 at 22.16.52.png
      2. http://www.mediafire.com/view/9b9rae9bedmbayy/Screen Shot 2017-09-28 at 22.18.13.png
    6. Copy Of Console/All Messages (last boot)
      1. It's a really huge log. If you really think it's necessary I will upload it. But I can't do a restart right now.
    7. System/Library/Extensions/AppleHDA.kext http://www.mediafire.com/file/omtsuq9oih1ii4s/AppleHDA.kext.zip
    8. Clover
      1. All EFI Folder from Clover is here: http://www.mediafire.com/file/pnz1bemzkeiprib/EFI.zip
      2. http://www.mediafire.com/file/685av25337it5r7/DCPI_Boot_log.rtf
     
  6. toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    21,189
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 28, 2017 at 9:28 PM #3326
    toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    21,189
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    config.plist disables ssdts"
    1. set ACPI/DSDT/Fixes/AddHDMI_8000000/NO
    2. remove ACPI/DSDT/Patches/change AZAL to HDEF

    Save, restart.
    Put all files in a folder/compress and attach.
    Not interested in Mediafire crap.
    Suggestion, remove every property with a # sign from config.plist
     
  7. Blacky

    Blacky

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Gaming 5P
    CPU:
    6900K
    Graphics:
    GTX 1080
    Sep 29, 2017 at 12:39 AM #3327
    Blacky

    Blacky

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Gaming 5P
    CPU:
    6900K
    Graphics:
    GTX 1080
    Thank you!

    I did as you instructed, but not sure what you mean by config.plist disables ssdts , to me it seems Clover is loading them. If I am doing something wrong let me know.

    1. <key>AddHDMI_8000000</key>
    I did that and set it to false but couldn't boot anymore.
    I get :
    Sound assertion in IOHDACodecDevice at line 146
    Sound assertion in IOHDACodecDevice at line 552
    then Ethernet comes up
    then it just gets stuck on
    kext stall[x], (60s): 'IOSCSIHierarchicalLogicalUnit', 'IOSCSIHierarchicalLogicalUnit', 'IOHDACodecFunction'

    see attached print screen.

    As a result I've set it back to true

    2. I didn't remove it, just disabled it. Will remove it when I made other changes to config.pls.

    Since I couldn't boot into macOS without <key>AddHDMI_8000000</key> set to true I can't really attach any new files besides my config.pls .

    3. I've removed all # entries from config.pls . I've attached my current , cleaner config.pls.

    Edit, attached one archive with all previously uploaded files to mediafire.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Sep 29, 2017
  8. toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    21,189
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 29, 2017 at 2:17 AM #3328
    toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    21,189
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Has nothing to do with boot, native is no; impossible to be the cause
    Unsupported codec produces sound assertions, no effect on boot
    Clover disables the ssdts:
    8:635 0:000 Name H001 present at 0x739, renaming to HDAU
    8:635 0:000 HDMIADR1=30000 HDMIADR2=1

    config.plist/Graphics missing
    Fix the boot problem. off topic.
     
    Blacky likes this.
  9. fallen00sniper

    fallen00sniper

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    193
    Mobo:
    GA-P55A-UD3
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-860 CPU @ 2.8GHz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti G1 Gaming 4GB
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Sep 29, 2017 at 8:11 AM #3329
    fallen00sniper

    fallen00sniper

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    193
    Mobo:
    GA-P55A-UD3
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-860 CPU @ 2.8GHz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti G1 Gaming 4GB
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Description of audio problem
    HDMI audio on GTX 1050 Ti not working, script detects and no longer detects card at PEGP@3
    audio_cloverHDMI-120_v1.0f3.command detects, applies patch, no HDMI audio (Worked on Yosemite for GTX660)

    OS X version/motherboard model/BIOS version/processor/graphics
    10.12.6 / GA-P55A-UD3 / F11 / i7-860 / Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti G1

    Procedure/Guide used
    opened audio_cloverHDMI-130_v0.5.command followed on-screen prompts

    Terminal/Shell/File/Export Text As. . . (if run)
    See attached .txt file in zip

    Copy of IOReg - IOReg_v2.1/File/Save a Copy As…, verify file (Tools 1.)
    See attached .ioreg file in zip

    Copy Of Console/All Messages (last boot)/File/Save a Copy As..
    N/A script failed to detect at the slot

    DPCIManager/Status (Tools 2.)
    Went to download, saw warning of malware detected, avoided.

    Terminal/Shell/File/Export Text As. . . (if run
    See attached .txt file in zip

    Clover (if installed)
    Clover folder in zip, includes SSDT made by audio_cloverHDMI-120_v1.0f3.command, DSDT, config

    Also to be noted recently installed the latest audio_cloverALC-130_v0.3.command which worked fine, made the DSDT edits recommended in the [Guide]-Add_or_Edit_HDEF-dsdt.pdf to try and clean up my audio, it gets static and garble noises with the DSDT I am currently working on.

    ScreenShots are also in DPCIManager.zip and the bootlog it displayed.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Oct 17, 2017
  10. Blacky

    Blacky

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Gaming 5P
    CPU:
    6900K
    Graphics:
    GTX 1080
    Sep 29, 2017 at 10:29 AM #3330
    Blacky

    Blacky

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Gaming 5P
    CPU:
    6900K
    Graphics:
    GTX 1080
    Actually this was very helpful and I managed to get the HDMI to work.
    Basically with <key>AddHDMI_8000000</key> set to false and SSDT-HDMI-NVIDIA-BR3A installed, the system would hang at boot undefinitely or so it seemed.

    1. Removed SSDT-HDMI-NVIDIA-BR3A
    reboot
    2. Set <key>AddHDMI_8000000</key> to false
    reboot
    3. Fixed C and P states
    reboot
    4. Added SSDT-HDMI-NVIDIA-BR3A
    reboot
    5. System hanged for about 4 minutes at kext stall[x], (60s): 'IOSCSIHierarchicalLogicalUnit', 'IOSCSIHierarchicalLogicalUnit', 'IOHDACodecFunction'
    Then it booted successfully!

    Now I have full sound output for the GTX 760.

    Thank you!

    Off-topic: That DCPIManager tool is very very useful, also helped me figure out the C and P states weren't generated properly. It seems Clover, if certain options are not specifically set to false and just deleted, it will set them as true by default.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page