Contribute
Register

Audio - HDMI Audio AppleHDA [Guide]

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Mar 28, 2012
Messages
29
Motherboard
Gigabyte Gaming 5P
CPU
6900K
Graphics
GTX 1080
No problem. Here it goes.

Problem Reporting
  1. No HDMI OUTPUT DEVICE
  2. 10.13.0 / Gigabyte Gaming 5P with CA0132 and GTX 760
  3. Procedure/Guide Used
    1. Using unmodified SSDT-HDMI-NVIDIA-BR3A
    2. Using ssdt_hdef-1-x99-alza.zip
    3. Also applied this patch http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/uploads/monthly_09_2017/post-448675-0-16570100-1506621750.png , trying to get the CA0132 to work as well.
    4. this is the guide: https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/amd-nvidia-hdmi-audio-easy-guide.172023/
  4. Copy of IORegistryExplorer/IOJones (Tools 3., either)
    1. http://www.mediafire.com/file/a88dds4e2ts0syp/iMac.ioreg
  5. Screenshots
    1. https://www.mediafire.com/file/ci8j95530is0ggu/Screen Shot 2017-09-28 at 22.16.52.png
    2. http://www.mediafire.com/view/9b9rae9bedmbayy/Screen Shot 2017-09-28 at 22.18.13.png
  6. Copy Of Console/All Messages (last boot)
    1. It's a really huge log. If you really think it's necessary I will upload it. But I can't do a restart right now.
  7. System/Library/Extensions/AppleHDA.kext http://www.mediafire.com/file/omtsuq9oih1ii4s/AppleHDA.kext.zip
  8. Clover
    1. All EFI Folder from Clover is here: http://www.mediafire.com/file/pnz1bemzkeiprib/EFI.zip
    2. http://www.mediafire.com/file/685av25337it5r7/DCPI_Boot_log.rtf
 

toleda

Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
24,090
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VII Impact
CPU
Core i7-4770K
Graphics
RX 560 + HD4600
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. 512K
  2. LC
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
No HDMI OUTPUT DEVICE
config.plist disables ssdts"
1. set ACPI/DSDT/Fixes/AddHDMI_8000000/NO
2. remove ACPI/DSDT/Patches/change AZAL to HDEF

Save, restart.
Put all files in a folder/compress and attach.
Not interested in Mediafire crap.
Suggestion, remove every property with a # sign from config.plist
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2012
Messages
29
Motherboard
Gigabyte Gaming 5P
CPU
6900K
Graphics
GTX 1080
config.plist disables ssdts"
1. set ACPI/DSDT/Fixes/AddHDMI_8000000/NO
2. remove ACPI/DSDT/Patches/change AZAL to HDEF

Save, restart.
Put all files in a folder/compress and attach.
Not interested in Mediafire crap.
Suggestion, remove every property with a # sign from config.plist

Thank you!

I did as you instructed, but not sure what you mean by config.plist disables ssdts , to me it seems Clover is loading them. If I am doing something wrong let me know.

1. <key>AddHDMI_8000000</key>
I did that and set it to false but couldn't boot anymore.
I get :
Sound assertion in IOHDACodecDevice at line 146
Sound assertion in IOHDACodecDevice at line 552
then Ethernet comes up
then it just gets stuck on
kext stall[x], (60s): 'IOSCSIHierarchicalLogicalUnit', 'IOSCSIHierarchicalLogicalUnit', 'IOHDACodecFunction'

see attached print screen.

As a result I've set it back to true

2. I didn't remove it, just disabled it. Will remove it when I made other changes to config.pls.

Since I couldn't boot into macOS without <key>AddHDMI_8000000</key> set to true I can't really attach any new files besides my config.pls .

3. I've removed all # entries from config.pls . I've attached my current , cleaner config.pls.

Edit, attached one archive with all previously uploaded files to mediafire.
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    9.2 KB · Views: 204
  • IMG_20170929_005838.jpg
    IMG_20170929_005838.jpg
    3.5 MB · Views: 169
  • All-Silmac.zip
    11.4 MB · Views: 56
Last edited:

toleda

Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
24,090
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VII Impact
CPU
Core i7-4770K
Graphics
RX 560 + HD4600
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. 512K
  2. LC
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
did that and set it to false but couldn't boot anymore.
Has nothing to do with boot, native is no; impossible to be the cause
Unsupported codec produces sound assertions, no effect on boot
not sure what you mean by config.plist disables ssdts
Clover disables the ssdts:
8:635 0:000 Name H001 present at 0x739, renaming to HDAU
8:635 0:000 HDMIADR1=30000 HDMIADR2=1

config.plist/Graphics missing
Fix the boot problem. off topic.
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2012
Messages
190
Motherboard
GA-P55A-UD3
CPU
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-860 CPU @ 2.8GHz
Graphics
Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti G1 Gaming 4GB
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Description of audio problem
HDMI audio on GTX 1050 Ti not working, script detects and no longer detects card at PEGP@3
audio_cloverHDMI-120_v1.0f3.command detects, applies patch, no HDMI audio (Worked on Yosemite for GTX660)

OS X version/motherboard model/BIOS version/processor/graphics
10.12.6 / GA-P55A-UD3 / F11 / i7-860 / Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti G1

Procedure/Guide used
opened audio_cloverHDMI-130_v0.5.command followed on-screen prompts

Terminal/Shell/File/Export Text As. . . (if run)
See attached .txt file in zip

Copy of IOReg - IOReg_v2.1/File/Save a Copy As…, verify file (Tools 1.)
See attached .ioreg file in zip

Copy Of Console/All Messages (last boot)/File/Save a Copy As..
N/A script failed to detect at the slot

DPCIManager/Status (Tools 2.)
Went to download, saw warning of malware detected, avoided.

Terminal/Shell/File/Export Text As. . . (if run
See attached .txt file in zip

Clover (if installed)
Clover folder in zip, includes SSDT made by audio_cloverHDMI-120_v1.0f3.command, DSDT, config

Also to be noted recently installed the latest audio_cloverALC-130_v0.3.command which worked fine, made the DSDT edits recommended in the [Guide]-Add_or_Edit_HDEF-dsdt.pdf to try and clean up my audio, it gets static and garble noises with the DSDT I am currently working on.

ScreenShots are also in DPCIManager.zip and the bootlog it displayed.
 

Attachments

  • Fallen00Sniper_output_files.zip
    800.8 KB · Views: 178
  • Screen Shot 2017-10-16 at 4.45.22 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2017-10-16 at 4.45.22 PM.png
    63.8 KB · Views: 240
  • Screen Shot 2017-10-16 at 4.47.34 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2017-10-16 at 4.47.34 PM.png
    94.5 KB · Views: 255
  • Screen Shot 2017-10-16 at 4.48.13 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2017-10-16 at 4.48.13 PM.png
    185.6 KB · Views: 240
  • DPCIManager.zip
    346.1 KB · Views: 186
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 28, 2012
Messages
29
Motherboard
Gigabyte Gaming 5P
CPU
6900K
Graphics
GTX 1080
Has nothing to do with boot, native is no; impossible to be the cause
Unsupported codec produces sound assertions, no effect on boot

Clover disables the ssdts:
8:635 0:000 Name H001 present at 0x739, renaming to HDAU
8:635 0:000 HDMIADR1=30000 HDMIADR2=1

config.plist/Graphics missing
Fix the boot problem. off topic.

Actually this was very helpful and I managed to get the HDMI to work.
Basically with <key>AddHDMI_8000000</key> set to false and SSDT-HDMI-NVIDIA-BR3A installed, the system would hang at boot undefinitely or so it seemed.

1. Removed SSDT-HDMI-NVIDIA-BR3A
reboot
2. Set <key>AddHDMI_8000000</key> to false
reboot
3. Fixed C and P states
reboot
4. Added SSDT-HDMI-NVIDIA-BR3A
reboot
5. System hanged for about 4 minutes at kext stall[x], (60s): 'IOSCSIHierarchicalLogicalUnit', 'IOSCSIHierarchicalLogicalUnit', 'IOHDACodecFunction'
Then it booted successfully!

Now I have full sound output for the GTX 760.

Thank you!

Off-topic: That DCPIManager tool is very very useful, also helped me figure out the C and P states weren't generated properly. It seems Clover, if certain options are not specifically set to false and just deleted, it will set them as true by default.
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2014
Messages
48
Motherboard
ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-I GAMING
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Hi, i'm unable to disable the secondary display even if there is only 1 HDMI connector plugged in.
upload_2017-9-29_22-25-13.png

This is what i'm getting:

upload_2017-9-29_22-25-32.png

What can i do to force the secondary display to power off?

I've also tried to unplug all the HDMI connectors and execute the script through temviewer, but it didn't help.

Motherboard: ECS H61H2-TI
CPU: i5-3570k
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2014
Messages
48
Motherboard
ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-I GAMING
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Hi, i'm sorry, i've added it now.

Additional motherboard specs: http://www.ecs.com.tw/ECSWebSite/Pr...goryID=1&DetailName=Feature&MenuID=24&LanID=0

It has also an internal button connector to switch between HDMI and LVDS output (connector for LCD displays for All In One computers (AIO)).

The manual says "When you press this button, the LCD display will switch by the turns of AIO/ HDMI/LCD OFF."
But in practice when i press it what happens is that macOS acts like the resolution has been changed (the HDMI out goes black for a second and then back on).
I've tried to press it many times, but the AIO display won't go away
 

Attachments

  • upload_2017-9-30_10-1-19.png
    upload_2017-9-30_10-1-19.png
    181.4 KB · Views: 248
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top