Contribute
Register

ATI Rebrands performance question

Joined
Oct 27, 2013
Messages
16
Motherboard
ASRock B150M-HDS
CPU
i3-6100 @ 4,7Ghz
Graphics
GTX 1070 Ti
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Hi everyone!

My Hackintosh is now running well for some weeks, but I was asking me if macOS uses more graphic resources as Windows?
I don't have any graphical glitches on my R7 370 2GB graphics card but it looks like it doesn't use the full resources/performance of the card. (ex: Game got 3 lower graphic levels and 4K videos are stuttering more often as on Windows)

In my opinion the card is maybe performing slower because it's a rebranded HD 7870 (Pitcairn GCN 1.0), but I'm not sure.

Is there a way to look and adjust clock speed?
Or can I possibly fix it with Framebuffer patching? (I use the default one and extracted the bios.rom already.)

Settings I use in Clover to get the card working:
InjectATI checked
FakeID: 0x68101002
Framebuffer: DefaultRadeon (Futomaki creates a black screen on HDMI port)
VRAM: 2.048
Ports: 4
 

Fl0r!an

Moderator
Joined
Jul 6, 2010
Messages
2,714
Motherboard
Asus Z170M-Plus
CPU
Intel i5-6600K
Graphics
AMD Radeon R9 280
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Usually there's not much between "no graphics driver" and "full acceleration". I'd try to run Unigine Valley (e.g. Extreme HD preset) and compare with Windows results, you shouldn't be off more than 10-20%.

Besides that, game ports usually perform worse in OS X and may not include all graphical features due to Apples limited graphics APIs (OpenGL is a mess and Metal seems to be even worse). Which game are you talking about?
 
Joined
Oct 27, 2013
Messages
16
Motherboard
ASRock B150M-HDS
CPU
i3-6100 @ 4,7Ghz
Graphics
GTX 1070 Ti
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Metal's problem isn't performance, but feature richness. Modern games can't even be ported to Metal, because Vulkan/DX12 features can't be mapped to Metal.
Thanks for your reply.

I'm talking about World of Wacraft for Mac which runs on OpenGL & Metal.
On macOS I can run it at graphics level 3 but don't get a stable framerate (stuttering sometimes), and on Windows it runs @70fps or more on graphics level 7. (These are the recommended settings set by the OS)
I ran Unigine some weeks ago and got the same thing as in the game -> some stuttering and always big differences on the fps.

Just playing sometimes but it would be nice if it runs smooth :p
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 5, 2012
Messages
235
Motherboard
GIGABYTE H270N-WIFI
CPU
i7-7700
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
iMac, MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thanks for your reply.

I'm talking about World of Wacraft for Mac which runs on OpenGL & Metal.
On macOS I can run it at graphics level 3 but don't get a stable framerate (stuttering sometimes), and on Windows it runs @70fps or more on graphics level 7. (These are the recommended settings set by the OS)
I ran Unigine some weeks ago and got the same thing as in the game -> some stuttering and always big differences on the fps.

Just playing sometimes but it would be nice if it runs smooth :p
have you tried enabling Metal under macOS World of Warcraft? I find that my Metal performance matches the Windows performance, whereas the OpenGL performance is very poor compared to Win.
 
Joined
Oct 27, 2013
Messages
16
Motherboard
ASRock B150M-HDS
CPU
i3-6100 @ 4,7Ghz
Graphics
GTX 1070 Ti
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
have you tried enabling Metal under macOS World of Warcraft? I find that my Metal performance matches the Windows performance, whereas the OpenGL performance is very poor compared to Win.
Yes Metal improves alot, I can play with it at graphics level 5. (But 3 is best playable atm with no problems)
However there are some slowdowns and stuttering even @ 60-70fps :/

Would you recommend to turn v-sync off or what about the other settings?
 
Joined
Oct 27, 2013
Messages
16
Motherboard
ASRock B150M-HDS
CPU
i3-6100 @ 4,7Ghz
Graphics
GTX 1070 Ti
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
By the way here is the boot.log (Graphics & Display part):

7:163 0:000 === [ FixBiosDsdt ] =======================================
7:163 0:000 VideoCard devID=0x68111002
7:163 0:000 DisplayADR1[0] = 0x10000, DisplayADR2[0] = 0x0
7:177 0:000 Start Display0 Fix
7:177 0:000 Found internal video device 0 @334A
7:177 0:000 Skipping Method(_DSM) for 1002 card
7:177 0:000 now inserting Video device
7:177 0:000 ... into existing bridge
7:177 0:000 patch Display #0 of Vendor=0x1002 in DSDT old way
7:177 0:000 Start HDMI3 Fix
7:178 0:000 have no HDMI device while HDMIADR2=1
7:178 0:000 HDMIADR1=10000 HDMIADR2=1
7:178 0:000 with default properties
7:180 0:000 === [ RestSetupOSX ] ======================================
7:180 0:000 EdidDiscovered size=128
7:180 0:000 00 | 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF 00 25 CC 60 23 01 01 01 01
7:180 0:000 16 | 0D 13 01 03 80 34 1D 78 EA EE D5 A5 55 48 9B 26
7:180 0:000 32 | 12 50 54 A5 4B 00 81 80 A9 C0 B3 00 81 C0 01 01
7:180 0:000 48 | 01 01 01 01 01 01 02 3A 80 18 71 38 2D 40 58 2C
7:180 0:000 64 | 45 00 09 25 21 00 00 1E 00 00 00 FC 00 54 77 32
7:180 0:000 80 | 33 36 4E 0A 20 20 20 20 20 20 00 00 00 FD 00 32
7:180 0:000 96 | 4C 0F 52 11 00 0A 20 20 20 20 20 20 00 00 00 FF
7:180 0:000 112 | 00 35 57 48 53 43 45 39 33 30 30 31 36 30 01 02
7:180 0:000 Framebuffer @0xC0000000 MMIO @0xDFE00000 I/O Port @0x0000E000 ROM Addr @0xDFE40000
7:180 0:000 ATI card POSTed,
7:180 0:000 Set VRAM from config=2048Mb
7:180 0:000 ATI: get_vram_size returned 0x80000000
7:180 0:000 ATI Radeon EVERGREEN family
7:180 0:000 Users config name Futomakis
7:180 0:000 use N ports setting from config.plist: 4
7:180 0:000 (AtiPorts) Nr of ports set to: 4
7:180 0:000 ATI Pitcairn AMD Radeon R9 270 2048MB (Futomakis) [1002:6811] (subsys [1787:2015]):: PciRoot(0x0)\Pci(0x1,0x0)\Pci(0x0,0x0)
7:180 0:000 RCBA disabled; cannot use it
7:180 0:000 HDA Controller [8086:A170] :: PciRoot(0x0)\Pci(0x1F,0x3) => setting specified layout-id=1 (0x1)
7:180 0:000 stringlength = 4168
7:180 0:000 CurrentMode: Width=1920 Height=1080
This is the card with all details: http://www.club-3d.com/index.php/products/reader.en/product/radeon-r7-370-2GB-royalqueen.html

I think it's not correctly loaded.
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2016
Messages
16
Motherboard
Z170x Gigabyte Gaming 5
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
R9 280X
Mac
MacBook Pro
Metal's problem isn't performance, but feature richness. Modern games can't even be ported to Metal, because Vulkan/DX12 features can't be mapped to Metal.
Florian, sorry for writing here but i cant PM you (to little post count)
Is there a difference in Performance between a sapphire r9-280x 11221-20 running with default framebuffer, and one that is more like reference with 2 DP 11221-01 for example running with Hamachi? i couldnt find this answer anywhere.
Thanks for your help!
 
Top