ATI/AMD 5xxx 6xxx 7xxx 2xx 3xx Graphics Cards Framebuffer Personalities

Discussion in 'Graphics' started by tonymacx86, Jan 19, 2012.

  1. madmax2

    madmax2

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    50
    Mobo:
    x58a-ud3r, p8z68v-pro
    CPU:
    i7 920, i5 2500k
    Graphics:
    GTX 760, ATI 6950, Intel HD3000
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Jul 22, 2015 at 12:45 PM #101
    madmax2

    madmax2

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    50
    Mobo:
    x58a-ud3r, p8z68v-pro
    CPU:
    i7 920, i5 2500k
    Graphics:
    GTX 760, ATI 6950, Intel HD3000
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    ATI/AMD 5xxx 6xxx 7xxx Graphics Cards Framebuffer Personalities

    How do we get this to work in yosemite with an ati 6950/6970?
     
  2. Fl0r!an

    Fl0r!an Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,720
    Mobo:
    Asus Z170M-Plus
    CPU:
    Intel i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon R9 280
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 23, 2015 at 8:06 AM #102
    Fl0r!an

    Fl0r!an Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,720
    Mobo:
    Asus Z170M-Plus
    CPU:
    Intel i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon R9 280
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Just for information regarding the updated first post: The term '3xx' isn't very precise, because the 3xx series contains in fact three different architectures which all use different sets of framebuffers in OS X:

    GCN 1.0 (e.g. Pitcairn in R7 370) will use AMD7000Controller
    GCN 1.1 (e.g. Hawaii in R9 390) will use AMD8000Controller
    GCN 1.2 (e.g. Tonga in R9 380) will use AMD9000Controller
     
    adien likes this.
  3. Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10,716
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 25, 2015 at 8:45 PM #103
    Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10,716
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Interesting. So, the Sapphire R9 380 Compact ITX card, which has DVI, HDMI and 2mDP ports, doesn't have a port match up in the AMD9000Controller like the 7950/7970 Reference Design in the AMD7000Controller. Does that mean it defaults to the RadeonFramebuffer?
     
  4. Fl0r!an

    Fl0r!an Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,720
    Mobo:
    Asus Z170M-Plus
    CPU:
    Intel i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon R9 280
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 25, 2015 at 9:41 PM #104
    Fl0r!an

    Fl0r!an Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,720
    Mobo:
    Asus Z170M-Plus
    CPU:
    Intel i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon R9 280
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Yes, both non-reference GCN 1.0 cards and all GCN 1.x cards will have to either use RadeonFramebuffer or modify an existing one.
    The first option should usually work flawless with GCN 1.0 cards (e.g. 7770[needs Info.plist patch], 7850, 7950, 7970), I did some tests on my own and even read about successful Eyefinity setups (5 or 6 screens from one card).

    GCN 1.1 and GCN 1.2 still seems to be in beta stage. Just received a HD 7790 for testing (Bonair, GCN 1.1, aka R7 260 and R7 360). Works fine OOB but driver will crash immediately when attaching a 2nd screen. :D Will see if a framebuffer patch improves stability.
    GCN 1.2 is a little better I guess, because it's already sold in 5K iMac (in contrast to GCN 1.1 - quite surprising this stuff even works).

    In my opinion this framebuffer stuff isn't a big issue for Hackintoshs. RadeonFramebuffer does a quite good job, and even if it doesn't you can still patch a framebuffer to match your card. Using Clover this is quite simple, set it and forget it.
    Not that easy on a real MacPro though, no bootloader there to handle the kext patching.
     
  5. brockbackups

    brockbackups

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Mobo:
    Mac Pro 5,1
    CPU:
    5690X
    Graphics:
    GTX 980Ti, RX 480
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 26, 2015 at 4:55 PM #105
    brockbackups

    brockbackups

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Mobo:
    Mac Pro 5,1
    CPU:
    5690X
    Graphics:
    GTX 980Ti, RX 480
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    This is completely wrong, R9 290X uses AMD8000Controller.kext and the only Framebuffers that it uses are Exmoor and Baladi
     
  6. VioletDragon

    VioletDragon

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    10,943
    Mobo:
    GA-H77N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000
    Mac:
    MacBook, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 28, 2015 at 2:31 PM #106
    VioletDragon

    VioletDragon

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    10,943
    Mobo:
    GA-H77N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000
    Mac:
    MacBook, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I'm using a ATI Radeon HD 5450 1024MB XFX using Eulemur FB and 3 ports don't need to inject with this card I've made an edit in a DSDT. Graphics Injection seems to be broken in 10.10.4
     

    Attached Files:

    • Screen Shot 2015-07-28 at 14.28.48.png  (80.2 KB, 356 views)
  7. msm

    msm

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Mobo:
    GA-X58A-UD7 rev1
    CPU:
    Xeon X5650
    Graphics:
    9800GT
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 7, 2015 at 9:28 PM #107
    msm

    msm

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Mobo:
    GA-X58A-UD7 rev1
    CPU:
    Xeon X5650
    Graphics:
    9800GT
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I second this. I've been trying to get a 6970 working for a few weeks, but have been foiled by the white screen problem. Changing frame buffers doesn't seem to help. No white screen with safe mode (-x). I really wanted this card to work to take advantage of its capabilities for Final Cut Pro, but almost ready to put the 9800GT back in.
     
  8. themoon7

    themoon7

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Mobo:
    ASRock Extreme3 Gen3 based on Intel Z68
    CPU:
    ivy bridge 3570
    Graphics:
    GTX750 1Gb Zotac ZoneEdition (passive cooling)
    Aug 15, 2015 at 7:14 AM #108
    themoon7

    themoon7

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Mobo:
    ASRock Extreme3 Gen3 based on Intel Z68
    CPU:
    ivy bridge 3570
    Graphics:
    GTX750 1Gb Zotac ZoneEdition (passive cooling)
  9. Antivirusvivente

    Antivirusvivente

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Mobo:
    GA-Z97X-UD5H
    CPU:
    i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    ASUS GTX 650 1GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Nov 11, 2015 at 9:04 AM #109
    Antivirusvivente

    Antivirusvivente

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Mobo:
    GA-Z97X-UD5H
    CPU:
    i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    ASUS GTX 650 1GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
  10. Etanol

    Etanol

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    CPU:
    i7 3770
    Graphics:
    MSI 390X Gaming
    Nov 15, 2015 at 5:19 AM #110
    Etanol

    Etanol

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    CPU:
    i7 3770
    Graphics:
    MSI 390X Gaming
    10.10 - a lot of flicker, not usable - I was barely able to run 10.11 upgrade
    10.11 - works OOB

    Both will not boot with 2 monitors connected and will crash if you connect 2nd one after boot. This is most likely fixable with AMD8000Controller kext patching, but I've had no time to experiment with it yet.
     

Share This Page