Contribute
Register

Asus Z690 ProArt Creator WiFi (Thunderbolt 4) + i7-12700K + AMD RX 6800 XT

Joined
Oct 24, 2013
Messages
1,160
Motherboard
Asus ROG Z690 Formula
CPU
i9-13900K
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
i'm a producer. I have Apollo Twin X.
“Thunderbolt 3” is really a family of controllers. Some are based on Alpine Ridge, others are based on Titan Ridge. There could be some other ridges in there as well. And within Alpine Ridge, there are siblings; jhl6240, jhl6340, jhl6540.

Ever since Maple Ridge TB4 was released, there were incompatibilities with hot plugging certain Alpine Ridge devices, particularly those with jhl6240. I know because I have a Thunderbolt 3 10 Gbps NIC (jhl6240) that doesn’t work properly with Maple Ridge. That is, if it is connected to the PC prior to booting, it will work. But if the PC goes to sleep or if I disconnect and reconnect, the device never reconnects until I cold boot. This doesn’t happen with devices based on jhl6340 or Ttitan Ridge. Just j6240 gives me problems. Intel never fixed it.

If your Twin X is using jhl6240 then that could be why you’re having issues.
 
Joined
Oct 3, 2013
Messages
237
Motherboard
MSI GS75 Stealth 10SF - OC
CPU
i7-10750H
Graphics
Intel UHD graphics, 1920x1080
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ, first off allow me to congratulate you on yet another great and (by the page count) popular build! :) It was by coincidence that I stumbled upon this thread, and actually found something very useful... You see, for the last week or so I've been researching the creation of custom layouts for AppleALC, and what do I find deep within the pages of this wonderful thread? an AppleALC guide! lol. I've read a few such guides, some older some newer, including the one you linked to, but they weren't as clear and/or well formed as yours, so congrats on accomplishing that task as well. I'm following your guide to create custom layouts for ALC 897 found on 2 of my MSI boards, none of the existing IDs seem to address all 4 outputs. I'm also trying to get a Creative Audigy FX card working, since it uses a Realtek ALC898 chip. So I'm reading through the guide a few times before getting started, and the following questions came up:

1. For byte EF, you explained bit E's functions starting with number 1 (speakers), however your example is using 0 (which is the default value from the codec dump). What is the value of 0? Is there a particular reason for not changing the value to 1 (for speakers), 2 (for headphones) etc? My Pin Default string for green line out is same as yours: 10 40 01 01, I had changed E to 1 (10 40 11 00), but then saw you still had it as 0.
2. When changing location (part 2) for green line out and pink rear microphone to 0 (to denote built-in), should the corresponding headphone node and front microphone nodes be changed to 0 as well? The reasoning behind the thought/question is that they are linked and will be grouped together anyway.
3. You mention having to change the value of item f (connection type) to 0 for the pink rear microphone. Again, does the same change have to be made for the front pink microphone jack/complex? Also (this one's mostly for the sake of knowledge and completion), why the change to 0/unknown? I remember reading in one of the guides that it had to do with getting noise cancelation working properly, but the language wasn't too clear; just curious on that one :)
Thanks for all the help, as always...
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2010
Messages
578
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690 Creator WiF
CPU
i9-12900K
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Hi Guys,

I've noticed recently that when a cable is connected to AQ113's port, the machine is not going to sleep or, better, it wakes instantly. Anyone?
I'm experiencing the same.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,475
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
...

1. For byte EF, you explained bit E's functions starting with number 1 (speakers), however your example is using 0 (which is the default value from the codec dump). What is the value of 0? Is there a particular reason for not changing the value to 1 (for speakers), 2 (for headphones) etc? My Pin Default string for green line out is same as yours: 10 40 01 01, I had changed E to 1 (10 40 11 00), but then saw you still had it as 0.
Good observation. The Linux dump for Asus Z690 ProArt has the Pin Complex 0x01014010. Reversing the bytes gives us:
  • AB = 10
  • CD = 40
  • EF = 01
  • GH = 01
So you're right that E = 0 and zero is not one of the known values.
  • Please try "0" as well because your pin complex is the same. Let's see if the Line Out port works. "0" might refer generically to any analog output.
  • Also try "2" for headphones because I agree that seems more reasonable.
Based on your observations, I'll update the guide.


2. When changing location (part 2) for green line out and pink rear microphone to 0 (to denote built-in), should the corresponding headphone node and front microphone nodes be changed to 0 as well? The reasoning behind the thought/question is that they are linked and will be grouped together anyway.
The corresponding front-panel nodes should be set to 0010 (binary) or 2. We make the association between a rear port and its front panel twin later on when we create the Platform XML in Step 16. If you see the annotated screenshot in Step 16, you'll see how this is accomplished.


3. You mention having to change the value of item f (connection type) to 0 for the pink rear microphone. Again, does the same change have to be made for the front pink microphone jack/complex? Also (this one's mostly for the sake of knowledge and completion), why the change to 0/unknown? I remember reading in one of the guides that it had to do with getting noise cancelation working properly, but the language wasn't too clear; just curious on that one :)
Thanks for all the help, as always...
I experimented with different values of Location (part 2). Because real Macs have only (a) line out or headphone and (b) microphone ports, it expects just these two to be defined as "built-in". For the other ports it may be a good exercise to try setting them to 0 and non-zero values to see what happens.
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,475
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ are you experiencing the same regarding the AQ113?
I believe I experienced the same issue. Here’s a quick suggestion that may or may not help:
  • Add boot argument ixgbe=0
  • Shutdown and flip power switch on PSU to off for 10 seconds (yes this is necessary)
  • Then power up and check sleep behavior again with cable connected
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2022
Messages
2
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 480
Thunderbolt question with the z690 proart. I recently got a OWC Envoy Express to use with my M1 14" MBP. This is really my first modern Thunderbolt device. It won't hot plug on the Z690, and, when the computer sleeps, it disconnects the Envoy without ejecting it. Real bummer to have to reboot every time I want to use it and keep sleep disabled.

I've seen some messages from @gandem @dehjomz mentioning the hot plug issue but I haven't seen anything about the eject. Is this expected? I had USB get ejected on my z390 designare until I set memory to 2666, so I'm wondering if there is something BIOS that might help. I'm running XMP. USB 3.x NVMe enclosures don't get ejected.

Also, long time lurker but first post. Thanks to everyone!

Edit: I'm having issues getting my Z690 added to my signature or profile, here it is until I get that resolved: Asus Z690 ProArt Creator | i7-12700K | Radeon RX 6900 XT FE 16GB
 
Joined
Oct 24, 2013
Messages
1,160
Motherboard
Asus ROG Z690 Formula
CPU
i9-13900K
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thunderbolt question with the z690 proart. I recently got a OWC Envoy Express to use with my M1 14" MBP. This is really my first modern Thunderbolt device. It won't hot plug on the Z690, and, when the computer sleeps, it disconnects the Envoy without ejecting it. Real bummer to have to reboot every time I want to use it and keep sleep disabled.

I've seen some messages from @gandem @dehjomz mentioning the hot plug issue but I haven't seen anything about the eject. Is this expected? I had USB get ejected on my z390 designare until I set memory to 2666, so I'm wondering if there is something BIOS that might help. I'm running XMP. USB 3.x NVMe enclosures don't get ejected.

Also, long time lurker but first post. Thanks to everyone!

Edit: I'm having issues getting my Z690 added to my signature or profile, here it is until I get that resolved: Asus Z690 ProArt Creator | i7-12700K | Radeon RX 6900 XT FE 16GB
Which envoy do you have? I have the newer one (i.e., Envoy PRO FX), and it is based on Titan ridge... and it hot plugs just fine to the z690 Formula, and does not disconnect during sleep. I bought the cheapest one (https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08YMYM4KB/?tag=tonymacx86com-20) and got rid of the internal drive, swapped it out for a SN850 beast, but you need I believe a pentelobe screw driver bit to do so.

Another good enclosure that works well with Maple Ridge is from Acasis (https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0BB74BQVN/?tag=tonymacx86com-20).

Here's the spec sheet for the Envoy Pro FX: https://eshop.macsales.com/item/OWC/TB3ENVPFX.2O/#specs
Note the Titan Ridge controller inside for TB3 purposes, and it also has a Realtek RTL9210 USB controller for when you use it with a non-TB3 port.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 22, 2022
Messages
2
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 480
Hi Dehjomz. It's this one, which says it's Intel Alpine Ridge LP. I just opened the enclosure and it says that it's a JHL6240 chipset.

I see this note from CaseySJ from the guide "Older Thunderbolt devices such as Thunderbolt 2 and those with an Alpine Ridge JHL6240 controller may not hot plug, but they should work when connected before boot."

I might give your Envoy PRO FX a shot. I got the Envoy Express because reviews said it played well with the M1 MBP while some complained the Acasis would detach when it slept. I see a review on Amazon that says "swapped out the included drive for a 980 pro very easily [on the PRO FX] and I’m getting fantastic speeds (3000 read/3000 right on average)".

Seems like a winner to me. :) Thanks for your help.
 
Top