Contribute
Register

Asus X99 - Catalina Support

Joined
Nov 27, 2010
Messages
64
Motherboard
ASUS X99-A II
CPU
E5 2690v3
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi hellowe! Yes, I can boot with your EFI, I could do it yesterday, sorry. But my geekbench score sucks, I think its because of the performance patches and so. Because of that I uploaded my clover EFI, because when I touched something in your EFI (patches and so), I cant boot.

To clean nvram, I have to select cleannvram in boot screen right? Opencore is new for me.

EDIT:
My Overclock is in 4,3ghz, so, with your EFI, my setup reaches 4,3ghz sometimes while geekbench is running, but instead of get 8400 points (clover EFI), I just get 5400 (opencore EFI).

I discovered the problem is in stock frequency. It stays at 3,2ghz (base stock), and can't reach 4,3ghz in stable mode. Maybe a problem with SSDT or something¿?
@alexmenn I am also new to opencore, and thanks for @seevolas help. For the overclocking stuff, I think you may create your own SSDT:

Also, try to follow the below link for the PowerManagement as well:

Good luck!!
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2011
Messages
374
Motherboard
ASUS X99A-II
CPU
i7-6900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Nothing, I did both of them (created aml from windows and so) and still reaches 3,5ghz (0,3ghz more). I changed smbios to macpro7,1 to test it, but I cant reach 4,3ghz. I think its because of performance patch and patches in config :(
 

Attachments

Joined
Nov 27, 2010
Messages
64
Motherboard
ASUS X99-A II
CPU
E5 2690v3
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Nothing, I did both of them (created aml from windows and so) and still reaches 3,5ghz (0,3ghz more). I changed smbios to macpro7,1 to test it, but I cant reach 4,3ghz. I think its because of performance patch and patches in config :(
Sorry, not much can help!!. But, if you get the answer, please help to share at this thread!!
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2020
Messages
3
Motherboard
Gigabyte x99ud4
CPU
Intel Core i7 -5820k
Graphics
Nvidia GTX 1080ti
Hi @seevolas I also added the IRQ patch as well as the USB mapper, and it seem it is running very smooth.
Here is my final EFI and my config is as below that can be used by other people.

ASUS X99-A II, E5-2690 v3, 128G memory, RX580 display

Thanks to your advice and HELP!!!
your efi folder like a charm for me on catalina to boot perfectly
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2010
Messages
64
Motherboard
ASUS X99-A II
CPU
E5 2690v3
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
your efi folder like a charm for me on catalina to boot perfectly
Good!! But, your GTI 1080ti can be worked? I think you also need to create your own SSDT files
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2012
Messages
31
Motherboard
GA-Z77-DS3H v. 1.0
CPU
Core i7 3700
Graphics
Radeon 7870
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I tried to replace the ssdts of seevolas for my x99 deluxe ii. I generated the ec, plug and hedt using ssdttime. When I use Those, though the System does not boot. Perhaps gotta use maciasl? What strikes me most is that only my usb 3.1 is found . Xhci and ehci handoff enabled in bios just fine.
 

Attachments

Joined
Oct 4, 2013
Messages
28
Motherboard
ASUS X99 A-II
CPU
Intel i7 6900K
Graphics
Radeon RX 570 8 GB
Mac
Mac Pro
Quick update, for reference. I use a high-end audio interface and always had glitch/buffer underruns issues with Clover, and it was the case with OpenCore too. Today I found out I was missing the SSDT-USBX.aml . All glitches are gone now, the interface works perfectly, so it was an USB power issue.
More information here: https://dortania.github.io/USB-Map-Guide/misc/power.html

Cheers.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2010
Messages
64
Motherboard
ASUS X99-A II
CPU
E5 2690v3
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I have got a strange problem on my logitech webcam.

I have a Logitech Brio webcam, and it can be used at Mojave, even, I have upgraded to Catalina for a while.

Yesterday, I found out my webcam cannot be used, it seem my X99 can see it is connected to USB3 port, but, no video at all.

However, when I change to connect to USB2 port, no problem. But, it seem it is not working when I connect to any USB3 port.

From the Brio document, it can support on USB3 port, but, I just wonder why it is not working at USB3 port suddenly.

Thanks,
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2013
Messages
28
Motherboard
ASUS X99 A-II
CPU
Intel i7 6900K
Graphics
Radeon RX 570 8 GB
Mac
Mac Pro
@hellowe : In the BIOS settings, make sure the USB 3.1 power/charge mode is enabled! This did fix a lot of issues I had with my audio interface. Also make sure you have SSDT-USBX.aml.
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2013
Messages
28
Motherboard
ASUS X99 A-II
CPU
Intel i7 6900K
Graphics
Radeon RX 570 8 GB
Mac
Mac Pro
Hey everyone!

Apple just issued Catalina update 10.15.6, I haven't updated yet, anybody did?

Cheers!
 
Top